We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have spent the extra $100+” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Odessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Odessa to your Saves list
Motel 6 Odessa
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   200 East I-20 Service Road, I-20 at US 385, Exit #116, Odessa, TX 79760   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Odessa
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Should have spent the extra $100+”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was so unhappy that I made the decision for my family to stay here. The area is experiencing some type of boom and so Midland, Odessa, and other surronding areas are charging $180+ for rooms. As a result, I opted to stay at Motel 6, well.....

The Good - They have the "newer" style Motel 6 rooms. They have hooks ups for DVD player, MP3, HDMI, etc. There are plenty of television channels such as HBO and ESPN. They do have newer flat screen televisions.

The Bad - There is NO iron or ironing board in the room. The towels were barely big enough to cover an average size 2 year old. The soap is a JOKE so bring your own bar. The pillows for me were the worst and it made for a terrible nights sleep. The comforter had multiple stains on it and this was true for both of the full size beds in my room. The internet is $2.99/24 hours and is only good on ONE device. If you try using the code on two devices one will get KICKED off immediately. There was no microwave or refrigerator in my room and I thought based on the internet information that there would be one. Lastly, I could hear the person's television in the next room at 7 am.

Finally, this hotel provides the bare minimum, so if you just want to lay your head down for a few hours before getting back on the road then this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Odessa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Travel4worland4fun,
Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the cleanliness issues you experienced with the bedspreads. These conditions are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    8
    4
    21
See reviews for
9
5
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My Stay started off with a piss smelly room, and just got worse from there, I was lied to by General Manager Luis Vargas promising a full refund, did not get, offered me coupons (admitting a problem), I will never stay at a Motel Six again. I would not stay at this motel ever if you are considering it. The only reason I stayed there was because of the oil field boom in this area. prices are outrageous, I was charged 100.00 per night at this Motel six. Talk about price gouging, oh well life goes on and what goes around comes around

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terlingua, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First of all prices in the Midland/Odessa are just completely outrageous. At $80 a night, I didn't expect much but wanted to save the extra $50. The clerk who checks you in is behind what looks to be bullet proof glass. She was very friendly, though, and gave me helpful information and directions.

On the way to our room I noticed some seedy looking guys just sitting there in their truck, staring out the window. After we got settled and went out to dinner about 45 minutes later they were still sitting in the truck. The room was recently remodeled with fresh paint, new linens, and decorations. It looked nice enough but the beds are hard as a rock!! I thought I was sleeping on a box spring. My kids and husband both complained about how hard the beds were too. None of us got much sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Rito, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The motel itself is fine. No problems. Clean, quiet, comfortable. Better than the average M6, but because the oil patch is booming, many workers have to stay anywhere they can find a roof. That has enabled every motel owner in Midland/Odessa and surrounding towns to raise their rates sky-high. Nothing you can do about it if you have to stay in the area, but if you can, drive on further to get out of the boom area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, TX
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Odessa/Midland was our stopping point during a drive home from our 10 day Las Vegas and Scottsdale AZ vacation. After reviewing hotels on Trip Advisors mobile app I couldn't believe what I was reading --- hotels/motels below $100/night were extremely limited to two choices. For a road trip stopover hotel stay we rarely spend over $100/night. Our 4 star hotels in Las Vegas and Scottsdale had cost us only $63/night. So this was a shock to find such expensive hotel choices in Odessa (not your loveliest town in Texas). We think our gas prices are higher due to all the oil and gas companies doing business in Odessa/Midland are having to pay such high nightly rates at these hotels/motels. You know, oil boom town atmosphere jacks up the hotel nightly rates.

We finally chose the Motel 6 and asked for a room as far away from the freeway as possible (which we got from the friendly receptionist). However, the freeway noise heard within the room was horrible. Our room was extremely small. It was clean-ish though. The door looked as if someone had tried to take a crowbar to get into the room. Bed was very uncomfortable. ANd we were irked by the light switch for the bathroom shower/toilet area automatically turned on the noisy fan. Lastly, there was no shower curtain liner which meant the "fancy" outside shower curtain couldn't hold in the water meaning we had a drenched bathroom floor. Hoo boy - we were so glad when daylight arrived so we could get on down the road. And all this for just a mere $87/night.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard, Texas
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Brought my whole company to Odessa for a 6 day business trip. This was the only hotel I could find for under $100 a night. It is bare bones but not bad. Maybe we got all of the updated rooms but they are not bad this trip. Seems like they have some new paint, flooring, TVs and a few other things in our rooms.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys, ca
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Besides the friendly front office person, this was a horrible experience. The room smelled, the toilet was dirty ( the whole bathroom for that matter), and questionable stains on the bed. Filthy all around. I spent five minutes total in that room, called around and got another room at another hotel. I would suggest staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Odessa

Address: 200 East I-20 Service Road, I-20 at US 385, Exit #116, Odessa, TX 79760
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Odessa 1.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 - Odessa Hotel Odessa
Motel Six Odessa
Odessa Motel Six
Odessa Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Odessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.