We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray Roberts Lake State Park

Ray Roberts Lake State Park
100 PW 4137, Pilot Point, TX 75228
940-686-2148
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Fishing, Hiking, Swimming, Mountain biking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic park great for camping, hiking, swimming and fishing.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I went there earlier today. I was astonished by the beauty of the lake. I liked it. My only tip would be even if it's a little warm out make sure to bring a sweatshirt because when you go near the water the temperature drops about 10 degrees

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    6
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place - very scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went on an extremely chilly morning of january - so cudn't enjoy much - but the li'l v saw of the place, v fell in love - it's a huge park with loads of picnic spots - i am sure very popular during spring n summer. Hope to go there again, this time to venture out in the water :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas/fort worth, tx
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Best State Park in North Central Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Superior State Park! Isle Du Bois has plenty of level RV sites with a variety of camp areas available. For RV's if you want lake views stay at Quail Run, if you want wooded views stay at Deer Ridge. Both are beautiful and have paved hiking trails through them. In winter we prefer Deer Ridge as to be out of the cold wind. We love the paved trails which have plenty of Geocaches nearby. The park is clean, well maintained, has friendly staff, and is our favorite. Plenty of deer watching us at our site and on hikes. The lake is beautiful so bring your water toys in the summer. You won't want to leave.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great camping weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is one of the best (and cleanest) State Parks that I have camped in. We stayed at the Isle du Bois Deer Ridge site. The tent pads are really spacious, and even though this was a busy weekend, we did not feel "on top" of the other campers.
The toilets and showers are very clean and well kept.
We will definitely return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You will love this park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went here with my dogs and had a great time. There are so many trails to walk and we could walk on the beach and do a little running on the sand. I ended my evening walk with a swim and loved watching the sunset while swimming on my back. Of course, the trash will always spoil things but there is much less trash than I have seen at other parks. I would love to see a trash cleanup along the beach. I, for one loved the quiet after 10pm rule. Everyone at this park was very helpful and polite.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray Roberts Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ray Roberts Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray Roberts Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.