We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Odessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Odessa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Odessa
5275 East 42nd Street, Odessa, TX 79762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Odessa
Midland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So so Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Ok HI but prices are extremely high. Staff were nice but not overly friendly. Not a fan of the location but would stay here again. One of the cleaner hotels in this area. The city is extremely busy due to the oil industry so good clean hotels are few and far between...

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Righand85,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive comments on our hotel staff and the level of cleanliness. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I am sorry that our location did not live up to your expectations. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
5
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've stayed at this motel for years (when we can get into Holiday Inn Express), but have never eaten there. My husband ate breakfast there the first morning... Said it wasn't good, but that they has pancakes that "looked good"... So we have it another chance. Dumb idea! The pancakes were hard and awful... Couldn't eat the eggs, meat was cool... Just go and stay for the rooms, not the food!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had to travel to the Odessa area and stay for a week on business. My coworker who had been to the area advised me of the bad service and long waits basically every where you went. That is why I chose to stay at the full service Holiday Inn. They have an on site restaurant and lounge. The restaurant was convenient, especially after a long day of work. Easy access to lounge, restaurant and room service. The bartender at the hotel was kind enough to place a special order of wine for me which made my stay even more enjoyable.

I did go out for dinner down the street and had to wait an hour to be seated. Not worth the wait especially when the hotel restaurant offers surprisingly good steak dinners minus the wait and crowds.

Over all the staff was friendly and the hotel was very clean and had a feeling of comfort. I had everything I needed for my stay and did not encounter any problems during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia432, Manager at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our hand cut steaks at our in house Heritage Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back often. Please visit us on Yelp! as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my first business trip out to Odessa. Having heard about how much the "oilfield boom" had impacted the market, I was prepared -- or so I thought -- to be gouged. So long story short, what would normally be a $100-$119 per night room was a $245 per night room. No joke!

The facility is clean and relatively new. Its located right next to a dealership and has great access to the following all within a 5 minute drive: Walmart, McDonald's, Twin Peaks, shopping mall, Buffalo Wild Wings, Subway, golf course and so on. There is NO complimentary breakfast in the morning though they do have coffee readily available.

There is a restaurant in the lobby. Tried it out one evening. Ordered the fried zucchini but was served what seemed like overly battered, overly salted fried portobella mushrooms. The chicken caesar salad was not bad. Pricing was a little higher than average but in line with the market.

So if you're traveling through for work or vacation, be prepared to spend a good bit to stay here. The location is nice and convenient but pricing a bit hard to swallow.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 238 was in the very corner facing a wide open field. The walls are a bit thin, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia432, Manager at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As a full service Holiday Inn, we are proud to offer you a full restaurant and lounge open for breakfast and dinner every day of the week. Unfortunately, we do not offer a complimentary breakfast as at the Holiday Inn Express Hotels, however, we do feature room service for both breakfast and dinner with the convenience of a door hanger you can fill out the night before and leave on the outside of your door and we will deliver your breakfast right on time, just the way you want it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our chicken Caesar salad at our in house Heritage Restaurant and we will definitely work to improve the hand made batter for our zucchini stix, please let me know when you return and we will give you a new order of zucchini stix at no charge, just let us know how we're doing! We welcome the opportunity to give you legendary service. We hope to welcome you back often. Please visit us our Heritage Restaurant on Yelp! as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

If this hotel was in Austin, I'd give it a 1. But it's in Odessa and if you've ever been in this area, you didn't go for great sites or service. It's oil trash central (including myself). So that being said, its clean; the staff tries hard; it has full service; a bar; and good location.
Is staff rough around edges? Yes, but that's the area. They do try harder than other hotels. You'll pay as much as a the Bellagio each night but once again, its the area. All of Midland/Odessa gouge their customers, not just Hilton. (The gouging is so bad it should be illegal). But, you pay it cause you need shelter
This hotel is the tallest midget in the circus

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I visited the Odessa Holiday in during March 2013. It's a brand-new facility -- one of about a dozen new hotels going up in the twin cities -- and one would have expected a tiny bit more from the Holiday Inn system. So we end up with a hotel that's OK, but not great, and really could have been much better.

From the street, the building is handsome and modern, easily seen from the highway. BUT -- there's a trick -- you can't get to the hotel from the exit. Use the exit BEFORE the hotel, right in front of the Best Buy store. From there you can scoot right into the hotel parking lot. Otherwise, you have to pick your way through a gas station and car dealership to get back to the hotel. Interestingly, most of the guests are Halliburton oil workers, but they were all very friendly and polite dispite their huge sizes.

Inside, the hotel is clean and tidy. The rooms are good sized but filled with too much furniture. There's a nice bench for holding your luggage, plus a fridge and a microwave. The air conditioning was powerful but VERY noisy, so we turned it off most of the time. The exterior lighting on the hotel is extremely bright and on all night (talk about your carbon footprint!) so we had to close the curtains to get some sleep. Not my favorite arrangement.,

The bar opens late and closes early. The kitchen is understaffed so service is irregular. The food is an interesting mix: the portions are generous but not terribly tasty. The selections of wine are poor. One of the elevators broke while I was there, leading to LLOOOONGGGG waits and hikes up the stairs. **sigh** They should have bought American Otis elevators, not stuff from Europe.

Most interestingly, the shower curtain in our room was too short, and flipped outside the tub, allowing water to accumulate on the floor. Come on, Mr. Hilton -- you can do better than that!

So all in all, it's OK, but nothing special to bring you back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear PilotMike2009,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you and for falling short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were just passing through from NM to San Antonio, TX. Only stayed the one night. Hotel was clean, easy check in/out process, down the road from ihop etc, good sized car park. A bit expensive for what you get but thats due to location/lack of competition. Would have been better if they provided a complentary breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Samserena;

Thank you for your considerate review. It is great to hear you found our hotel nice and decent. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Thank you again for staying with us, and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Odessa

Address: 5275 East 42nd Street, Odessa, TX 79762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Full-Service Odessa, Texas Hotel Visitors to the newest hotel in Odessa, Holiday Inn Hotel Odessa enjoy our convenient location and easy access to Odessa's businesses and attractions. Corporate guests appreciate lodging in our Odessa hotel because of our premiere location. The University of Texas Permian Basin is just across the street. Major companies like Halliburton, Weatherford, Diamondback and the Center of Transportation Services are only a short drive away. In addition, our Odessa hotel's complimentary shuttle service can take you to nearby Midland International Airport (MAF). We know what business travelers need and we have free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and meeting space that handle groups up to 250. Leisure travelers love our Odessa hotel's location too. The Music City Mall, with its indoor ice rink and movie theater, is just one mile from our hotel. We're close to the Presidential Museum & Leadership Library, the childhood home of George W. Bush and the Odessa Meteor Crater. The Globe Theatre is only five miles away. Guests lodging in our Odessa hotel can enjoy our many full-service amenities. There is a sparkling, outdoor pool, spa and a well-equipped, 24-hour fitness center. Dine in our restaurant with a menu featuring West Texas favorites or relax with a drink in our lounge. On your next visit to the Permian Basin, enjoy our great Odessa hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Odessa Hotel Odessa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Odessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.