We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lakeside Cottage!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages
Save
You added Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages to your Saves list
12395 FM 556, Pittsburg, TX 75686   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Pittsburg B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful Lakeside Cottage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lakeside Cottage is a favorite for us. We visit Jim & Paula's lovely cottage at least twice a year. When the hustle and bustle of city life becomes too much for us we know exactly where to get some R & R. The two story cottage is absolutely beautiful! It is truly a home away from home. We love to fish and this has been a great place to throw in our lines and catch some bass, bream and crappie. Jim and Paula always go the extra mile for their guests -- and it shows in the way they take care of the smallest details. We have visited lots of lakeside cabins, cottages, and homes in Texas and this is by far the best. We always look forward to our time at Lakeside Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Me and my husband are so grateful we found this little piece of heaven. Paula and Jim are the best. They always make sure we are taken care of. We have now stayed here 5 times, and always in January we pull out the calender and make our reservations for the year. No need to have to go to some big resort, when everything we need is right there at Lone star cattle company. Never a dull moment. Baby goats, chickens, cows,hummingbirds and the fishing is unbelivable. We are avid fishing people, and we have no problem catching fish. There has never been a stay that we have never caught at least 10 bass. This is our favorite place to get away!! Paula and Jim are stuck with us for many years to come!!! Highly recommend for a recommend. A++++++++++

Room Tip: Pine Grove is our favorite, nesstled in the pine trees. We love the nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nestled away on a ranch in a wooded area. Oak Grove Manor is great place to relax and "wine" down. Only minutes away from Los Pinos Vineyard we found ourselves really enjoying our short stay at the Manor. My girlfriend and I stayed in the Sam Houston Suite, which is located on the top level of the manor. The views from on high were incredible and service we received was exceptional. Paula sure can cook! I really want to stress how great of people Jim and Paula are. During our stay some really severe thunderstorms with forecasted hail (large) were due to roll in during the middle of the night. I alerted the Archer's of my concern and within minutes they had moved items around their facility to accommodate for our vehicles safety and our peace of mind. These are the types of people you can really appreciate. Came in as a stranger and left as a friend. What a great experience. Thank you Jim and Paula! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pine Grove Cottage was perfection. It is a quaint, perfectly well maintained vacation rental. The Archers are the best hosts I've ever worked with. We are already making plans to come back. I use VRBO properties all of the time, and after this trip, the Archers and their properties are at the TOP of my vacation rental list. The cleanliness, the hospitality, property charm and overall convenience of the process from beginning to end was bar-none! Nothing about the cabin was second rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Jim and Paula have a beautiful ranch with two B&B rooms in their main house plus two cabins and a treehouse (above the large double garage). We stayed in the Treehouse. It seemed both roomy and cozy. We loved it. Nice view of the main lake. We fished, got a great tour of the ranch and the animals from JIm. The cows were having calfs and we got to see a day old calf. The goats and pigmy goats have fun personalities. Jim and Paula are perfect hosts. We even bought some wonderful free range chicken eggs fresh from their hens. The Ranch is very quiet, restful and absolutely beautiful. No breakfast but we had a kitchen, and there was a gas frill down by the lake. Pittsburg has a Brookshire grocery (great rib eye steaks) and near there is a liquor store with an unexpectedly niceselection of really good wines. The Ranch is not at all hard to find but be sure to take the directions becasue the GPS cannot find the adress.

Room Tip: We loved the treehouse--it is close to the main house but we still felt were were in a private setti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Each year we spend the month of February on the ranch. This year we had the opportunity to stay at the new Lakeside Cottage. It greatly exceeded our expectations with it's spacious living room and kitchen, comfortable beds and all of the facilities of home. It is set in a quiet country setting just steps from the lake full of hungry fish. Being outdoor people we enjoyed walking the scenic trails around the ranch. While touring the trails one can see flocks of bluebirds and cardinals, blue and white herons, deer, otter and beaver. Also on the working ranch are registered cattle, buffalo, miniature horses and a variety of animals to observe and pet. For a change of pace we often go to surrounding small towns for fine casual dining, inexpensive shopping, antiqueing and meeting some warm and welcoming folks. We have found that the real gems of the ranch are the owners Paula and Jim. They do everything to make ones stay comfortable and enjoyable. You might arrive as a stranger but will surely leave as friends. We would not even consider staying anywhere else when Lakeside Cottage has all of these features.

Bonnie and Ed Scottville, Michigan

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at Treehouse earlier this year and fell in love with the peace and quiet along with the beautiful countryside. Great romantic getaway. Wonderful place to rest and relax. The stars are so beautiful at night and we enjoyed going fishing during the day. Jim and Paula make you feel at home. The Treehouse was so cozy and we would spend our evenings and mornings out on the deck. We Enjoyed seeing so many different birds and the opportunity to hike on trails throughout the property.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Treehouse and it was perfect. They have several cottages and they all look quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages

Address: 12395 FM 556, Pittsburg, TX 75686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in the heart of east Texas. Oak Grove Manor offers first class accommodations on a beautiful East Texas acreage. Two large suites, each with private bath are located in the Manor house. A third large efficiency apartment (Treehouse) is located over the detached carriage house. All accommodations feature satellite TV and high speed Internet access. Breakfast is delivered to your suite in the main house at a time of your choosing. Innkeepers will stock your refrigerator or provide fresh farm eggs for a fee for guests at Treehouse. Oak Grove Manor is a wonderful retreat for the weary traveler or for the couple seeking a romantic getaway in the East Texas countryside. Located equidistant to Winnsboro, Gilmer, Quitman and Pittsburg, this property is in close proximity to the best East Texas has to offer. Hiking trails, birdwatching and canoeing are available on the acreage at no additional cost. Fully stocked private lakes throughout the property offer fishing opportunities for both new and seasoned fishermen. Florida bass are a special treat at Oak Grove Lake with the record being a 12 lb bass. Two fully equipped guest houses offer an alternative lodging experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.