We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing great, nothing bad, just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
517 S Alister St., Port Aransas, TX 78373
(361) 749-9447
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #28 of 70 restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nothing great, nothing bad, just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pretty standard beach seafood restaurant. Ok service, ok food, kitschy gift shop. No real complaints, but nothing really notable to say either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    103
    105
    62
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Far Better Options”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food was okay, but is what I would expect from Red Lobster, not a restaurant 4 blocks from the beach. The real problem is that there are so many better options in Port A, and for the price, you should definitely skip this one and go to one of the restaurants ranked higher. Also, I've never had a server inspire less confidence in the menu than our's. When we ordered the calamari, it was followed by "I'm not really into those" and everything else we asked about was met with "It's okay" or "I don't know". Please do yourself a favor and go somewhere else on the island, you can get mediocre fried seafood at home for less.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food at Port A!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have eaten both trips at Moby Ds and the food is always excellent. The service is usually good to very good. The dishes are always (for us) perfectly prepared. All the appetizers are excellent. The only negative is you'll have to wait, but you can shop across the road or next door and return close to time or have them call you. This is the best food, bar none, on the island including the expensive locations we have visited. Tip: wait to eat inside in the A/C or dress cool and eat inside the open area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fried Seafood galore!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Someone asked me how was the food....all I could say was FRIED! Honestly, it all tasted the same. But if you like fried seafood and a fun, pirate atmosphere, this is a neat place and worthy of a vacation visit. Lots of neat pictures to snap here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun decor, good drinks, bad service, bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We did enjoy the nautical, pirate decor but none of our food orders were correct and the food was was not that good. Loaded baked potato and bar drinks were the only saving grace. Will probably not go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.