We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for our Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for our Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I (single Mom) took my two boys (8 and 12yrs) and my parents to Port Royal in the summer. It is a wonderful location on the beach and you can't beat the swimming pool(s). The boys loved the pool and loved building sandcastles on the beach and boogy boarding. After dark, you can take a flashlight down to the water, and chance and catch crabs. The rooms were average but clean. We had a fantastic view of the beach and pool. To save money we had a one bedroom condo. My parents slept on the pull out couch and said they slept great. My boys slept on a blow up mattress we bought on the floor of the bedroom and I got the bed. We had a full kitchen so we cooked our own meals. They had a pizzeria down stairs and an arcade that the kids enjoyed Overall, a great experience but the rooms are expensive so it is good to go with another family to split the cost. We drove into Corpus Christi to see the USS Lexington and the Aquarium. Both attractions were really great - I would go again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Janel,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled that you and your family had a great time with us at Port Royal. We're also glad that you took advantage of some of the great places that Corpus has to offer - the Aquarium and the Lexington are awesome!

We hope that you and your family will return soon - especially when the pools are complete!

Thank you,
Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    85
    44
    44
    40
See reviews for
159
24
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to Port Royal for nearly 20 years, but sadly this may be our last visit! Before our arrival we checked the reviews on Trip and were concerned enough to call the hotel. They had emailed us about the remodeling of the pools and assured us there would be no problems during our stay. I won't go into a lengthy discussion on the issues we encountered, but I will say that they were not related to the construction. In December swimming was not the reason we came. I believe there has been a change in management, if not, then certainly a change in attitude.
With a few exceptions service is slow and unfriendly, the quality of the rooms (our family had three different units) and their amenities vary considerably and over all the management is indifferent. It is a shame as Port Royal had become some what of a tradition.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I realized the resorts website stated 'mind the dust' but really? The entire resort (except the rooms) are under construction which means we arrived for a 3 night stay to see tall fencing encompassing the interior of the resort. Our family has travelled extensively and would expect that if a resort were to undertake such a large construction project that they would close the facility. Jack hammers still going at night (7pm). Totally disappointed and the funny part was that they still tried charging us for a hotel fee even though there weren't any hotel ammenitiies available to use. I'm sure its a great resort when the facilities are completed but untl then, the owners should close the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here when I was a kid and jumped at a chance to stay again. Walking into the lobby my first impression was that everything was old looking. Check-in agent wasn't very helpful and I spent 20 minutes looking for my parking spot (they are assigned). We went up to the room and looked out the balcony and realized that all but 1 of the pools were closed. We stayed here because of the awesome pools. How come I didn't see anywhere that they were to be closed? I bragged to my Wife that Port Royal had an awesome set of pools and a pool bar. Walking to the only available pool we saw a dead rat. One of our towels in our room had a big brown stain on it. The restaurant was nice, but expensive.
We ended up paying over $200 although the listed price was around $140 due to all the fees. I would value the hotel at only $80.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Community Relations Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your response - we greatly appreciate all feedback and I have shared your concerns with our management team.

We apologize that you experienced some issues while here at Port Royal and that you were surprised about the renovations. The resort is going through many changes right now to make it more enjoyable for our guests.

You mentioned that you loved the pool, and our goal is to make it better than ever. Hopefully you will give us another chance and come visit when the pool is completed in the Spring.

Thank you again and we do hope you give Port Royal another try.

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sun
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Can't beat the warm gulf breeze and lapping waves at this beach front resort. Just returned from a week at Port Royal - relaxed and even a bit of a sun burn! The resort is just finishing it's brand new heated pool & childrens play area as well as a major update to the large set of pools. My room (top floor Unit 6317) overlooked the pool area and had great views of the Gulf and boardwalk as well. Very spacious 'open floor' plan with views from the balcony, kitchen & living area. Nicely updated and a warm comfortable feeling throughout; the housekeeping staff pointed out that the owner had just put in a brand new bed - no wonder I slept so well! The free wireless internet service was a little unreliable at times but there had been some lightening storms in the evenings that may have affected it. The temperature in the hot tub seemed to vary from day to day but may have been effected by the pool renovations. We joked about winning the 'towel lottery' as sometimes the fresh linens included 'average' towels and sometimes some that were twice as thick - maybe just a new batch on occassion. Staff was friendly & quick to provide requested kitchen supplies as needed; kitchen in the room was fully stocked with just about everything that we needed. Great Sunday Brunch in the Restaurant in the main building - think I had shrimp at every meal!

Room Tip: Top floor pool on the 'shady side' got good morning sun & had views of the gulf all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Community Relations Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your awesome review and highlighting some of the great aspects of your visit! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us at Port Royal Resort.

As you can see, we are going through several renovations and updates to better accomodate all of our guests.

We hope that you will come back soon to see the finished product of the renovations!

Thank you again and welcome to the Port Royal family!

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed several nights at this location, which we had pre-booked from Europe to discover the aerea with sightseeing and having a rest from our Tex road trip on the beach.
The booking process was smooth and ok. After having made our payment we were informed by mail that one of the pools would be under renovation during our stay. This was not really bad, even if the view from the room was mostly taken up by the building site.
I did not like the appearance of the property inside and out. Strange smells in the elevator, maybe a carpet change would help. Similar smell in the room at first, some fresh air and perfume helped. Elevator control panel was shaky and aerea in front of the room dirty. It all looked uncared and unloved. It seemed nobody really cared and management was not in evidence.
Wi Fi reception was available sporadically, not in the room, but better in various differing locations on the property. TV reception on some local stations seemed to have an on and off mode. The bed seemed to have had its best times years ago. Instead of renovating the pool they would better renovate the rooms. Reception staff did not seem too happy to have guests around.
I would avoid this place, if I should ever need to stay overnight in Port Aransas again. Best part was the shop behind reception. It was adequately stocked for the purpose and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: If you must go there, do not accept a room in the main building above the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Community Relations Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We want to give you our sincerest apology that your visit was not up to par. However, we are glad that your Reservations experience was smooth and the Port Store was able to meet your needs.

Your detailed review is very helpful to us as we are currently working on many things right now. Please know that we are going through several renovations and enhancing various aspects of the resort to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible.

We hope that you will give us another try if you make it back down to Port A!

Thanks again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni37
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our first trip to the Corpus Christi area and I wanted a room right on the beach. I did as much research as I could and finally committed to Port Royal, mostly because it could accomodate my husband, myself and our three teenagers. I was also super excited about the awesome looking pool in the picture. When we first arrived I was disappointed. All of the common areas (parking garage, elevators, corridors) were dingey, chipped, peeling, worn, weathered and dirty. Worst of all was the cockroach I spied climbing the wall above the tv last night. It was the only one we saw inside but my hubby saw several outside in the corridor. Maybe that's normal for Texas, if so, I suppose I shouldn't complain. On the positive side, our condo was comfortable---not gorgeous---but adequate, and it was clean. Everything (bedding, lamps, furniture) seemed fairly "aged". The pool was being renovated so only part of it was available for our use; the rest of it was blocked off and had big partitions blocking the view. I was glad they were renovating it because it certainly needs it but sad because it ruined the prettiness of the view. I have to say EVERYONE we met in Texas was incredibly pleasant. Southern hospitality is alive and well in the great state of Texas, and that was certainly true of the staff at Port Royal. I was hoping we would be right on the beach but we had to walk through parking garage to get to the wooden boardwalk that led out to the ocean. The 5-6 minute walk to the beach was pretty, lots of yellow flowers and cactus. No palm trees on the beach or beach chairs to sit on. The beach was strewn with scratchy sea weed and trash. I've made this sound unbearable but it really wasn't horrible. Once I adjusted my expectations and relaxed we had a good time. The ocean water was warm and we pretty much had the beach to ourselves. The condo rooms were spacious. The sheets wouldn't stay on the hide-a-bed couch my son slept on in the living area. As far as location goes, it depends on what you're looking for in a vacation. I felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. If you want to haul groceries and stay put at the condo, or maybe make the ocassional foray into Port Aransas, it might be for you. But if you're looking for night life and entertainment, stay elsewhere. By the way, Port Aransas has only has one older grocery store, an IGA. It had everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Community Relations Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! Although we weren’t quite what you expected during your stay, I’m glad you still managed to have a good time. We are currently working hard at upgrading different aspects of our property and genuinely appreciate you giving us feedback on things that are currently being worked on.

We are so glad you got to experience the infamous Southern Hospitality and that our resort staff took part in that. It is our mission to make your stay the best possible and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

Thank you,

Sierra Bowling

Community Relations Manager

Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Specialty lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ISLAND VILLAGE... with all the amenities of modern civilization, we are the premier Texas resort for family fun and group events on the Gulf of Mexico. Come visit Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center, nestled among the dunes of Mustang Island in Port Aransas, Texas.We think the sea, sun and fun should be part of every memorable business meeting and vacation getaway. Miles of uncrowded beaches, tropical elegance, mild temperatures and majestic wildlife make it possible to beachcomb, frolic and enjoy the Royal Treatment year 'round at Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center.You won't find a more luxurious, full-service resort anywhere else on the Texas Gulf Coast...where the sun rises from the sea each morning to greet you with a Royal Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Ocean Hotel Port Aransas
Port Royal Ocean Resort And Conference Center
Port Royal Condos Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.