We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost Hidden gem of a restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Italian Cafe & Catering

Santa Barbara Italian Cafe & Catering
5012 Broadway St, Pearland, TX 77581-3939
281-485-5676
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 190 Restaurants in Pearland
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“An almost Hidden gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Santa Barbara is, immediately behind the original Carrabba's on Kirby in Houston, my wife's absolutely favorite Italian restaurant. I think it's pretty dern good, myself.

It is sort of hidden, though on the store front the signage is all right and visible, the place is just so small you will probably drive past it before you realize you've done so.

Santa Barbara is a place which will decant your provided bottle of wine and serve with your meal, though they literally have no room for a "wine cellar." They may not have room for a broom closet, but they have the perfect amount of room to make absolutely wonderful italian dishes. Both my wife and I's personal favorite is their lasagna, which is a boring menu choice, I understand, but at Santa Barbara it is probably some of the best, wholesome, feel-good-about-yourself, comfort food you'll find for literally miles around.

It's great! Check it out for yourself.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuero,tx
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara Italian Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Excellent food. Huge portions. We always share and then take some home and my husband eats man size portions. Service is great. Salad comes with meal. Appetizer's are very good. Prices are very economical for the amount of food you receive. You can also bring your own wine!! We loved it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland
1 review
“Best itailian food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This place has best Italian food in Houston. Since we moved to pearland this has been a must every week. You must try it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Across from Perrys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We happened upon this a month ago and have returned many times ourselves and taken friends.
Sometimes the food takes a while but quality is good! Music is sometimes to load for my liking, especially if you want to talk.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The food was very good & good size portions the only problem we had was on the night we were there the A/C was on so high that we ate in our coats
It was cool weather outside so not sure why they had the A/C on
The waiter did not know how to put the heat on
Other than that the food was very tasty

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Italian Cafe & Catering also viewed

Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Santa Barbara Italian Cafe & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Italian Cafe & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.