We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice staff tried to enter my room in the middle of the night!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites

Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites
8280 North Expressway 83, Olmito, TX 78575 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Brownsville)   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olmito
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Twice staff tried to enter my room in the middle of the night!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was a loyal customer of this particular LQ location as my 93 year old mom lives in Brownsville and I go visit often. This latest time 8/18/2012, someone (I later found out it was the person at the front desk) tried to enter my room at 2:45 am. Thank goodness I had the top dead bolt latch on! Why would someone try and come in with a key??? The first time this happened, they told me that since I had been originally put in a room and they had to move me because the tub drain was clogged, they "forgot" to note it in the system and they registered the room to someone else, who arrived and tried to barge in after midnight! Ok, a mistake. But last night, according to the Sunday morning desk person, she wasn't sure why "Chris" came up with the key. When I called down at 9:00 for towels (there were none and no soap) I was told that I had to come down to get them! So why would he come back later in the night??? I was a traveling woman alone. This is UNACCEPTABLE and I WILL NOT be going back.

Room Tip: Don't stay there especially if you are a woman alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
3
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A great price hotel chain, they have many locations to chose from, one is near any vacation spot or business location. They have a fantastic rewards program, you'll love staying over and over again. I've stayed at many diffenerent hotels and La Quinta has been my main choice to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We wanted someplace to stay for a night after a 10 hour drive and before going to south padre island. This inn was decent, clean and about 30 min from island. It is better to stay in one of these inns outside the island instead of paying higher price for a 'not so good' hotel on the island.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great time at your hotel! Friendly service!
Only problem: one of the electrical outlets did not work.
But other than the outlet not working the stay was comfortable and the location was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice people here, but the lobby and exterior were enough to relocate. We actually ended up here by central reservations at laquinta. We wanted the LaQuinta in Brownsville--5 miles down the road. The lobby had an odor to it and the fruit on the counter was looking days old.
I agress with Rusty, this is at most a one night stay.

Room Tip: if you want to stay at LaQuinta, check out 5051 N Expressway. We ended up here, rooms are all updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olmito hotels

Austin TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Checked on priceline, hotwire, hotels.com and found this hotel. Went to the front desk and asked for the best price they had and got a $67.50 aarp rate. That was as good as any of the above had.
Checked in and the lady @ the front desk was friendly and helpful. Went to our room and found a spacious and clean room with 12' ceilings. Upkeep and maintenance was pretty standard with little things needing to be done (lots of dings in the paint on the wall behind the chair at the desk). Nice desk area with wired internet access which was easy to connect to and reasonably fast. Room has small microwave and fridge we did not use. Wife took a shower and then it was my turn. Found out we only had one wash cloth. Wife went to front desk and was told that they had no more!!! Apparently lots of things are stolen from the rooms here. (We were actually told that @ checkout!) Next day we had enough wash cloths.
Pool area ok but old and in need of resurfacing of the pool deck. Chairs in need of replacing.
Breakfast not bad. Scrambled eggs, breads, waffles, juice, yogurt, etc.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites

Address: 8280 North Expressway 83, Olmito, TX 78575 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Brownsville)
Location: United States > Texas > Olmito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olmito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites, Formerly La Quinta, conveniently located on North Expressway 83 in Olmito, Texas...just a stone's throw from Brownville, Texas. Minutes from Port of Brownsville, South Padre Island, Brownsville Sports Park, Gladys Porter Zoo, Museums, Bird Sanctuaries, World Class Golf Courses, Hospitals, Shopping and University of Texas Brownsville and Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Olmito
Olmito La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.