We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Port Aransas

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Island Hotel Port Aransas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Tiffany was wonderful; she was a great help and took care of us very well. The room was clean and neat. Enjoyed the stay. Just wanted to thank Tiffany for her friendly and professional help. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    44
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in two rooms for 3 days over xmas. The staff at the front desk were always very patient and nice. I was told that they bought the hotel recently and did a remodel over. The downsides I observed were: a) wifi was crappy; I could get good signals from my laptop, but it just wouldnt stay connected. b) the beds in one of the rooms we stayed in were out of shape, and the spring coil made tons of noise when I turned during night. It's time for them to replace some ol' furniture as well. Overall, it was a good stay for the money we spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed there last weekend and our car broke down- the front desk lady was so nice. I think her name is Tiffany. She and the lead housekeeping lady bent over backwards to help us two stranded girls out. They gave us rides, directions, places that deliver food, since we had no car, even called about service and car parts for us. They turned a bad situation into a more pleasant one. The hotel itself is neat and clean and the breakfast was awesome! Will be back again and recommend to everyone I know! Thanks ladies!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Island Hotel just last week and I have to say we were incredibly happy there! The rooms were exceptionally clean, all newly remodeled with tile floor(a must at the beach), the girl who checked us in name was Tiffany, she was Super Helpful, Friendly, and very knowledgeable of the area. We came down for breakfast and she was there again! Lol And just as friendly and helpful as the night before. She informed us that the hotel has some pet friendly rooms so next time we will bring BANJO as he got left with friends in this quick beach run. We will definitely be back and hopefully Tiffany and the rest of the island Hotel staff will be there waiting for us to provide more great beach memories!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Island hotel over a nice November weekend - we took our 2 dogs which was a big factor in choosing the Island. The hotel is mile or so out of town but has just been refurbished - rooms are clean enough we only noticed before leaving there is a pool table and table tennis in the large reception / breakfast room. Nice pool too. Note that pets do cost $20 each in case that wasn't mentioned when you booked - seems reasonable though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked a couple of days at Island Hotel on Groupon and I was expecting much, but I'm glad I was wrong!! The young lady checking us in was wonderful and even had a map of the island for people not familiar with the area. She gave us really good advice on where to eat and things like that. The room was very clean, updated, and very comfortable. Too cold for the pool, so no review. Breakfast was the standard continental, and the coffee was wonderful!! Will stay there again, even without Groupon!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor, absolutely quiet all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

It was very clean hotel, and very affordable. Ttotally different colors then the usual hotel makes it stand out even more. Pictures from web site are right on the money. Staff was very polite and hospitable. The Island hotel is super family friendly. Pool area was very nice but weather was too cold to get in! Already making plans to stay here again but in the patio suite! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Hotel Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Port Aransas

Also Known As:
Mariner Hotel Port Aransas
Mariner Inn And Suites
Mariner Hotel
Address: 2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Hotel Port Aransas 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one mile from the soft sand and warm surf of Port Aransas Beach, Island Hotel Port Aransas—formerly Mariner Inn & Suites—offers affordable, newly updated accommodations and a variety of amenities perfect for family vacations, weekend getaways, and winter months when you just want to soak up some sun. During your stay at our hotel in Port Aransas, lounge by our outdoor pool, have a picnic by our barbecue grills, let the kids play in the game room, or take the short, 1 mile drive to the beach for swimming, sunning and sandcastle building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Island Hotel Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Port Aransas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island Hotel Port Aransas to your Saves list