We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too good...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Swiss Clock Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Swiss Clock Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Swiss Clock Inn
133 South Frontage Road, I-20 West, Pecos, TX 79772   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Pecos
Fontana, California
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not too good...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Ok, first off, I must say that I stayed here over a year ago. I was doing research on Pecos hotels and felt compelled to review this motel. That should give you an idea about the force of the impression that this motel left on me. First off, it is in Pecos. Pecos is not nice. Sure it is about as far as I will drive in one day from El Paso, but it is run down. This motel mirrors the town. It is not horrible, but is certainly not great. It is equivalent to any run-down old motel off the highway that is mostly frequented by truckers. Think "No Country for Old Men" That might not be the case of this motel, but it is equivalent to that image. The motel is just that-a motel. Your door opens to the outside. Given the remoteness of this town, it just doesn't feel really safe at night outside your door, especially given the other motel guest's appearances. You do get breakfast at the restaurant, but the restaurant is old and the quality of the food is only mediocre- at best. I saw a huge bug (just a beetle of some sort) in the place and it just felt a little grimy. It wasn't particularly dirty, but it just had an old grimy feel. The rooms are similar. Mostly just old, but my bed was in disrepair, tilted to one side. Not super clean either, again grimy. Would I stay here again? Not for the prices they charge. I would pay not more than about $60 a night for this place. If you can get it for lower than that, then you should be expecting a place like this. Otherwise, I would avoid it at all costs. It does make you feel like you are in the wild west if you like that kind of a feeling. It makes it plainly obvious that you are in the middle of nowhere-a once booming area, that is quickly becoming a ghost town. My suggestion: stay away unless absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
13
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Stayed here unexpectedly when other plans/destinations fell apart. The room was clean and very comfortable. They gave us coupons for free breakfast, which was way better than most places' continental stuff. The pool and jacuzzi was a neat set up in that the jacuzzi was above the pool.

One negative was that the vending room on our floor did not have a vending machine in it, but there is a convenience store within easy walking distance from the lobby.

The woman monitoring the breakfast area made an appoint to make sure we were satisfied with breakfast, something I thought was genuine and caring.

This hotel has very easy access to and from Interstate 20.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

Staff made me and my family extremely uncomfortable.
Will not stay at this seedy motel for free.
We left without finishing breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

My family and I stayed at the BW in Pecos for one night on our way from Louisiana to New Mexico. I was very impressed with the value for the price I paid ($67 with AARP discount). The clerk at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers TWO clothes washing machines and dryers, and they are FREE to guests! As a mom traveling with two young kids, I'm always on the lookout for good laundry facilities as I always have laundry to do when we travel. The pool was inviting and a relaxing place to sit while the kids swam. The pool is situated in the center of the U-shape of the hotel. Pool is surrounded by beautiful trees, singing birds and soft green grass--a charming little oasis in the dry West Texas desert. A full, hot breakfast is included with the cost of the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, especially families on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

After leaving Carlsbad Caverns, we wanted a place not too far away on the way to San Antonio. Pecos seemed to be a logical spot. This is an older hotel, fairly well maintained, but has not had a make-over in a while. The carpet and furniture were clean but not new and there was a fridge and microwave.
The staff at check-in were friendly and accommodating.
There was a good breakfast buffet in the restaurant, which was included.
There was nothing about this hotel to not recommend it unless you were looking for something new. I don't know if there is anything new as this in the middle of nowhere. For one night as a stopping place between two points, it served it's purpose.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

The weather channel was screaming that 60 mph winds were headed into Reeves county. The weather radio we had was advising that anyone in Reeves county prepare immediately as strong winds, hail and flash flooding were on its way. I called the front desk to check whether we were in Reeves county and the clerk had to ask other people which county we were in. When I told her what the Weather Channel was advising, she told me that they didn't know what they were talking about since it never rained in Pecos. Wow. What a big help. Although the area just south of Reeves county got 4" of rain, the storm weakened by the time it hit us and the weather warnings expired. The clerk had completely blown me off and wasn't any help at all in spite of the fact that the Weather Channel was predicting severe weather. Really disgusting behavior from her.

Maybe the rest of my experience was jaded because of this, but the computer in the business center had blocked cookies so that I couldn't check my yahoo e-mail, the room's carpet was icky and my husband found a dead cockroach belly up in the bathroom. This was not the high point on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Weak points:
- eight-legged two-inches-long pets in the room
- very dirty carpets
- no hairdryer - according to the staff, someone stole it (!)
- pretty pricey

Strong points:
- quite good breakfast

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Swiss Clock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Swiss Clock Inn

Address: 133 South Frontage Road, I-20 West, Pecos, TX 79772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pecos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Pecos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Swiss Clock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swiss Clock Hotel Pecos
Best Western Pecos
Pecos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Swiss Clock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.