We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zenna Thai & Japanese Restaurant

Zenna Thai & Japanese Restaurant
2500 N Central Expy, Plano, TX 75074-5435
(214) 473-9797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 727 Restaurants in Plano
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Visited during Happy Hour,,,after a 20 minute wait to be seated, our waiter was very helpful to explain the menu. Food was so reasonably priced during HH :) We really enjoyed the tasty appetizers and food. Although place was loud, it was a pleasant atmosphere surrounded by a variety of people--families, couples, partiers of all different ages and cultures. My only complaint was the NASTY BATHROOM :( A one-seater in a ladies bathroom for a such a large facility-- and needed to be CLEANED!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The menu is extremely wide selection. Great fresh sushi. Amazing Thai dishes. I still haven't tried all of them, but they are great. My favorite is the Thai Peanut.
They have a great cheap happy hour with a huge selection of sushi, rolls and warm/cold appetizers. The Atmosphere is cool, but can be very loud at time. They are open late and that is a great place. Until 2AM!
The service can very greatly from great to way below average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We love going to Zenna, they have a good variety of Thai food and sushi and some good small appetizers. Also love their happy hour, everyday from 3-7 and they have a good selection of dollar sushi and drinks for appetizer. The service is ok, sometimes it's really good sometimes is eh, ok! My biggest complain would be the restrooms! The restrooms at this location are simply disgusting! No hand soap, paper towel dispenser broken, dirty! Overall, great food!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really Weird”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Let me get the food part out of the way first...the food is "okay" but nothing really to write home about. None of the four dishes we ordered were memorable in terms of taste. The portions are decent but at the end of the day, who wants a whole bunch of "okay" food.

Now the weird part. I'm not sure if the owners have a complex or are really paranoid but there are security cameras everywhere. I mean EVERYWHERE! From the minute you walk in all you see are dozens of security cameras. In the dining room alone I counted over 18 cameras...and those were just the ones I could see.

I don't know if people or employees are stealing food or what but it is totally creepy to see tons of cameras everywhere. If the food was all that epic, I could probably go back and keep my head down and just eat. But with the food barely making the mark and creep factor at an all time high, I am not going back. Sorry Zenna!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My all time favorite Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'm a Thai food lover and of all the Thai food I have had in U.S this is one of the best place. The price ranges are very affordable with good portion. They also serve Japanese cuisine (Ie. Sushi) and they have a bar. I love their Spicy Basil fried rice and their Tom Kha(coconut soup with your choice of meat) is a must-try-dish!! They're open late till 3am, their lunch menu is way cheaper and not as busy. They also have happy hour (alcohol yayy) super cheap and worth but it gets really packed so get there before 4pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zenna Thai & Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zenna Thai & Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zenna Thai & Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.