We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mesa Grill

Blue Mesa Grill
8200 N Dallas Pkwy, Plano, TX 75024-4000
(214) 387-4407
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 727 Restaurants in Plano
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Happy hour with complimentary Quesadesa's... one of the best Saturday and Sunday brunches for the price, alongs popular!
The food is a bit more Mexican verses TexMex.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dry Dry, Always Dry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had food catered from here a lot, and it was always dry. My mother read about it in a Texas Monthly magazine, so I took her there expecting better than catered food. It was no different. The waiters were great and atmosphere great. Concept and food creativity are great, but everything I've ever had was so dry I had to put sauce on it. I don't think it should be like that. Not worth all the ratings in Dallas or Texas for that matter.

Maybe fun for a drink.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Southwestern Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great margs, loved the smoked chicken enchiladas, adobe pie. Great fresh salsa, too. The bar looks like it could be a fun place to hangout.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Kinda boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Blue Mesa has a nice menu, but its really kind of boring food. Every thing tastes the same; from the tacos to the steaks. Not the best experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just Below Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Originally we were drawn to the restaurant due to the offering of local food sources, organic items on the menu and more "exotic" takes on the traditional dishes of the southwest.

The Food:
I couldn't bring myself to order the organic dishes. There were only two and were phrased "organic chicken with X" which implies to the organic eater's critical eye that the only item of food in the dish that may be organic is the chicken. Since the "X" items were nothing that appealed to me (in fact, things I rather disdain as chefs trying odd ingredients together but that is my personal taste) I opted for seafood. A salmon filet, blue crab enchilada and grilled shrimp. All others at the table ordered the tacos.
The chips and salsa were delicious and the only item on the table worth seconds.
Once the food was finally delivered (see "The Service") it was below average. Honestly the shrimp were par for someone just learning to cook seafood who had just listened to a lecture about the dangers of undercooked seafood as they could have passed for shrimp shaped rubber. They tasted like nothing besides char - I have no idea if they were seasoned or with what it may have been. The blue crab enchilada was smothered (or drowning) in a red tomato sauce of some sort. I could not taste the crab over the tomato (I couldn't taste the tortilla over it either) and eventually I scraped it off so I could have a bite of crab that tasted like crab. It was okay. The salmon was so strong and so "fishy" I couldn't bear to finish it. I'm a seafood junkie and I couldn't bear more than a few bites.
The others in my party spoke of their tacos being "okay" but nothing worth coming back for.
We didn't order dessert as we were not impressed with dinner so I couldn't tell you what it is like.

The Service:
While the staff was in uniform it was the only thing setting them apart as someone who was working there. They were filling plates with what appeared to be left overs from a buffet (as if the buffet had just ended) vs. filling the plates in the kitchen. I personally have no problem with staff eating left over food that must be trashed for no good reason (I would rather see it feed someone even if just for a snack) but having to navigate my way through nonchalant staff to find my table was a tad irritating.
The wait was forever. Seeing the restaurant was near empty (only three other tables had people at them that we saw) I have no idea what took so long. Our waitress would disappear for what seemed like ages - however she was good at keeping the chips, salsa and water coming which appeared to be a cover up for the exceptionally slow kitchen. We were there for over two hours waiting and only eating dinner for maybe 20 minutes. It was poor service and we tipped out of obligation not out of gratitude for the service provided.

Price:
Overpriced. I have had better food from a greasy food truck. It was $17 for my seafood. I have cooked better not paying attention to what I was doing.

Overall it was decent food as none of us were sick afterwards and all full however we have no intentions of returning (which is depressing as it is difficult to find a restaurant that serves local foods and organic) but I cannot bring myself to spend hard earned money on mediocre food when a trip to the grocery store could produce better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mesa Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mesa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mesa Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.