We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm reception and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Ethiopia

Taste of Ethiopia
1100 Grand Avenue Pkwy, Ste 100, Pflugerville, TX 78660-2273
512-251-4053
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 93 Restaurants in Pflugerville
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Description: Owner's name is Woinee Mariam. Great owner and great restaurant!
Restaurant details
Description: Owner's name is Woinee Mariam. Great owner and great restaurant!
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Warm reception and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This restaurant is a gem. We had dinner here with our two small children. I couldn't tell you the names of what we ordered because we went on recommendations of the staff. The appetizer was like a cross between an empanada and a samosa and was DELICIOUS. I had their house iced tea based on our waiter's recommendation and it was fantastic. The main courses were served family style, we had a beef dish and a lamb dish served with sides of red lentils, fresh cottage cheese, cabbage, spinach and tomatoes. I had a hard time with the rip and dip concept of eating where you don't use utensils, but a special type of flat bread to pick up your food, but the food was good regardless. My kids both had excellent hamburgers which the waiter expedited because our kids were hungry and antsy they also enjoyed the bread and vegetables that came with our meal. The owner visited all the tables and chatted. My kids found her african style outfit enchanting. When we left, she asked my three year old son if he enjoyed his food and he told her "it was the best meal I ever had" and I'm pretty sure he meant it. We will be back for sure next time we're in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I have eaten here on many occasions, and I am always delighted by the wonderful textures, colors, aromas, variety. and seasonings. This is a gastronomic experience. I am a lacto-ovo vegetarian, and the entire buffet with the exception of one item is all vegetarian. With advance notice, they've also prepare vegan and gluten-free for me. Friendly, family-run operation. Ask to sit in their sun room--it's quiet and perfect for business lunches.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentically delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Great interior with fantastic owners as the staff most the time. I believe their food is even better than Esther's on 1-35. And their lunch buffet for under $10 is worth it - especially if you've never had Ethiopian and you want to try the different dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Recommended by a friend, and worth the detour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

A friend recommended this place, and I'm glad I took the recommendation. The food and service were both very good. I stopped for the mid-day buffet, most everyone else there were clearly regulars, that's a sign of a good and consistent experience. I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Must Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

This place is worth taking a trip. The food is excellent, and if you are not familiar with Ethiopian food or customs, not to worry, the owner is friendly and helpful. Great experience and ambiance.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Ethiopia also viewed

 
Pflugerville, TX
Pflugerville, TX
 

Been to Taste of Ethiopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Ethiopia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.