We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southfork Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Southfork Hotel to your Saves list
Southfork Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 North Central Expressway, Plano, TX 75074 (Formerly Harvey Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Plano
London, England
1 review
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travelled from London to Dallas with my sister last week to celebrate my 30th birthday and we stayed at the Southfork Hotel (as I am a huge fan of the Dallas TV show and wanted to visit Southfork Ranch). We had the Executive Suites which were very spacious and luxurious! The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The food was great! The Cattlemen's Club was very cosy and we enjoyed eating and drinking there - the bar staff were particularly friendly. The complimentary shuttle service was also very useful as it enabled us to easily get to the DART rail station in order to travel into Downtown Dallas. The hotel itself was very nicely decorated for Christmas and there was Dallas memorabilia everywhere! Overall, we had a wonderful experience at this hotel and we would recommend it to anybody!!!

Room Tip: The Executive Suits are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
33
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There were some great and not-so-great things here. For example, the bathroom faucet looked newer but the paint was peeling above shower. There was this great tile countertop in the room but also a big crack in the plaster from the heater to the window and an outlet didn't work. One of the blankets had a hole where you could see the threads holding it together. At the same time, the hotel was very clean and I felt comfortable staying here. Their staff was very good. Somewhere between our travel agency and the hotel, our reservation was lost. It took about an hour to get it resolved, but the front desk staff were very apologetic and were working with manager via phone to try and remedy it. On checkout, the business center printer wasn't working so we couldn't print our airline boarding passes. After being directed 3 times "to keep trying", the front desk was very apologetic and offered to try printing it from their computers (but we just printed it at airport). Truthfully I don't know if I'd stay here again because of the problems at check-in/check-out and some of the maintenance issues, but if you're looking for an affordable clean hotel this would qualify.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had such a wonderful visit at the hotel. We stopped because I am a Dallas tv fan and was planning a trip to Southfork. We were treated so well by the staff and the room was beautiful. I had dreams about what it would look like and I wasn't disappointed. It was all decorated like Dallas. We even went to the "Cattleman's Club" to eat. We took the shuttle to the ranch and even the driver was so very nice. My husband laughed at me because I liked Dallas but he enjoyed the whole visit as much as I did. We plan on going back one day and will definitely stay in the same hotel. Thanks so much to all the staff for making out visit so memorable.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came into Big D for some fun and shopping in the Plano area. We decided to stay at Southfork because of the nostalgia of the show Dallas. We were surprised by the nonstop showings and all of the memorabilia. The rooms were cozy but the TV's NEED to be updated and replaced for several and obvious reasons. The breakfast was a huge surprise as it was tasty and we enjoyed each morning. But I will say my favorite part of the entire stay and hotel are the two gentlemen(Perry and Daniel) that worked the front desk. They were the most pleasant and polite young men I have ever encountered in the service industry. Keep these guys and keep doing what you do and we will keep coming back!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echelon, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice property in Plano. Went there because we took advantage of a package that included full breakfast and a visit to the Southfork ranch. Where else can you get 24/7 showings of Dallas . Room was very comfortable, clean, and nicely appointed. Staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. Spend the extra $ and stay in JR's suite.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old and outdated and old smell that have been years and years. Need to change and the management do not care of their guests who complain the old and stinky smell. They need to change the management there who care of their guests and get the things that need to be fixed. No way to go back there

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is old and outdated. Kind if reminds me of the Hotel in The Shinning only older. The grounds are just as outdated as the rooms except being outside you get fresh air. This place is extremely depressing.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southfork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southfork Hotel

Address: 1600 North Central Expressway, Plano, TX 75074 (Formerly Harvey Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Plano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plano
#9 Family Hotel in Plano
#12 Business Hotel in Plano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southfork Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southfork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southfork Hotel Plano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southfork Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.