We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect cheap Hostel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Port Aransas

Save Saved
You added Island Hotel Port Aransas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Island Hotel Port Aransas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect cheap Hostel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed one night in this Motel, it was really awesome and cheap ! We had a beautiful room, with 2 king size beds, a great breakfast in the morning.

It is really close to the beach and staff is really friendly !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    44
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Newly remodeled, clean, pet friendly. Spent this past weekend. Had reserved a room but upgraded to a suite for just a little more money. Gave us a lot of room, big bathroom with double sinks, kitchen with full fridge. Great value! Super clean!
Had a nice area for taking your pet with bags provided. My dog kept getting sand spurs in the grass. Don't know if others had that problem. Other than that, plan to return.
Pool was cute but too cold for me. Ice and vending was convenient. Complimentary breakfast with bagels, danishes, fruit, waffles. Cute place. Nothing fancy but a great value for the money. Emily at the front desk was very helpful when booking and when checking in.
Beds were comfortable. Firm but fine. Had a little trouble sleeping one night due to noise from neighbors coming in and honking horns (hoping it was to lock cars) but not sure. Then standing outside talking loudly. But know that can happen most anywhere. One day I'll remember to take ear plugs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Patsy and all the staff here were friendly and wonderful... A great value! I received knowledgeable assistance with all my questions and really appreciated the warm welcome after being on the road for so long.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and I searched several hotels in Port A and decided on Island Hotel. We made this decision because the hotel is reasonably priced, stay includes breakfast and the facility is pet friendly. After staying at this hotel I can honestly say it was more enjoyable than anticipated. The front desk staff was very friendly and professional. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was a little more than packaged pastry products. Breakfast was: waffles, toast, muffins, danish,cereal, oatmeal, bananas, apples, juice and coffee.

For those traveling with pets--it is nice the hotel charges an upfront pet fee, not pet fee per day. There is NO REASON hotels in the area should charge for your pet PER DAY. If my dog was eating breakfast and sleeping in a bed this would warrant a pet fee per day. Thank you Island Hotel for being fair about having my dog accompany us!

The only advice I would offer to the hotel is to post a sign suggesting guests limit the amount of food taken out the dining area!

This place was well worth the money. Would recommend and will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room toward the rear of building
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Tiffany was wonderful; she was a great help and took care of us very well. The room was clean and neat. Enjoyed the stay. Just wanted to thank Tiffany for her friendly and professional help. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in two rooms for 3 days over xmas. The staff at the front desk were always very patient and nice. I was told that they bought the hotel recently and did a remodel over. The downsides I observed were: a) wifi was crappy; I could get good signals from my laptop, but it just wouldnt stay connected. b) the beds in one of the rooms we stayed in were out of shape, and the spring coil made tons of noise when I turned during night. It's time for them to replace some ol' furniture as well. Overall, it was a good stay for the money we spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed there last weekend and our car broke down- the front desk lady was so nice. I think her name is Tiffany. She and the lead housekeeping lady bent over backwards to help us two stranded girls out. They gave us rides, directions, places that deliver food, since we had no car, even called about service and car parts for us. They turned a bad situation into a more pleasant one. The hotel itself is neat and clean and the breakfast was awesome! Will be back again and recommend to everyone I know! Thanks ladies!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Hotel Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Port Aransas

Also Known As:
Mariner Hotel Port Aransas
Mariner Inn And Suites
Mariner Hotel
Address: 2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Hotel Port Aransas 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one mile from the soft sand and warm surf of Port Aransas Beach, Island Hotel Port Aransas—formerly Mariner Inn & Suites—offers affordable, newly updated accommodations and a variety of amenities perfect for family vacations, weekend getaways, and winter months when you just want to soak up some sun. During your stay at our hotel in Port Aransas, lounge by our outdoor pool, have a picnic by our barbecue grills, let the kids play in the game room, or take the short, 1 mile drive to the beach for swimming, sunning and sandcastle building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Island Hotel Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Port Aransas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.