We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost perfect stay let down by a couple of things.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5321 John Ben Shepperd Parkway, Odessa, TX 79762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Odessa
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“An almost perfect stay let down by a couple of things.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived at the Holiday inn in Odessa at about 4pm on Saturday 13th April to be greeted by a very cheery reception guy who did all he could to ensure we were looked after. We were given a very nice room on the third floor in a very clean and well maintained facility. We were directed to a restaurant nearby for the evening meal and breakfast was as with most Holiday inns very good buffet. The only things that let it down from a perfect score were the fact that the internet was not working correctly either at night or first thing in the morning, the night problem was corrected but the early morning one was not. The outdoor pool and spa were dirty possibly related to the less than hot weather. Also when booking the hotel it showed a $20 per person surcharge which was removed when we arrived. However the charge for one night on a weekend was over $200 with tax which rates as one of the highest charges I have ever encountered at a Holiday Inn Express which as a platinum club member and ICH shareholder was somewhat surprising.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor no noise and a very good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
7
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First off, the hotel is new, clean, and very well decorated in modern, dark decor. The clerk that checked us in and greeted us in the afternoons was fantastic. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked both days. The location was simple to find. However, our group encountered a large problem at checkout. The clerk refused to give us receipts for our rooms (I was with 3 colleagues). Puzzled, I had never encountered this. I enquired why and got a strange answer to the effect of "I can't give receipts to those that book through travel agencies." This was entirely new to me. It was early and I was not in the mood to argue with a clerk. I quickly replied that I'd just view my receipt online via my Priority Club profile. I added in a quip about staying in many hotels booked by the company travel agent and NEVER having this problem. My colleagues weren't so reserved and later called the manager of the property to complain. The manager apologized and emailed us our receipts saying this was not hotel policy to not give receipts.

I received a nearly $300/night receipt, which was shocking, and then I learned the hotel's rates are dictated by the oil industry in the region. So, if you have to stay in Odessa and you're not connected to the oil industry - good luck. It's rare to get rooms available in a block and you'll pay a premium for them. Otherwise, it's a nice property...and I'm guessing you'll now have no issues getting your receipt!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for a week - very friendly staff - rooms clean and comfortable. The place is very pricey due to the supply n demand in the Odessa area - 300 bucks a night.....other than that we really enjoyed our stay and would return. The hotel Manager was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn Express. I came down with a flu bug mid-week, while working, and stayed in my room for about 28 straight hours. Staff are very personable and friendly. I would recommend to anyone who can plan their trip several weeks in advance, because that's what it takes to get a room here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Tx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel has great friendly staff all around. I was especially pleased with the staff working the breakfast area in the mornings. Rooms were very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. I will definitely stay here again in the future if available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Check-in was easy thanks to John the hotel manager. The rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was good and filling. Will stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

great location great staff - the staff actually double checked to make sure I had everything I needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa

Address: 5321 John Ben Shepperd Parkway, Odessa, TX 79762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEW Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Odessa, Texas. Odessa is a vibrant, energetic city in West Texas where the sky, literally, is the only limit. It is a dynamic city that boasts fresh air, awe-inspiring sunsets and the friendliest people you ll ever find. A visit to Odessa can put you in the audience of a Shakespearean play at the Globe Theatre, in the cockpit of a World War II fighter, or in the United States premier museum dedicated to the Presidency. Odessa was the setting for both the national best-selling book and feature film Friday Night Lights. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure there is plenty to keep you entertained during your time here. Visit other places such as the Music City Mall, Stonehenge at UTPB, and the Sandhill Rodeo. They are located within 5 miles of the hotel. Our business partners such as Conoco Phillips, Chevron, Halliburton, and the Odessa Regional Medical Center are located within a 7 mile radius. Make it a working vacation and bring the family to experience the Stay Real service culture at the best hotel in Odessa, Texas. Don t forget to Stay Smart and Eat Smart with our complimentary hot breakfast and enjoy a robust cup off coffee anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Odessa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.