We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a birthday celebration or date night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jorg's Cafe Vienna

Jorg's Cafe Vienna
1037 E 15th St, Plano, TX 75074-6221
972-509-5966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 667 Restaurants in Plano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“For a birthday celebration or date night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Five of us came for a birthday celebration. The pretzel appetizer was good. The schnitzel is outstanding, tender and breaded well... best I've had. (Better schnitzel than any place in Fredericksburg). The warm potato salad seemed more authentic than most german restaurants serve. My husband loved the pork chops. Be sure to save room for dessert. Apple strudel was warm and the bread pudding was to die for (the pudding portion is large enough for two). We will definately be back. Be sure to make reservations and double check their hours beforehand. Their hours seem a bit odd. This is kind of a small intimate restaurant on the cobbled brick portion of 15th street in old town Plano. Would be a good date night destination.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    15
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Austrian food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Who would have thought...a quaint Austrian restaurant here. Definitely a stop to make. We enjoyed the delicious food and the helpful wait staff. Very nice experience, we would come here again for sure. The food was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, very slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited Jorgs on a Saturday night. The place was full and we were put on a wait list. We sat at the bar where the bartender offered and gave us a sample of dark beer which we decided to have while we waited. Shortly after, Our table was ready and we moved.
After being sat at a table, our order was taken and we began the wait. We waited an hour for our entrees to arrive. being told on several occasions that our order would be out soon. The last visit from our waitress before our food arrived was to inform us that our ticket was behind a large order and as soon as that ticket was done, our order would be out next.
The food was good but the long wait for it left a bad taste in our mouths. The price was also on the expensive side. around 70.00. The service from the waitress was average but the bartender seemed to enjoy his job and was knowledgeable about his beers.
We will not be back. I can get the same quality food with a better atmosphere at Bavarian Grill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun and authentic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Well, it turns out I don't care for German/Austrian food. But I can't hold that against Jorge's because every other person in our group was very complimentary of all of the dishes. One of the group is actually from Austria and he assured us that Jorge's is the real deal and an excellent example of that country's cuisine. It is a happy, festive and friendly place. The service was a bit slow and provided by staff who are clearly not excited by having jobs as servers. That aside, if you DO like German fare, I expect you should give Jorge's a try, I believe you'll be pleased.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Much to write about, but save room for dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Parking's a challenge in this upbeat, old downtown area. It's a DART stop, tho, for you locals. We tried two German beers-great! I had the chicken jäger schnitzel-velvety sauce with wonderful side of red cabbage. My husband had the smoked pork chops-nicely smoked, fork-tender. Portions are huge, so we took food home, which allowed us to split the bread soufflé with vanilla-rum sauce. Perfect with a cup of coffee, it had slivered almonds on top and the most divine almond flavor through the soufflé. The sauce was light and flavorful. Would return just for the soufflé. Great, beer garden atmosphere and excellent server--Vivian. Gem in downtown Plano.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jorg's Cafe Vienna also viewed

 

Been to Jorg's Cafe Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jorg's Cafe Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.