We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel in Odessa area(for now)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites
750 John Ben Shepperd Parkway, Odessa, TX 79761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Odessa
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in Odessa area(for now)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've stayed at a number of hotels in the area and have started asking my work travel agency to book me here every time. There are a few newer hotels recently opened in Midland I can't speak for, but this one is head and shoulders above most of the properties I've stayed in oil country. New, clean, good service, modern feel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodOdessa, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review about our property and your stay. We know there are many hotels to choose from when traveling to this area and we sincerely appreciate you choosing ours. Our number one priority is our guest satisfaction, and we are thrilled to hear your stay was as such. Again, thank you for your comments and feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very clean and spacious! Super friendly staff! The lady who checked us in gave me a free box of laundry detergent! I wish I could remember her name...she also put up with my three eager to get drunk buddies as we waited in the lobby for the cab that she called us. I'd go back in a heartbeat....if it weren't in Odessa. That place is crap!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodOdessa, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. We appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently impress our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Candlewood Suites in Odessa, Tx is amazing. They have the most amazing staff and the hotel is in prime location. Right on one of our main streets. For Thanksgiving they had food catered for their guest! How awesome and giving is that!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodOdessa, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you kindly for the positive feedback! Our number one priority is our guest satisfaction, and we are thrilled to hear your stay was as such. We strive to make every guest feel at home, and are glad that you enjoyed the Thanksgiving meal. We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Candlewood Suites Odessa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I along with our 2 small children came to Odessa for a funeral. We made our arrangements well in advance and paid extra for a smooth stay. We drove 500+ miles from Houston. Upon check in, all was fine and the staff as well as the manager went out of their way to help. We were confident that all arrangements were good and we finally attempted to get some sleep after the long trip. Much to our amazement and disappointment we were woken up @ 7:30am with a call from the desk. The lady (Claudia) on the other end of the phone was extremely rude and stated over and over that we had to be out and that the room was already rented (keep in mind checkout is 11am). We advised her of our arrangement with the manager and she acted as if we had made an invalid arrangement. After getting tired of hearing my wife arguing with this excuse for an employee I finally said, "I have a receipt, would you like me to bring it to you", she quickly said, "oh, sorry". and hung up. It is unbelievable and unacceptable to me that she did not call her manager to double check the arrangements rather than disturb paying customers in town for a funeral that had very very little sleep. If your a serious business person or in town for a funeral, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodOdessa, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us; it is through such candid feedback that we are able to improve our service. We have taken note of your valuable comments, and will share this with our team members in an effort to improve guest satisfaction. Please accept our condolences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although a little off the beaten path, in a soon-to-be thriving area, between Business 20 and I-20, it's still convenient to Hooters and Twin Peaks, and many other venues as well. The suites are well-planned and very nicely appointed. The accoutrements are nice as well, although skin lotion would be appreciated. Although there's no hotel kitchen, thus no complimentary breakfast or week-day "Manager's Reception", this hotel is far and above most others in the area. If you are lucky enough to check in when Sheena is behind the desk, you are indeed fortunate. She's as professional and cheery as can be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodOdessa, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and thank you for your business here at the Candlewood Suites. We're always looking for ways to identify star employees on our team and will share your positive review with Sheena. We assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and have since put skin lotion in our cupboard. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed with my stay. Everytime I called the manager I was told a different price. I spoke with a young gal, Christian I think her name is, was rude and very unhelpful. She told me a different rate everytime I talked to her and seemed to not even care. I spent over 300 dollars for a room that wasn't even worth 100 dollars. The staff was so unfriendly, my room smelt like a sewer and I was unable to change rooms. I will never stay at any Candlewood Suites ever again, and I do not recommend anyone else to either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodOdessa, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We apologize for not being able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our guest satisfaction. Your review will be shared with our staff to ensure these experiences are avoided in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

When my husband experienced an emergency and needed a room quickly, the front desk went out of their way to promptly assist. The room and facilities were all perfect, and it appears to be brand new!

Great hotel and staff!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodOdessa, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Our staff pride themselves on providing excellent service and will appreciate to hear your comment. Thank you from all of us here at the Candlewood Suites Odessa. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Address: 750 John Ben Shepperd Parkway, Odessa, TX 79761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is designed just for you. We are located at the intersection of JBS Parkway and I-20, just minutes from downtown Odessa and all local attractions. Candlewood Suites offers fully furnished suites that make you feel at home. Complete your stay with the 24 hour fitness center, candlewood cupboard, and complimentary internet. You will feel right at home at Candlewood Suites Odessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.