We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mignon

Mignon
4005 Preston Rd, Ste 518, Plano, TX 75093
972-943-3372
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mignon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #191 of 741 Restaurants in Plano
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lorimar
Description: Here at Mignon, we have a warm romantic atmosphere that takes you back to a more sophisticated time were you can imagine you are sitting in Paris in your own private Bistro. At Mignon you can expect to receive the very best in service and menu selections. We only serve the freshest in seafood and hand cut prime steaks.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

They've done such a nice job of decor with a small space. Columns have small glass tiles all the way around, painting on wall behind bar, nice touches. Food was really good. Had the pecan encrusted trout, asparagus and potatoes au gratin. Service was nice and they consistently re-filled water glasses. Chocolate mousse cake was a little dry and the raspberries were a nice touch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    10
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wylie, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Special Occasion Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The wife and had dinner for our 37th anniversary. Service was good and the food was very tasty. We both had steaks and they we very flavorful. The carrot cake for desert was also very good as was the coffee.

The only down side was that my wide ordered an Oscar Steak and was served the normal filet. The waiter checked the ticket and promptly "fell on his sword" and offered to bring my wife what she ordered, she declined so we could enjoy dinner together rather than in shifts. She did request a side of grilled asparagus that was brought promptly and comp'd.

All in all a very nice evening.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mother's Day experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Went here on Mother's Day, fixed price three course offerings, which were great for brunch-tried lamb shank, with mushroom/spinach risotto which was excellent. Others had steak and eggs, and the crispy chicken dinners. Excellent service, we sat inside in one of the large corner booths. Owner/manager was attentive, stopped by to ask how we enjoyed our meal...we appreciate this at a small restaurant. Next time, we will try the outside area, which is lakeside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Filet = Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We didn't know that my family was going to be able to go to dinner for Mother's Day, so hadn't made reservations at my favorite restaurant. We had dined at Mignon for brunch before, so decided to try dinner. We were seating promptly upon arrival on the patio as we had requested. The manager is very personable and made us feel relaxed and welcome. Our server knew the menu and gave us the long list of specials for the day.

I started with the wedge salad which was enough to share! I had the filet topped with crab and hollandaise which was outstanding - cooked exactly to my order and accompanied by a LARGE serving of whipped potatoes and grilled asparagus. My daughter had the lobster bisque - delightful - followed by the scallops. My husband passed on an appetizer and was glad he did as the Pan Roasted Chilean Sea Bass with potato-chive raviolis, roasted baby artichokes & black truffle jus was more than enough. All entree portions are large!!

I had read reviews about service, but our service was outstanding! Beverages, bread and butter were always served without asking, and the entrees were not fired until we were completing our appetizers. We were seated next to a large party with small children, and as they finish dining they allowed the children to run and play among the other diners. The staff was great about redirecting the children and making sure they were contained so as not to disturb the other diners (impressive as this is generally the job of the parents, not the wait staff!)

We are looking forward to another dining experience here soon!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing birthday dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I enjoy eating at nice restaurants around town, and I wanted to take her somewhere she hadn't been before for her birthday. I'd eaten at Mignon's years ago and remembered it had very good food, excellent service and a great outside patio atmosphere. This time it only had two of three...lacking a good server. The manager who has been there 14 years was very personable and attentive, but our server was basically not around and disinterested. Everyone has a bad day and this was hers. We ate at Three Forks a couple of weeks prior and the service was what you would expect when you spend $150. Plus, the charge to share an entree was very disappointing. We've found that many of the better restaurants have moved away from that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mignon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.