We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice - quiet and close to any jumping off point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5321 John Ben Shepperd Parkway, Odessa, TX 79762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Odessa
Humble, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Nice - quiet and close to any jumping off point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is just off of JBS Parkway - so its close to any business you have. Quiet and very clean(new) hotel with friendly staff. I never had any issues with traffic while leaving out during weekday mornings.
I will be back

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor (elevator side) have very handy access to the pariing lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
7
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were on a bus trip with a tour company and this was our last stop home. What a nice place with friendly people. Our room was very nice and the bathroom had a walk in shower like we have at home. After all the tubs without even a grab handle, we thought we hit pay dirt. I needed to wash some clothes and they have a washer and dryer there. Can buy a box of detergent at the front desk. This was one of the best hotels on our trip. Would highly recommend it and it has a wonderful breakfast included.

Room Tip: Go to the Barn Door restaurant if you have transportation. They had great prime rib and good count...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuttle, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I checked in. I was road weary. The staff was amazing to say the least. I do not think Webster's has created a word to describe my experience. I will sum it up in one term, superstar. Thanks guys, this is truly a family away from home. I would like to recognize Val (AGM), Marie (the newest team member), Jennifer (housekeeping expert), Tabitha (housekeeping extraordinaire), and John-boy (the GM). I would like to extend my thanks to you guys.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor. To be honest there is no specific room to ask for. The place is immaculate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I loved this hotel!! Best hotel in Odessa - decent gym, very clean, confortable beds. Would stay here again for sure. Very friendly staff! Book early - this hotel fills up quickly!! I didn't eat the breakfast but heard it was good. You wont regret staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel rooms in the Midland/Odessa area are crazy expensive! So I took a chance and won a bid on the "Name Your Price" option on Priceline. However, the fine print basically says you win a room, but any particular room request has to be handled by hotel on day of check in. So I called this HIE around noon on our day of check in to request 2 queen room since my wife and I were traveling with our son. I spoke with 2 different people, one of whom was a manager/supervisor and since we were assigned a king room (no sofa bed), it would be an additional charge for a 2 queen bed room. The manager told me she would see if they had any unclaimed 2 queen rooms at check in otherwise the 3 of us would have to share the king bed. Huh?!?!! I hung up.

Later the same evening, we go lost trying to find the hotel. (On a VERY important side note, DO NOT trust your GPS to find hotel. Look for the Honda Dealership if Odessa, since hotel is right next door. Getting lost getting to this hotel is apparently VERY common.). Anyway, we call and speak to Terri who gave us accurate and precise directions to hotel. When we arrived (11pm), she met us with a smile, bottles of water, and quickly changed our rooms to 2 queen beds.

I would give this hotel all 5s except for lack of help/concern by mid-day employees with our room request. Also, the price of hotels in this area are just unreal right now. The HIE Internet price was no higher than competition, but it's just unreasonable.

We were in town for a family funeral. By time we got to hotel at 11pm, we were exhausted. And we had a 6am flight the next morning! Our attitudes were bad too, but if just a few minutes with Terri, and her helpfulness and smile, and our rotten day finished on a high note. If we ever need a hotel in this area, the Holiday Inn Express will be the FIRST place we look!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stay in hotels a lot for work. This is a typical Holiday Inn Express. Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, nice location. Booked rooms for a group. Good government rate. However, don't bother asking for an upgrade. Platinum member since 1998. In the past....it was a plus to get an upgrade when checking in. Lately, none of the properties are willing to give an upgrade...this location was no different. Was told I would not get an upgrade at the rate I was paying. May be time to check out Hilton or Marriott.....they still give upgrades.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived at the Holiday inn in Odessa at about 4pm on Saturday 13th April to be greeted by a very cheery reception guy who did all he could to ensure we were looked after. We were given a very nice room on the third floor in a very clean and well maintained facility. We were directed to a restaurant nearby for the evening meal and breakfast was as with most Holiday inns very good buffet. The only things that let it down from a perfect score were the fact that the internet was not working correctly either at night or first thing in the morning, the night problem was corrected but the early morning one was not. The outdoor pool and spa were dirty possibly related to the less than hot weather. Also when booking the hotel it showed a $20 per person surcharge which was removed when we arrived. However the charge for one night on a weekend was over $200 with tax which rates as one of the highest charges I have ever encountered at a Holiday Inn Express which as a platinum club member and ICH shareholder was somewhat surprising.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor no noise and a very good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa

Address: 5321 John Ben Shepperd Parkway, Odessa, TX 79762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEW Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Odessa, Texas. Odessa is a vibrant, energetic city in West Texas where the sky, literally, is the only limit. It is a dynamic city that boasts fresh air, awe-inspiring sunsets and the friendliest people you ll ever find. A visit to Odessa can put you in the audience of a Shakespearean play at the Globe Theatre, in the cockpit of a World War II fighter, or in the United States premier museum dedicated to the Presidency. Odessa was the setting for both the national best-selling book and feature film Friday Night Lights. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure there is plenty to keep you entertained during your time here. Visit other places such as the Music City Mall, Stonehenge at UTPB, and the Sandhill Rodeo. They are located within 5 miles of the hotel. Our business partners such as Conoco Phillips, Chevron, Halliburton, and the Odessa Regional Medical Center are located within a 7 mile radius. Make it a working vacation and bring the family to experience the Stay Real service culture at the best hotel in Odessa, Texas. Don t forget to Stay Smart and Eat Smart with our complimentary hot breakfast and enjoy a robust cup off coffee anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Odessa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.