We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely outdoor area upstairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Rio

Urban Rio
1000 14th ST at J Ave, Plano, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 729 Restaurants in Plano
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor area upstairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great drinks, get the aged tequila. It is delicious. I had the fish tacos and they were great. Our whole group loved our food and drinks, and we loved the setting upstairs watching the train come by. We went on Sunday night so things were quiet, but I am sure it would be fun on the weekend. Very reasonably priced

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great spot, average quality food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I visited this place 5 times, always for lunch with a friend. The place (building) is a great old one. Food is just "ok". I tried several plates here, and if I were the owner will change the cook without a doubt. Based on what I can see, he invested a lot of money on this location, but the food is not up to the same level than the place. He also owns Urban Crust (a pizza place), food is great at that one (I already left a review about Urban Crust). Room to improve....

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Heard about this place...did NOT disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Wow, this is a great place, a block off rhe main strip of downtown Plano. Loved the experience, sat on ground floor level, had some house margaritas and beef brisket quesadillas. Complimentary been and salsa dips. I was told by the waiter the bean dip is made with Shiner Bock beer, all good. Manager stopped by to say hello, everyone was very friendly.Just what you want and expect for a Friday casual lunch experience...cannot wait to return!

NOTE: There s a sister restaurant on the main street in downtown Plano called Urban Crust, it is the same owners as Urban Rio but they are different locations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding. A group of nine went here for dinner after having drinks upstairs. Food and service were outstanding. I had the tamale pie - it was fantastic. Prices were very reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“yum! quality gourmet Spanish/ Mexican FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

great variety food. quality cole slaw, salsa and chips excellent......all 15 of my guests were pleased with their meals. musical guitar live music in bar after dinner was very nice also.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Rio also viewed

 

Been to Urban Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.