We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Another Tex-Mex Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Garcia's Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casa Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
15803 Windermere Dr, Pflugerville, TX 78660
(512) 989-2524
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 94 Restaurants in Pflugerville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pflugerville, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just Another Tex-Mex Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant looks clean and promising but its not authentic :-( They serve the traditional Tex-Mex fare that's available at a million other joints on this side of the border. If you're looking for a clean family cafe type of atmosphere then its pretty good. Just don't expect to find the real flavor of Mexico here.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cold food - bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Was good when it first opened but after about 3 yrs the service turned very bad and often got cold food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Homemade Tortillas and Breakfast All Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I frequent two restaurants in Pflugerville - Casa Garcia's and Tequila Grill. Casa Garcia's is hands down my favorite, particularly for their homemade tortillas that are made fresh in the restaurant. They also serve breakfast all day, and you can order individual tacos instead of a meal (a good alternative for someone looking for a cheap meal). If you want good quality TexMex, this is your spot. However, I wouldn't recommend it for Happy Hour (although they do have a full bar). There isn't a full time bartender here. I'd recommend the green chicken enchiladas, carnitas plate, menudo, caldo, pork in red chile taco, carnitas taco, and breakfast tacos.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in P-Ville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Good salsa, good food. Food is always hot and tasty. They have raised their prices of late, probably because they are always busy - there can be a wait for a table during normal rush periods. Service can be a bit slow at times for the same reasons, but always with a smile. We've tried all the other options in town and they don't compare - if we want Tex Mex and don't feel like driving into Austin, Casa Garcia's is where we go.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Was the best but competition now winning with prices, service, and food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Casa Garcia's used to be my favorite Tex-Mex place here in Pflugerville but due to their prices going up an avg of 25% per plate over the past 2 years it is no longer holding that spot. Both Rio Grande and El Rincon are cheaper and now Rio Grande has much better margaritas and the plates are more generous. I don't feel El Rincon is quite as good as either place but their prices beat the heck out of Casa Garcia's. Me and the wife were going at least once every 2 weeks and now we've just had to move on and even told them their prices were going to steer people elsewhere. But hey, God bless 'em and as long as they stay crowded I'm sure their prices will continue to climb. Thanks for the memories but we're shopping for great Tex-Mex elsewhere and enjoying the changes.

Left same review on yahoo and yelp just to be fair.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Garcia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Pflugerville, TX
 

Been to Casa Garcia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Garcia's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.