We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real DOG of a hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 East Central Pkwy, Plano, TX 75074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Plano
Baton Rouge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The real DOG of a hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked a one bedroom suit at this hotel for two nights. The nightmare began as soon as we checked in. The keys did not work, went to front desk got another set and did not work either. Waited in the hallway for the maintenance man who got it fixed. It was a very cold night 27 degrees so we turned on heaters both in the bedroom and living room. The heater in the bedroom did not work so we were moved to another room again heater in the bedroom did not work. The electrician brought us keys for two other rooms. I checked both rooms and the heater in either living room or bed room did not work. After trying four rooms with broken heaters and it was getting late so we decided to stay in a room where bedroom heater was working. I talked to the front desk lady and told her to find us a room with working heaters in both rooms first thing in the morning. The next day we stayed in our room till 11:00 AM and no one called or provided any assistance to move us in a suit where both the heaters worked so we went on to finish our business. When we returned our room keys were deactivated and did not work so get another set. Told the front desk lady that no one called or gave us another room. She was surprised. Despite of her full knowledge of all the problems the manager did not bother to call us or come by to assist or at least apologies for lousy service.
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and most likely the last Holiday Inn. Will move on the Hilton or Marriott hotels where customer comfort is the top priority. The incognito Manage/owner of this hotel lacks hospitality and leadership. The entire staff is capable and willing to help but grossly lacks discipline and commitment to attending to the customers comfort. The manager needs an intense basic training in management and customer care. Four suits with faulty heaters is absolutely unacceptable by any hotel standards. We were charged full amount for both nights. This speaks loudly about this “DOG” Holiday Inn. Stay away from this DOG but if you must, avoid the sixth floor with one bed room suits.

Room Tip: Avoid all suits and save money and headaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear jaybeaux,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the heater issue you have encountered in the rooms. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    20
    6
    12
See reviews for
29
11
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the long wait to come out from behind the reception desk, unfriendly and unhelpful staff upon arrival, old tired worn out facilities, broken down vending, printer in business office, clock radio in room, (for multiple days), wired internet too slow to use, very poorly maintained, very poor attitude. There are other good choices within walking distance, opt for them!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tim D,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the overall dissatisfaction of your stay. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was suprised at the poor condition of the sleeper sofa.the plastic was sticking up.I was sitting on a very hard mattress also.My air conditioner roared all the time so it was hard to hear the tv.The air would go from hot in thr room to ice cold.i got two keys and ond didnt work.On my third day there the otherkey didnt work.I had to go to the desk for a re key.Itt used to be if you stayed in a holiday inn you knew what u wre getting.This one needs to be an independent.I should not have bundled air and room and rent a car.My car i reserved thre Advantage wasnt there so i got a add on gps that didnt work annd theac went out in the car.It was atrip i wont forget.Thhe lady at the buffet tried but only the cinnimon buns were good.eggs were prefab.All in all it was average.

Room Tip: Back of motel in 200no rooms was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear rebelwebb,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleville, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Checked in. Went to my first room. I checked under the sheets like always and look, a dead cockroach. I asked and was moved to a 2nd room that was cleaner. After a bit I turned on the TV. Nice LCD TV, no high definition channels. Okay. Wi-fi was sketchy at best. I'm glad I had a wired connection. However that was a whopping 10 Mbs connection. Bleah. However I was really glad that downstairs they had coffee. I helped myself to some decaf and enjoyed a night with Netflix.

Next night. I came back from one of the local restaurants after having a wonderful meal. Went down for the coffee. It's not there. What? I asked the front desk. The front desk person responded, "When we have groups in we take it out since they drink it all. Sorrryyy." Hmm well that helps me not at all. Thanks Holiday Inn. And yes thanks for your rather meaningless response that may be posted a few days after this. Meh.

I will not be staying here again and will advise my company travel site of the really poor service.

Free Breakfast, pretty awful. The only fruit was Bananas. Really in the middle of summer that's all you can provide. What a crock. Worst free breakfast ever. (And I don't get to go out to eat thanks to my companies rather cheap ways if the hotel offers breakfast.) Wish they hadn't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear William J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room cleanliness and the services you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special about this hotel. I was very dissatisfied with a couple of things. First off we arrived at 11:00am after driving since 3:00am hoping for an early check in. We were told "we'll see what we can do." Finally at 3:40pm we were able to check in, 40 minutes late. Second due to a death we had to end our trip early, we checked out at 4:30 and were charged full price even after I asked for a discount due to unforeseen circumstance. We rented a suite at $165/night.....next time we will stay at the Embassy Suites hotel like we usually do where they treat you as individuals with individual needs not just "that's our policy".

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Anndersonette,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Our hotel is committed to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. It is regrettable that you were disappointed with the service you received at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding that was held there. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The pool was kept well also and it was a nice refreshing swim.
The hotel itself looks like it has not been updated to the new look of the Holiday Inn Express, so you see some outdated color schemes and some wear and tear. But overall it is kept clean.
Breakfast is what you normally get when its included. We went out and looked for some different food instead. Good location.

Room Tip: we has a room to the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear uschi05,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is my hotel of choice when staying in Plano for business. I usually end up spending 1 or 2 nights every other week and this is the first place I go. I came to town tonight for a meeting tomorrow and was very disappointed that the hotel was completely full and I couldn't get a room :( Settling for plan B, but I would much rather be at the Holiday Inn Express! The rooms are nice and I am always comfortable there. Staff is excellent as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East

Address: 700 East Central Pkwy, Plano, TX 75074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Plano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Plano East. Nestled on a quiet street just off Highway 75 in Plano, the Holiday Inn Express hotel offers a unique blend of the Stay Smart Express you have come to know, plus 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. The Holiday Inn Express Plano will warmly greet you in the morning with your Express Start breakfast with a variety of items to fit any palate. Enjoy our large outdoor pool area with heated spa, or work up your energy in our state of the art fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Plano East also offers 137 large well-appointed rooms from standard level to our Presidential Suite. Located just mile from the DART light rail transit station you can reach most any destination. The hotel is close to the telecommunications corridor, Historic Downtown Plano District, the Plano Center, Collin Creek Mall, Allen Outlet Center as well as downtown Dallas and the Historic West End. Many Leading companies are within a few miles of the hotel including, Alcatel, Samsung, Nortel, Verizon, EDS, Perot Systems, Frito-Lay/Pepsico, Cisco Sytems, Raytheon, Fujitsu, Flextronics, Huawei and many more. If you love the outdoors there is a wonderful golf course close by. The service you will receive at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Plano will set the bar to exceed your expectations and make you feel at home while you are away from home. Come visit us and let us give you a big welcome Texas Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East Hotel Plano
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Plano East
Holiday Inn Plano
Plano Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plano East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.