We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mustang Island State Park

Mustang Island State Park
P.O. Box 326, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361-749-5246
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Port Aransas
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Camping, Camping/rv, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State Park on Mustang Island that offers the best camping in the area.
Sterling Heights, MI
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I walked on the beach after a work event. The park fee is only $5 to enter and there's a nice park office with soft drinks for sale (and restrooms downstairs).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    63
    29
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST RESTING EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

For the past 23 years I have been to Mustang Island State Park at least once a summer, sometimes twice. We use the RV Parking and yes the sites are close together, but how much time in your RV? We stay on the beach nearly all day, taking a cooler and sandwiches for noontime. After showering, we go to Snoopys for fish and Ice Cream. Late evening we drive back on the beach, roll the windows down and enjoy the sound of the surf and watch the ghost crabs as they scurry across the sand. There is no other beach I know of that you can drive on endlessly, enjoying people and watching the cranes as they cruise the beach line and gulls as they dive for fish. Also this "stuff" people refer to as sea grass is actually called sargasum. If you learn a little bit about this "stuff" you will learn that as they rake it, it is pushed toward the dunes and not only helps build the dunes, but also provides a barrier to flat land when hurricanes occur and if you look carefully, you can find small crabs. Go to the Texas Beaches, explore, learn and have fun!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had our wedding ceremony here, and couldn't have asked for much more. Beautiful sandy beaches. Pretty clean too. Seaweed wasn't a huge problem like it can be further down north on the beach. It smelled lovely. Not fishy like Galveston can. You just pay $10 and can park anywhere you want and pitch a tent or sleep in your car. Very open and relaxed. Port-a-potties are set up sporadically down the shore so it's relatively rugged, but that part of it's beauty --being underdeveloped.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Okay for day use, but there are other options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I went with a friend who has an RV -- hands down the most depressing RV campground I've seen. They pack everyone in like sardines and if you're at the far end you have quite a hike to the bath house.

For day use the beaches are nice, but I disagree about clean. They did NOT have the seaweed I've seen in Galveston, but the amount of trash was sad. I was surprised the park staff didn't pick it up better.

Shade cover is very limited and not right along the water so bring an umbrella or pop-up. They have showers near the entrance and spotted along the beach.

If you're looking to tent camp or take an RV on the beach I would either go a little further south to North Padre Island and primitive camp there (secluded and really nice), or get on the beach at Port Aransas and drive down the miles and miles of beach to find a spot on the water there if you like more people around. North Padre would probably require 4 wheel drive, however.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice park for a day at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have been visiting Mustang Island State park annualy for years. We visited over Labor Day weekend. The beach was as clean as we have ever seen it. You have your choice at this beach; drive on the beach or park in the parking lot and take the short walk to the no vehicle traffic area. The no traffic area has many new covered picnic tables. No tables at the areas where vehicles are permitted. Cold fresh water showers available at the beach. Hot showers at the rv area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustang Island State Park also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mustang Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustang Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.