We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's - Plano

Roy's - Plano
2840 Dallas Pkwy, Plano, TX 75093
+1 972-473-6263
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Plano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 709 restaurants in Plano
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Bus
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner. He ate filet mignon and I a cod fillet and both was excellent. The term of my husband filet mignon was exactly. For appetizers we had vegetable spring rolls and California sushi, excellent! The wine list is almost all from California, so no wines from the old world but was fine. The service was excellent and knowledgeable. Very kind service. We went on a Tuesday day. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    61
    25
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good for a chain restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I received a $25 gift card from Roy's and decided to go for dinner with my husband. The atmosphere was pleasant, noise level moderate, waiter attentive. The complementary dish of edamame was a nice touch. When I asked about the topping sprinkled on it and was told it was hot, I asked if it could be replaced. It was. Service was prompt. We had the Trio of salmon, butterfish and mahi mahi. I think the mahi mahi was a little dry, but I rarely order it, so I'm not sure. The Trio portions are smaller than the full entre size and it may be difficult to cook a 3 oz. piece perfectly. We would go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Horrible experience at Roy's Plano this evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have been to Roy's a number of times, so we familiar with the restaurant. However, this evening was a miserable experience. We arrived promptly at 7:10 and were seated at our table. We then sat for 15 minutes until the waiter decided to take our food order. When he finally showed up at our table, my wife said we were about to walk out, and the waiter made a lame excuse about serving the table behind us. We placed our dinner order and then proceeded to wait and wait and wait... The first food dishes didn't arrive until 7:53 - almost 45 minutes after we were seated. Again we were on the verge of walking out, and should have. Our experience was ruined, as dining out is as much about the service as it is about the food. Interestingly our waiter continuously made trips to the table behind us - I guess a group of 6 is more important at Roy's than a group of 2.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went to Roy's recently for our anniversary, and it was such a great experience! The service and atmosphere was wonderful, and the food was delicious. I had the trio- with salmon, butterfish, and mahi mahi. The butterfish and salmon were both great. My husband had the gnocci and really enjoyed it as well. I also had the creme brulee and my husband ate goat cheese cheesecake. We will definitely be back in the future!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love the Lobster Potstickers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall the food was good but I wouldn't say fabulous. The lobster potsticker appetizers were fabulous and I could have eaten a couple more orders of those. For my entree I had the sea scallops which were served over mashed potatoes and pork belly. The serving was small with 3 scallops but the pork belly was filling. My son had the shrimp tempenyaki and said it was good but not memorable. The decor was nice but not up to par with other similarly priced restaurants. It was rather loud, so probably not ideal if you want to have a good conversation. There is outdoor seating which would offer more of a quiet atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Plano also viewed

 

Been to Roy's - Plano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's - Plano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.