We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wounderful Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Port Aransas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Island Hotel Port Aransas to your Saves list
Island Hotel Port Aransas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 NIGHT PROMO
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
“Wounderful Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, Family trip in Suite B. It was lovely! lots of room, and clean. The staff was very friendly. it was maybe 5 mins from the beach and down the road from everything . Will stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: book suite B
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    61
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
38
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place advertises "Wifi in every room'", however there is absolutely NO Internet access even if you want to pay for it! Hate misrepresentations, especially when done intentionally. I cannot fathom why they would lie so readily.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

My daughter & I stayed here on a mini vacation & had an excellent time. The staff was outstanding & went out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted. Breakfast was good - game room was fun, the pool was heated and just an overall fun place. We would (and have) recommended this place to our friends & families and would definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

First of all, i was skeptical about using Priceline's "name your own price" and when I bid for a room, received an email that i would be staying at the island hotel. As we got into the parking lot and i went to check in...immediately i knew we had made a great choice. The front desk was so inviting and informed us of all the amenities that were available to us. When we walked into the room we were was so surprised at how clean the room was and the faux wood floor was just perfect! The day of our checkout i called the front desk and asked for a later checkout time and was surprised that she was so nice and answered, "that'll be no problem!" The restroom was clean, the sheets looked very clean, and our overall experience was awesome! We will definitely be staying at the Island Hotel on our future trips to Port Aransas!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I needed to just get away from work so we booked a stay after reading other reviews on this site. We booked from their site islandhotelportaransas.com as they had a "three night" deal that was $70 for Wednesday, Thursday and $130 for Friday and this is considered off season as it is before Memorial Day weekend. Checked in at about 9:30pm and the host was friendly and gave us some dog treats. We stayed in a 2-Queen room with kitchenette. It was a much larger room than I expected. The floors were wood laminate (like pergo) and tile (kitchen). The fridge was not quite a full fridge, but it certainly was not a mini-fridge. Full stove, dishwasher, garbage disposal, double kitchen sink, and cabinet space. The bathroom was spacious. There was not a closet, but there was a rack with some hangers. There was a set of 4 large drawers that we put all of our clothing in and that the TV set on (CRT not HD). The air conditioner kept the room cool, but ran quite a bit indicating some inefficiencies in the room. I felt that our steps were very loud and was concerned that we would disturb the guests under us (especially after having read a review that they had been talked to about their loudness). They do have a heated outdoor pool with several sitting areas with tables and chairs. There were a set of restrooms out there and they were very clean. They have wireless that is really only accessible around the lobby area, but it was relatively quick. The dog walk was out in front of the pool area by the highway. Complimentary breakfast (7am - 10am) featuring juice, waffles, muffins, donuts, bagels, oatmeal, apples, and bananas. I did not see any coffee which was disappointing. Something else that we noticed was that the cleaning staff worked together, were organized, and worked hard. Definitely do not see that very often! I did see them mopping the floors (a must after a guest visits the beach). All of our linens appeared to be fresh and clean. And lots of useable pillows. Definitely going to recommend to everyone at work.

Room Tip: I felt our footsteps were pretty loud. Might try for a top level room if you want to avoid hearing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great, and clean hotel! The heated pool was awesome and the staff was excellent. Hats off to Kara and Emily for helping me during my stay! It was close enough to town to enjoy all the food yet no too close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My queen queen bedroom with kitchen was very nice and clean and the staff was very polite and helpful especially Emily ,kara ,patsy, Vince .and the pool was area was nice as nice and warm.we had so much fun there we book another trip for october already cant wait is october yet.Thanks a million island hotel staff .Mr&Mrs Ybarra will see y'all in October .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Hotel Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Port Aransas

Address: 2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Hotel Port Aransas 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one mile from the soft sand and warm surf of Port Aransas Beach, Island Hotel Port Aransas—formerly Mariner Inn & Suites—offers affordable, newly updated accommodations and a variety of amenities perfect for family vacations, weekend getaways, and winter months when you just want to soak up some sun. During your stay at our hotel in Port Aransas, lounge by our outdoor pool, have a picnic by our barbecue grills, let the kids play in the game room, or take the short, 1 mile drive to the beach for swimming, sunning and sandcastle building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Hotel Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Inn And Suites
Mariner Hotel Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Port Aransas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.