We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go back til after May 2013 - pool remodeling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't go back til after May 2013 - pool remodeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just got back from spring trip. This is our fourth time at Port Royal condos. We've been in two and one bedrooms. Currently the pool is being remodeled and an unsightly mess. Have to walk all around to get to beach. he beach was very clean though! We loved it.

The supposed lap pool just added is merely a heated rectangle pool for kids and volleyball. prob because 3/4 of its pools are closed. The hot tub closes at 11 pm - a real bummer in my opinion, maybe mid it is better. The help affront desk was very helpful!!!! We have never eaten in restaurant, so no opinion there. Towels are small, but we bring our own. also you have to bring your own beach towels, no big deal. I think the rooms are good sized, sofa couch was queen size, nice!!!!
The store there sells a little of everyone, nice, but they close at 9pm, wish that was 10pm.
The condo complex is located exactly in middle of island, nice location to port aransas, and to Corpus Christi.
No problems with roudy guests, they have security outside that keeps the place secure and nice.

Room Tip: Ask if room has sofa couch and what size, all rooms are a little different unfortunately. Pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing us with great feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience of the remodeling, but we are glad that you had a great time at the beach! We are also thrilled to hear that the front desk was helpful.

On the weekends, the hot tub and pool area are open until midnight and the Port Store is open until 10 p.m. However, I have mentioned your suggestions to management!

We do hope that you will return once it is finished. It will be awesome!

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    84
    42
    42
    40
See reviews for
155
24
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aledo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were excited to be staying in Port A for the first time. It was spring break but I can't say we were bothered by the drunk teenagers.

First know, this is a fishing place, swimming in the ocean is NOT the main attraction. It is very nice that Port Royale has a boardwalk directly attached to the beach, but you aren't right on the beach. We thought there would be lounge chairs on the beach, not so. It is a public beach, you can't take the port Royale towels down to the beach.

Because of the major construction, you have to walk through the parking garage to get to the boardwalk. Kinda gross and not attractive. A big pool was open but too cold to get in. The one open hot tub was super packed, and the heated lap pool was so packed the water was murky. Don't get me wrong, once construction on the pools are complete, they will be awesome. But be aware of what phase they are in.

This isn't a luxury place with luxury rooms. They are sufficient and well priced but don't encourage you to stay in much. And as a side note, the towels are tiny! Again, this might be what you are looking for, just sufficient, but wanted to let you know.

We won't come back, just because it didn't end up being our type of place. That shouldn't discourage you, just ask the right questions about the construction and understand what you are getting.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Sara,

Thank you so much for your feedback and helpful comments. It is unfortunate that you won't be returning, but hopefully one day you will give Port Royal another chance.

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was a great family trip. This resort is located in what I describe as a quaint fishing town. It is like the Key West of the Texas Coast.
The resort has a great location- right on the beach. It has a restaurant, gift shop, amazing pool, kiddie water fun area, pool side cabanas, and large jacuzzi tubs.
The rooms are very large and include a full kitchen. I suggest you request a newly renovated unit on the top floor. There is a boardwalk to the beach where you can fish, jog, make a bon fire, boogie board, or even surf on days when the waves are large.. After a long day of fun you can go back to your room and order room service or put in a DVD. I only left the resort once to drive around Port Aransas in a cute gold cart.

Room Tip: request a renovated room on the top floor for a good view of the ocean and the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome response. It sounds like you had an awesome stay with us. Hopefully you will return and have an even better time when the pool renovation is complete!

Thanks again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I (single Mom) took my two boys (8 and 12yrs) and my parents to Port Royal in the summer. It is a wonderful location on the beach and you can't beat the swimming pool(s). The boys loved the pool and loved building sandcastles on the beach and boogy boarding. After dark, you can take a flashlight down to the water, and chance and catch crabs. The rooms were average but clean. We had a fantastic view of the beach and pool. To save money we had a one bedroom condo. My parents slept on the pull out couch and said they slept great. My boys slept on a blow up mattress we bought on the floor of the bedroom and I got the bed. We had a full kitchen so we cooked our own meals. They had a pizzeria down stairs and an arcade that the kids enjoyed Overall, a great experience but the rooms are expensive so it is good to go with another family to split the cost. We drove into Corpus Christi to see the USS Lexington and the Aquarium. Both attractions were really great - I would go again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Janel,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled that you and your family had a great time with us at Port Royal. We're also glad that you took advantage of some of the great places that Corpus has to offer - the Aquarium and the Lexington are awesome!

We hope that you and your family will return soon - especially when the pools are complete!

Thank you,
Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to Port Royal for nearly 20 years, but sadly this may be our last visit! Before our arrival we checked the reviews on Trip and were concerned enough to call the hotel. They had emailed us about the remodeling of the pools and assured us there would be no problems during our stay. I won't go into a lengthy discussion on the issues we encountered, but I will say that they were not related to the construction. In December swimming was not the reason we came. I believe there has been a change in management, if not, then certainly a change in attitude.
With a few exceptions service is slow and unfriendly, the quality of the rooms (our family had three different units) and their amenities vary considerably and over all the management is indifferent. It is a shame as Port Royal had become some what of a tradition.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I realized the resorts website stated 'mind the dust' but really? The entire resort (except the rooms) are under construction which means we arrived for a 3 night stay to see tall fencing encompassing the interior of the resort. Our family has travelled extensively and would expect that if a resort were to undertake such a large construction project that they would close the facility. Jack hammers still going at night (7pm). Totally disappointed and the funny part was that they still tried charging us for a hotel fee even though there weren't any hotel ammenitiies available to use. I'm sure its a great resort when the facilities are completed but untl then, the owners should close the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here when I was a kid and jumped at a chance to stay again. Walking into the lobby my first impression was that everything was old looking. Check-in agent wasn't very helpful and I spent 20 minutes looking for my parking spot (they are assigned). We went up to the room and looked out the balcony and realized that all but 1 of the pools were closed. We stayed here because of the awesome pools. How come I didn't see anywhere that they were to be closed? I bragged to my Wife that Port Royal had an awesome set of pools and a pool bar. Walking to the only available pool we saw a dead rat. One of our towels in our room had a big brown stain on it. The restaurant was nice, but expensive.
We ended up paying over $200 although the listed price was around $140 due to all the fees. I would value the hotel at only $80.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Community Relations Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your response - we greatly appreciate all feedback and I have shared your concerns with our management team.

We apologize that you experienced some issues while here at Port Royal and that you were surprised about the renovations. The resort is going through many changes right now to make it more enjoyable for our guests.

You mentioned that you loved the pool, and our goal is to make it better than ever. Hopefully you will give us another chance and come visit when the pool is completed in the Spring.

Thank you again and we do hope you give Port Royal another try.

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Specialty lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ISLAND VILLAGE... with all the amenities of modern civilization, we are the premier Texas resort for family fun and group events on the Gulf of Mexico. Come visit Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center, nestled among the dunes of Mustang Island in Port Aransas, Texas.We think the sea, sun and fun should be part of every memorable business meeting and vacation getaway. Miles of uncrowded beaches, tropical elegance, mild temperatures and majestic wildlife make it possible to beachcomb, frolic and enjoy the Royal Treatment year 'round at Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center.You won't find a more luxurious, full-service resort anywhere else on the Texas Gulf Coast...where the sun rises from the sea each morning to greet you with a Royal Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Ocean Hotel Port Aransas
Port Royal Ocean Resort And Conference Center
Port Royal Condos Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.