We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mama

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casa Mama
1445 Los Rios Blvd., Plano, TX 75074
972-943-3900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 729 Restaurants in Plano
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
DFW Area
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We really enjoy eating here, in the dining room and for take-out. The brisket enchiladas with mashed potatoes are a big favorite of mine as are the brisket tacos, with which I order a side of mole sauce. Always tender, flavorful and rich....

Anything with avocado is a safe bet, because they always service fresh, ripe ones that really add flavor to a dish, versus just there for color. The chips and salsa are good, and the queso surprisingly light, yet flavorful. All of the dishes we have tasted so far follow this fresh, well-seasoned, authentic pattern.

Very reliable, very good neighborhood staple.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A local favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is my own, personal Cheers. I absolutely love the staff and the food is great. I come for happy hour, though. The mango margarita is the best, hands down. It can get kind of busy in the 7pm hour as families begin to show up but the staff stays on point. This is the third restaurant in this location since 2007 when I moved to the neighborhood. From the looks of business, the Casa will be there for a long time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I love love love this place!! The service is great and the food is even better! We have a 2 year old that is a picky eater and loves anything we put in front of him. Well mommy and daddy do too!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Why Go Anywhere Else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes, they serve "Tex-Mex", and it is consistently good. However, they also serve other items tied to the Guanajuato region of Mexico, like their Enchiladas Mexicanas, and Pollo en Mole. Above all that, the service we've ALWAYS experienced is second-to-none, genuine, friendly and attentive - without being overbearing. The "atmosphere" is welcoming, whether you choose to dine indoors or al fresco, although the limited patio seating can be in demand. You will enjoy your visit there, we always do.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real down home TEX MEX.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This place is great. Their food is really great TEX MEX. The staff is extremely friendly and very attentive to your every need. Finally they have the best Flan dessert I think in all of Texas. Also they aren't stingy with the drinks. If you want to really taste great TEX MEX I strongly recommend this place. Yes it is in a strip mall, but don't let that discourage you. This is my fourth time here and we still love it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mama also viewed

 

Been to Casa Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.