We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palestine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Palestine to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Palestine
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 East Palestine Ave, Palestine, TX 75801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palestine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is very clean and updated. Everyone we met on the staff was very friendly. They have a pretty darned good breakfast, too!! This is probably the nicest hotel in town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palestine, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We so much appreciate your nice comments. Your stay was what makes us try to host all guests with true East Texas hospitality. I have passed your review on to my staff and they will use it to reinforce the best service possible. Thank you for your time and allowing us to host you. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
11
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travel a lot for work and stay in "nicer" hotels like Westin, Marriott, etc., so I typically take good service as a ticket to entry for a hotel. I was staying there on a family trip, after I got a great deal on Hotwire, and was really just expecting an acceptable place to sleep for one night. But, the rooms were surprisingly nice, the workout room small but pretty well stocked, and - most of all - the staff at the Holiday Inn Palestine was truly exceptional. They actually proactively suggested things to make my stay better, they put my in-laws and my husband and I in adjoining rooms, they kindly offered to heat up the outdoor jacuzzi when we simply mentioned swimming in passing, they came by at breakfast and asked how the meal was, and they spent time chatting with us at check-in. I swear, they hired the nicest people on the planet to work at this hotel.

In addition, the free breakfast was awesome. This was much more than the stale danishes and cold cereal you get at most places. They had eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, hot cinnamon rolls, 3 types of coffee, a variety of pastries and bagels, and........best of all, a pancake machine that my son absolutely LOVED. You press a button on this thing, it plops some batter on a conveyor belt, and serves up a fresh hot pancake in 45 seconds. Very cool for a family stay and fun to watch.

All in all a very good experience for a more budget oriented hotel. Only ding is that their pool is outdoors, which makes it tough to swim this time of year. Otherwise, absolutely stellar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palestine, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. I have shared your comments with my staff and they always respond to a higher level when their actions are praised. we have enjoyed having you as our guest. Please contact us again when you are in the area and let us host your stay. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wills Point
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place to stay - will make this our go to place in Palestine, TX. We came to Palestine with our antique car club and the Holiday Inn Express was our base hotel. The staff were very friendly and made sure all the guest were well taken care of. Rooms were clean and quiet. I felt safe walking around outside - well lighted and the landscaping was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palestine, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review....we are always glad to host great guests like you. My staff and I hope that your stay was the very best possible. We always strive to make every guest as comfortable and pleased as possible. Please come back and let us host your stay. We will offer you true down home East Texas hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a Hotwire reservation across the road at Executive Inn & Suites. The deal with Hotwire is a better price than normal and so I rolled the dice and came up with them. Well on the day of travel I tried calling the Executive Inn and got no answer or voice mail for 4 hrs of attempting to confirm my night. Ended up calling Hotwire and canceled it (they confirmed there was no one answering the phone).
By luck I found this Holiday Inn across the road and booked a room for that night (I got the next to last one and I can see why they are so booked). We arrived about 6PM and drained from the 3 hr. drive of getting there. I was welcomed by a smiling face and a cold bottle of water (off to a good start). We unloaded the car and found a very clean room with a fantastic soft inviting bed (my wife is like Goldie locks and this one was just right). Later, for dinner, the girl at the front desk recommended an Italian restaurant called Giovanni’s (excellent choice and BYOB to boot!).
We had a great sleep (even though I had a head cold), a good hot shower (towels were perfect) and a very good breakfast (included) with above average choices (hot and cold) to eat. The staff at breakfast did a very good job attending to all our needs (way to go girls!) BTW; after seeing what the Executive Inn looked like, Holiday Inn saved me from getting a load of grief from my better half (had we stayed at the first choice). Next time in Palestine this is where I will stay. Good job folks, you exceed my expiation's.
Kevin G. from Frisco, TX.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palestine, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Kevin, What a nice review. Thank you so much. My staff reviews all the comments made concerning a guest's visit and we use it to sharpen our skills and service. You probably did not know it' but our Hotel received the National 2013 TorchBearer Award for Customer Service this month. It is quite prestigious and we are thrilled. It is customers like you that helped us win the award. Thank you so much.! We are pleased your stay was good and hope you will visit us again soon. The Texas State Railroad will have Polar Express again this year and we host the event for lodging and direction. In addition, we host the Dogwood Festival in March and the Great 1836 ChuckWagon Races held locally. Please feel free to come back and visit us soon. There will always be a spot for you. Carroll Sigman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with a large group and had an excellent experience. The level of customer service and genuine friendliness were outstanding. The free breakfast choices were numerous and fresh. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palestine, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
My staff and I enjoyed reading the wonderful comment you have logged concerning your recent stay in Palestine, Texas. We are pleased you were happy. It is our pleasure to show all the true meaning of East Texas Hospitality. Thank you and please do not hesitate to visit us again. Carroll Sigman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is the best in Palestine. I have worked on assignment in Palestine for the past six months. The staff is very friendly. The accommodations are clean. The staff is very helpful and always makes sure that you are taken care of!! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palestine, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. My staff reviews all comments and your words of praise will be well received. Please consider us to be your home away from home and let us know if we can assist you again. We will try to surpass your expectations again! Thank you for your stay. Carroll Sigman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here many times and it is a great place. I would recommend this place to anybody that needs a hotel to stay in Palestine , Texas They have great customer service great rooms and a awesome breakfast.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palestine, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your heartfelt review. We strive to offer the best in east texas hospitality to each guest. Your praise reinforces our belief that we are servicing our guests properly. Please recommend us to all your friends. We look forward to seeing you soon and assisting you in your lodging needs. Thank you again for your praise. Carroll sigman, genetal manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palestine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palestine

Address: 1030 East Palestine Ave, Palestine, TX 75801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Palestine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palestine
#2 Business Hotel in Palestine
#4 Family Hotel in Palestine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palestine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house is your house is a tagline most applicable to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Palestine, a luxurious 62-room hotel rated among the most elite Express brand hotels in North Texas. Set among the beautiful pines and dogwood trees, Palestine is considered the Gateway to Texas. Come enjoy the 1800 historic sites that grace Palestine while staying with us. Our hotel offers modern luxury with impeccable service. Our hotel honors include five Reader s Choice Awards for Best Hotel and Excellent Quality Performer rating for unbeatable guest satisfaction. With an outstanding reputation we offer a fresh, clean and comfortable stay. Come and enjoy our newly renovated contemporary hotel guest rooms, equipped with free high-speed Internet, luxurious beds covered in triple-sheeted bedding and upgraded bathrooms with granite counters. Start your day with our hot complimentary breakfast, keep up your workout routine in our well-equipped fitness center and relax in our outdoor pool, heated whirlpool and brand new sauna. For business travelers we offer the convenience of on-site meetings with our personable meeting room and 24 hour business center. Enjoy our spacious guest king rooms, with in-room work desk, easy chair and high-speed internet for all of your business needs. Treat yourself to one of our spacious Jacuzzi suites. We will show you a new level of sophistication, only found at Holiday Inn Express Palestine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palestine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palestine Hotel Palestine
Holiday Inn Palestine
Palestine Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palestine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.