We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, then okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carino's Italian-Odessa

Carino's Italian-Odessa
5111 East 42nd Street, Odessa, TX 79762
4323624426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 200 Restaurants in Odessa
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Special occasions
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Odessa, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, then okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I ate their twice. The first time, the food was perfect, and the service was just okay.

The second time there was a different cook and the food was just okay. The service was good but the food was real slow to come out. My food seemed as if it was sitting for a while and my wife's food tasted rushed. So it seems that they the kitchen was a little out of sync.

The manager was great, he immediately jumped into action, recooked my wife's food. He then covered her dinner, which I did not feel was necessary since he remade it for us. So great customer service and food. I definitely recommend this place.
No restaurant is perfect, but they obviously cared about taking care of their customers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Service, Not Too Long a Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Shorter wait time here than at many of the sit-down restaurants in town. And the food and drinks are always good. Great kids menu selections, as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
“cold reheated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Cold reheated lasagna, wedge salad was good, service was ok. I could overhear the girl talking about me as she had me on hold, I think she was annoyed by me- unprofessional and I wasn't even making any special changes to my order etc.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Crazy Busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We won't eat dinner here again -- maybe would try lunch. My family traveled to Odessa to see relatives and the four of us chose this restaurant on a Thursday night. They were crazy busy. Our female server was juggling three huge tables and ours and wasn't able to refill tea or get us our food quickly. We probably sat there eating bread for nearly an hour before it was served. While it was lukewarm but tasty, my daughter's pizza had to be completely recooked because it had sat (somewhere) for a very long time. And we had to ask for everything. There should be waiters pouring water and tea throughout the evening when the place is so busy. But maybe it's like this all the time? We got our table about 6:00, so we had planned to eat early. It all lasted longer than we had hoped.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is gross. Every time I go I order something different and I have not liked anything, Why do I keep going?? I don't know I've been there like 5 times and don't plan to return and give this place anymore chances. People that love this place are people that are just used to small city Odessa food. They obviously have not experienced good cuisines. Olive garden is better than this place but if you want Italian food in Odessa better off going to Zuccis Italian Tavern, better vibe and food. Zuccis has a homemade feel. The over all look at Carinos is a typical Italian chain place. Desserts look like they were previously frozen etc, nothing home made. The only thing I liked was the cream sodas but I can make those myself at home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carino's Italian-Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carino's Italian-Odessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.