We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine List? What's a Wine List?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
517 S Alister St., Port Aransas, TX 78373
(361) 749-9447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Lampasas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wine List? What's a Wine List?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

On recent trip to Port Aransas stopped in this little establishment to get a dozen oysters on the half shell and a nice bottle of wine. Waitress could not tell us where the oysters were harvested (Texas Gulf Coast, maybe? Who knows, certainly not our server.). Wine list had six selections, all named by grape variety, no indication of what the label might be. Might as well number them and say "please order by number." As it turned out the oysters were good (wherever they came from) and the wine was OK (whoever made it) and the price was reasonable.

This restaurant is not terrible and I don't mean to imply that they are, but they could do more to add to their guests' dining experience. Nothing about this afternoon snack made me want to come back for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    135
    81
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Allways great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in for lunch. We both had shrimp poboys. They were excellent!!! We couldn't ask for a better poboys for lunch. We will definitely make this a regular restaurant!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Boiled Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Eating at Moby Dick's in Port A is quite an experience. They've done some remodeling since we were there last year and have added an outside Tiki Bar. We went for the Wednesday night all you can eat boiled shrimp. The restaurant experience was wonderful. Great service. We got corn on the cob, boiled red potatoes and corn muffins with our meal. All was delicious and the wait staff were very attentive to our needs. The restaurant itself is wonderful to see with the vast assortment of nautical decor and fish tanks. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fine lunch, interesting ambiance, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stopped in here on our bikes after a long morning of birding in the several very nice areas around Port Aransas. This place had been recommended to us and we were not disappointed. We were greeted quickly, seated at a very nice table and served promptly. The decor of the bar and restaurant are distinctly nautical, and a tad touristy, with a dash or pirate thrown in, but not tacky or over the top. Our food was excellent, the server friendly and the beverages ice-cold. It was just what we needed. We would definitely return, and plan to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but not good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Inside and outside atmoshere were good. The water and steak were terrible AND the fish
was just so so.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.