We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO Plano at Legacy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO Plano at Legacy to your Saves list
NYLO Plano at Legacy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8201 Preston Road, Plano, TX 75024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early - 10% Savings!
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Plano
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff is excellent - very friendly and they go out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are exceptionally clean. The rain shower is great - especially if you are tall and used to shower heads that are too low.
Trendy without sacrificing comfort.
The rooms are also quiet - no noise from neighbors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Plano at Legacy, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
AustinTrav5!

Thank you for the excellent feedback! I am pleased to read that your stay at NYLO Plano at Legacy was exceptionally enjoyable.

Please touch base when you are ready to escape for another amazing retreat, as I will have the team create a signature NYLO experience for you!

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    127
    56
    39
    24
See reviews for
33
165
44
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

At first glance upon entering this hotel, we were impressed. We travel to Dallas on business bi-monthly and are familiar with all the hotel options. Last week we spontaneously jumped in the car for business only to find when making a reservation on our way, the usual choices (and many others) were all sold out. We ended up getting the last room NYLO had available. Our second impression was the front door staff. No receipt for us to sign due to a printer issue, and the guy that checked us in was completely rude to the guy working with him, ridiculing him in front of us over whether a guest had checked out or not. The price of our room was similar to high end Dallas hotels, so needless to say our expectations were high. At these prices, no room service, complimentary tea, coffee and bottled water in the room were for one person with a double room. Requests for more sent us to a gift area in the lobby. The room was dirty. The air return was so clogged I can't believe it is actually functioning. (room 207, however I'd be willing to bet this is the case throughout the hotel). The rain head shower was not only small, as is the room, there is no other option. Really? My experience as an interior designer shows men love rain heads, not women. The sliding bathroom door is annoying for privacy and the shower wall into the the rooms' transparent side is annoying in the shower with the cheapest of tile and shower pan. The noise level from adjacent rooms is completely annoying. We listened for two nights to our upstairs neighbor make hourly restroom/loud flushing noises. During the morning hours, the water noises as well as hall noises made me want to scream. And, finally I left a perscription in the room as well as a phone charger. I've now called four times with no return call. I won't be back. If you're traveling to the area, shop around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Plano at Legacy, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
CStraveling,

Thank you for your candid feedback. I apologize for the issues you encountered with the service and amenities in your guest room. Such incidents are embarrassing to say the least, as our team does their very best to accommodate all guest requests and servicing any room malfunctions. We would love to have you back at the hotel for a second chance to truly show you our NYLO culture; Passion, Service, Design, and Fun.

Kindest Regards,
Maegan Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights for a weekend get away! Our shower had a problem and was not draining so maintenance came up to unclog. We had friends joining us for drinks downstairs. We came back to the room and it had an over powering gas sewage smell. Once we went down to tell the desk, they did give us another room. Huge inconvenience and had to load up our belongings and move ourselves. All while trying to spend time with our guests. It may have been a good gesture to upgrade to a bigger room or something, but nope....here is your keys now go move! It also advertised they had a sauna....nope! No sauna!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Plano at Legacy, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Good Day Joycamp,

Thank you for the review. I apologize for the issues you encountered with the shower and the distict smell in your guest room. I will have engineering conduct a thorough inspection on the room issues that you have discribed. The team would love the opportunity to have you back at the hotel to turn your okay stay into a memorable one! Please touch base when your travels should bring you back to North Dallas.

Kindest Regards,
Maegan Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed at a lot of different hotels in the Dallas area and have finally found the crown jewel! Hotel NYLO has everything a traveler wants except average guest service which is found at every other place in the area I have stayed. If you want to jump to the type of guest satisfaction and service that is expected by all of us - visit this beautiful property in Plano. From the food to the cleanliness topped off with a General Manager (I believe his name was Joe) that greeted me when I checked in and wished me wonderful travels by name as I was leaving 3 days later! Class act all the way around......I will pass on to every friend and colleague I know traveling to the area. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I usually stay at the NYLO when I'm in Plano because it's a great hotel with a great staff, great atmosphere, great bar, and great rooms. I was upgraded to the NYLO Suite and must say that this room is really worth the price. It has an open layout with 3 living spaces which is great for those who need a place to work, relax, and sleep. If you have to stay in town for more than 3 or 4 days, this is the room. I would only comment that the closet is the same as in the standard rooms. A simple rod positioned right in the entryway and covered by a drape.

The bar / restaurant is very cool. The indoor area leads right to the outdoor seating area and huge fireplace. Very cool ambiance. The food is really tasty and they have a nice menu and drink selection.

However, I must agree with the other comments. The hotel has no affiliation with any major chains so you can't accrue or use points here but if this is the biggest negative that is written about this hotel, well I guess that says enough.

Overall, another great stay at once of my favorites.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Plano at Legacy, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Greetings NoahTrop,

Thank you for your loyalty to NYLO Plano at Legacy and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to read that your stay with us was delightful, please be assured that we have forward your kudos to the team. We are looking to enhance our clubNYLO program which is not a points reward program, but is a great program where you recieve unexpected treats at check-in. Please stay tuned as we are always looking into ways to grow our loyalty program.

As always please feel free to contact us directly should you need future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
NYLO Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My ONLY complaint is the hotel is not affiliated with any other chain so you don't earn any points. For the business traveler, this is pretty important to me. Over the past few years I have consolidated airlines and hotels into ONE company each, this hotel is the ONLY exception. If you weren't so close to my working destination I'd have to change.

I have stayed here many, many times for business only. This hotel is super hip & cool, love the vibe. Can be a bit noisy in the hallway & room because it is all concrete, but not a deal breaker. I can walk across the street to a nearby large company, so I don't rent a car, just cab from DFW. NYLO always hooks it up with a car service on time for my return trip, ON TIME! I've never stayed on a weekend night so I can't comment on the 'club' atmosphere some reviews call out. Gym is decent, you can get it done if you work out on the road. Free wifi - always a plus.

The outdoor patio area is very cool - great area to unwind with coworkers over a few drinks. When they close, just walk across the street to a handful of bars and restaurants - Holy Grail Pub is amazing, best beer selection around.

Plano / Frisco is pretty dull & boring and the NYLO style is really out of place - but that's a good thing!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are less noisy than rooms overlooking the lounge / pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Plano at Legacy, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Greetings J W,

Thank you for your loyalty to NYLO Hotels and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to read that your stay with us was delightfully wonderful, please be assured that we have forward your kudos to the team. We are looking to enhance our clubNYLO program which is not a points reward program, but is a great program where you receive unexpected treats at check-in. Please stay tuned as we are always looking at ways to grow our loyalty program.

We hope see you again in the near future, and as always please feel free to contact us directly should you need future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
NYLO Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I made a last minute, advance online, reservation Friday night for Saturday check-in at 3pm to suprise my husband for our anniversary. The front desk staff were cordial and friendly upon our arrival and gave us each a free drink ticket to celebrate! The room was chic and perfect for a romantic getaway. We had a courtyard view of the pool and fire pit that made the whole experience delightful! Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Any room facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Plano at Legacy, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Good Day Charriso1,

Thank you for choosing NYLO Plano at Legacy to host your romantic getaway and for taking the time to post your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that yours and your husbands stay was wonderfully delightful.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, and always feel free to contact us directly if we can ever be of future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
NYLO Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO Plano at Legacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Plano at Legacy

Address: 8201 Preston Road, Plano, TX 75024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NYLO Plano at Legacy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO Plano--the original NYLO hotel--blends NYLO's signature urban, industrial design with classic Texas comfort to provide an unmatched and highly social hotel experience. Business and Leisure travelers alike will enjoy chic loft-style accommodations, NYLO's signature LOCL Bar & Restaurant, a heated outdoor pool, a state of the art gym, and 1,800 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NYLO Plano at Legacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nylo Plano At Legacy Hotel Plano
Nylo Hotel Plano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO Plano at Legacy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.