We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel and excellent friendly helpful hotel staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southfork Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southfork Hotel to your Saves list
Southfork Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 North Central Expressway, Plano, TX 75074 (Formerly Harvey Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Plano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LEEDS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel and excellent friendly helpful hotel staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

for 6 years I have always chosen this hotel and will go back next year. Its rooms are fantastic, with incredible comfortable beds along with a first class breakfast buffet- you start each day on top form. Free coffee all day, computer business centre, hot tub swimming pool. But the top three reasons for this hotel been the best are the staff (or call them friends). They are always pleasant, helpful and greet you with a welcoming smile. The hotel is clean modern and elegant and the food is second to none. The concierge service includes free travel within a 5 miles radius and free travel to the Southfork ranch (you must visit). I smile every time I think of the hotel and the brilliant Southfork hotel family- I love that place xxxx

Room Tip: they are all fabulous- I have stayed in several rooms and they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
38
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was looking for a place close to the Plano city center and this was very close, almost within walking distance. Staff was nice and friendly and the check-in process was quick. No problems with the room and no issues the entire time I stayed (5 nights total). Plenty of free parking. Onsite bar and restaurant. I only ate at the restaurant once and that was for the continental breakfast. I also never visited the bar. They are on a very busy highway but I didn't get any noise from the road, my room was way in the back of the building and it was nice and quiet. If I were to visit the Plano area again I would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We weren't expecting much when we called the Southfork looking for a room. We arrived in Plano on a Saturday night - OKU played Texas that day and the Cowboys played the Redskins the next - so almost every hotel in the area was full. The Southfork had rooms - the price was reasonable. The room was good sized and had more personality than your typical hotel room. Free continental breakfast or $4 got you a hot breakfast buffet. Free internet. Very friendly desk clerk. Lots of food options near by. (I recommend the Black-eye Pea in the shopping mall across the freeway.) Although it is in partnership with the famous Southfork Ranch, it is actually several miles away. Not a problem unless you are a huge Dallas fan.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton On Tees
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The best thing that I can say about this hotel is that it has a big free car park, a free shuttle service and a nice pool area. The hotel is situated right next to an interstate and is unusual in the fact that it is only a low building spread out over a large area. This does enable you to get a room away from the interstate noise.
The "south fork" connection was limited to a few photos of the original cast and a silent, sub titled video of the original show above the reception desk. The reception staff were casually dressed middle aged staff who looked as though they would rather be somewhere else.
The breakfast room was manned by staff who could not or did not want to speak English except to bluntly tell us that we must eat from only one corner of the room as we had not ordered a cooked breakfast. The buffet breakfast was very poor indeed with no bread, a toaster that did not work properly and no juice in the dispenser.
The restaurant/bar was a lot more pleasant and the guy who served us was chatty and helpful but we never saw anyone eating in there and so did not try it ourselves.
The photos on the trip advisor site of the rooms astounds me as they are nothing like the rooms we had which were very dour and old fashioned although to be fair very clean. The corridors were long drably painted areas with a new but very old fashioned carpet.
The pool and spa area of the hotel which was outside was the best part of the hotel.
The hotel shuttle service is good and can be used to reach the local metro station where you can catch a train to downtown Dallas. We also used the shuttle to reach a local restaurant called Love and War which is sometimes noisy with a live band but serves good food and has good service.
Finally we used the shuttle to reach the South Fork Ranch which to say the least is a major con as none of the original show was filmed there except for outside shots of the ranch which you can see from the access road anyway. The ranch is situated in a very quiet rural area and can be easily reached by car without staying at this hotel.
There are two restaurants one Brazilian and one Italian within walking distance of the hotel but they were empty and as drab as the hotel. There is also a diner at the end of the hotel car park.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel away from the interstate and insist that it looks like those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we came for a co worker wedding .... the staff was so friendly and nice.... the room was comfortable and very clean... the omelet was awesome... My husband and I are coming back with our family... I have told all my friends to stay here...

Room Tip: rooms on the back of the building are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Amazing hospitality and great food. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Free WiFi but depending where your room was signal becomes weak.
Ground level rooms facing the intersections were particularly noisy. Unfortunately the hotel does not offer a shuttle from the hotel to DFW. If you decide to take a cab it ranges between 65-82 dollars including tip.

Room Tip: Chose the second floor rooms, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was where we stayed for the 1st night of our Texas adventure and it was ok. It doesn't look particularly great from outside and it is right beside the interstate so it was dreadfully noisy outside, however when inside things improved. It is quite well appointed, there is obviously the link to Dallas TV series which they do very well. The rooms are adequate and well sound-proofed. The aircon worked well which was necessary as it was so hot. We ate in the hotel in the evening and it was fine and the breakfast was ok, although I don't like the spread they use, more like whipped cream, very strange but all in all not a bad start to our holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southfork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southfork Hotel

Address: 1600 North Central Expressway, Plano, TX 75074 (Formerly Harvey Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Plano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plano
#9 Family Hotel in Plano
#11 Business Hotel in Plano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southfork Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Southfork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southfork Hotel Plano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southfork Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.