We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a couple hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharkarosa Wildlife Ranch

Sharkarosa Wildlife Ranch
11670 Massey Rd, Pilot Point, TX 76258
(940) 686-4600
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good for a couple hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went to Sharkarosa on Sunday 9/15/2013 and got there at 1030 before most people (not that there were allot) and beat the heat. This is a neat little safari place. It had a bunch of Lemurs and a small petting zoo. The black bears had a back story and were entertaining for a few minutes. The safari tram ride was good where as everyone can pet zebras, camels, donkeys and some Clydesdale Horses. They even have a couple of zebra-horse cross breeds. You can see and pet some baby animals as well that they bring out for talks.
I would say the price is a little steep for the 2 hours that we got out of it but they do good work for these animals with some being rescued. The animal feed for $2 at the petting zoo was way too much for the dixie cup size they give you. I know it is for the upkeep but geeze! Put it in the entrance fee than. Just like bag fees, nobody likes that.
All in all nice little visit though. I would say however that we could have done without the guy doing the weird voice while narrating the tram ride. It made things hard to comprehend over the screaming children.
Note that this place is not handicap accessable and the bathroom facilities are port a potties.
They did have good places to sit and eat a sack lunch in the shade. I guess they have a pizza place as well open during public viewing on Saturday and Sunday but we did not try it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“entertainment for children of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I took my daughter age 21 and grandaughter age 7 months and they both rather enjoyed themselves. It is nothing like a zoo. There is a small petting zoo with some sheep, goats, abbits, a camel, and a really fat pig. There is a barrell ride for the children. Adults can ride it too, I went on it and held my grandaughter she was smiling and giggling almost the whole time. There is also a trolley ride where they take you out to the pastures that hold the larger animals. While on the trolley you can pet horses, zebra’s, zorses, donkeys, zonkys, spitting camels, emu’s, a wild boar, and 2 hump camels. They also have some brown bears, a barecat, snakes, kangaroos, lemurs, and a small monkey. You can also get your picture taken holding certain animals. They have a couple of shows where they bring out a particular animal so that they can tell you about them and so that you can get up close and pet them. We got to see a presentation on lemurs, an albino cobra, and a joey.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas (Plano), TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun day with my grandchildren”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed seeing all the animals and also riding on the barrel train, short but fun. We missed the other ride because we were busy seeing the snakes. Next time, we'll do it all. We will also have pizza in the restaurant there. We didn't know they served food, so we ate before we went. A friend told us the pizza is the best pizza around. From the pictures on their website, I thought we would be able to pet the Kangaroo's but they were kind of far in a fenced in area and we were not allowed in to pet them. We visited the gift shop and purchased several souvenirs. They really need to have better A/C in the shop. Over all, it was fun and they also enjoyed the petting zoo area. The employees were very nice and knowledgeable. They need better bathrooms.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not your average zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a great time seeing all of the animals! The kids loved petting the animals. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable. Just make sure that you bring some sunscreen or get some at the on site shop.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“THIS IS NOT A ZOO! But you need to experience it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We read reviews before we went to Sharkarosa, so we were well aware that it wasn't a zoo before we arrived. Had we not understand that before going it would have been a let down. Sharkarosa was not built for families to walk through and see caged animals for miles and miles; it's built to be a rescue shelter for various exotic animals (bears, zebras, zorses (love that one, zebra-horse)).
Attractions like the petting zoo are there to bring the kids in and let them enjoy the environment, but more specifically it's there so people will spend the money to help Sharkarosa continue to exist. After you see how well they care and clearly love the animals you'll hopefully want to spend some money there to help the cause.

Make sure to bring bug spray (they have it onsite for $1.50 in the gift shop) and sunscreen, there are limited places to find full shade. The walk-able area is rather small, so we didn't bring our wagon that we usually tote our 3-year old around in; this worked out just fine since there isn't too much walking. Go to the restroom on your way into town, it's porta-potty only on-site.

Try and get there early before it gets too hot, the animals started to lounge under the closest shade once the sun was all the way up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharkarosa Wildlife Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Sharkarosa Wildlife Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharkarosa Wildlife Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.