We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Restaurant - CLOSED

Outrigger Restaurant
515 Commerce St, Palacios, TX 77465-5223
361-972-1479
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The real deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a great dinner at the Outrigger. I recommend the fried shrimp and blackened catfish. Our wait for food was a little lengthy, but we had nowhere else to be (it is Palacious, after all) and it wasn't a major inconvenience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The happening place in Palacios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everyone we met in Palacios recommended the Outrigger for dinner. We had delicious seafood dinner. A group of men who had been out recreationally fishing that day brought in their cleaned catch and had it cooked up for them with the sides. We are not much for cream pies but everyone raves about these pies which the Outrigger has a local pie chief produce for the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a cool restaurant on the Texas coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A charming building in a quiet Texas coastal town..This area of the coast is uncrowded ,but typical of the Texas coast.. The food is very good ; classical Texas seafood : shrimp ,crab ,gumbo,fish.. The service is friendly and prices reasonable.. Beer and wine are served.. there is a neat outdoor area called "little 6th street".. the atmoshere is very relaxing and unhurried..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Texas roadhouse ambience....Texas music....Texas seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Outrigger is a stand-by in Palacios, Texas. They have beer on tap, fresh baked pies, grilled and fried seafood, and bar-b-que sandwiches and burgers, all waiting for you one block from the Palacios seawall. The wait staff is wonderful and you are very likely to meet the owners when you visit. There's often live music, sometimes outside on a small stage, and if the music isn't live, they have a great Texas playlist on the stereo.

All in all, a super place to get away from it all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Tx
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful, still!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant 6 or 7 years ago and thought it was great. We visited again this week to celebrate my birthday and found it just as wonderful! I had fried shrimp and he had fried oysters--both were fresh, wonderful and cooked perfectly. Sides were great as well. We may have to travel from Houston to Palacios much more often! Definitely worth an hour plus drive!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outrigger Restaurant also viewed

Palacios, Texas Gulf Coast
Palacios, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Palacios, Texas Gulf Coast
Palacios, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.