We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisted with Many Improvements!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Faust Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Faust Hotel
240 South Seguin Avenue, New Braunfels, TX 78130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in New Braunfels
Austin, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Revisted with Many Improvements!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

In a prior review, I rated the Faust Hotel 4/5 overall. This time around, this place gets a 5/5!

Since this was our second stay, we decided to opt for the King Size room (at $89 for a night, we thought we'd try it out). As before, we placed a phone reservation and check-in was a breeze. Since we had been there before, the desk clerk probably thought we knew the ins and outs of the hotel (well, we stayed there a little over a year ago anyway). The only downside we found was that we would have liked some kind of brochure or book in the room itself displaying the check-out time (we thought it was noon, but it is 11:00am).

Anyway, we stayed in a recently renovated King Size room on the 2nd floor. It was very nice and clean and had both modern and antique touches. It looked like the bathroom had newer fixtures and the linens throughout were almost brand-new. There was a TV armoire (the full size room had the TV on the desk), and it was a bit more modern- but it was flanked by two antique chairs and old photos from a bygone era. The best thing was the bed, by far. We were enveloped in both a pillowtop mattress and a lovely duvet.

We went on a night when we were one of many two couples staying in the entire hotel- so noise was never an issue. It was a nice, quiet getaway over the longer holiday weekend.

Yes, the elevator is a little slow and yes, the hallways have a slightly creepy feeling to them- but once you get to your room, it is a wonderful bliss.

We have decided we will probably travel here about once a month or once every other month. The location is great in downtown New Braunfels and the staff is very friendly. Even the man who knocked on our door to inform us that we missed the checkout time was friendly when we came downstairs. I think what they're doing at the hotel to improve their reputation is stellar!

So if you're looking to stay in a room much like a modern hotel, opt for the King Size (which has a "full size" bathroom with tub). If size is not a concern, pick the Full/Queen Size (which has a shower stall instead of a tub). Either way, I don't think you'll be disappointed if you enjoy old historic hotels.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    14
    13
    8
See reviews for
12
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Not generic or isolated...this hotel is the real New Braunfels. The bar is a popular watering hole for residents and there are local music gatherings there. Staff is knowledgeable. Also, I lost an item while I was there and they went the extra mile and found it. Very impressed!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The location and the hotel itself are great: 1920 style, beautiful lobby.

But for the price we paid ($100) we got an extreme small room with the tiniest queen bed we ever saw and a 'bathroom' that was not bigger than a normal restroom. Sink, toilet and shower all packed together, it felt claustrofobic. The room was filled up with a large closet, we even had no room to place our suitcases.

The next morning the breakfast was lousy: some milk, come cereal and a sweet donut. And the usual tea and coffee. The toaster was there, but no bread or bagels. The eggboiler was there, but no eggs. The rechaud was there, but nothing warm available.

When we checked out, the woman behind the counter did not have a look at us, as she was too busy talking to the people who were fixing the lights in the lobby. They had already taken our money, so apparantley we were no longer 'important' to them anymore.

Sad experience over all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We were there for a business meeting at the beautiful Sophienburg Museum but took a day to enjoy Gruene & a float down the Guadalupe (or what is left of it, the water is pretty low). Our group consists of museum professionals, so we all appreciate history and historical settings.
The Faust was a pleasant surprise. It is located in the heart of downtown, across the street from the oldest and most famous bakery in Texas and a few minutes walk to Landa Park. We had read that the 2nd & 4th floor are haunted so we given a room on the 2nd floor.
The hotel has undergone some re-modeling and the small rooms were quite cozy, they had small step up bathrooms (hey, most hotels of the era still had communal bathrooms so these reviewers should stop complaining). People who appreciate historical properties understand the fact that the rooms are tiny in comparison to the chain places along the freeway.
Our room was nice and chilly considering it was over 100 degrees outside and there was a window unit to make sure of that. Our room was very quiet even though we were near the elevator and stairwell. The bed was super comfortable and the furnishings were of period. I love the old photos on the wall in ornate frames.
For dinner try the Huisache Grill within walking distance, it is the best restaurant in new Braunfels in a historic building. Great wine list and atmosphere. A trip to New Braunfels is not complete without a stop at the New Braunfels Smokehouse. Try the smoked turkey and smoked bacon salad besides all the wonderful meats & German breads.
One note of interest:We did not see the turn of the century man walk into the elevator as the story goes but I woke in the middle of the night with the distinct feeling that someone had walked by my bed (even though my better half was fast asleep next to me)...my colleague had left the bathroom light on in her room in case she had to get up in the middle of the night, she was surprised that the light was turned off some time during the night and she insists she did not touch it.
Living or Dead...apparently there are plenty of fans of this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi Tx.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

After reading negative reviews about The Faust, I was a little nervous about our weekend stay. However we were pleasantly surprised, it was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were clean and the queen bed was comfortable. Sure the room was small, but it is a historic site and we had no problems with noise or any so called rude employees. They offer a light breakfast which was plenty for us. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Wanted to like this place, but didn't get to stay. Made a reservation for a Saturday in July. Cute building, looked forward to visiting the on site brewpub. Checked into my room at 3 pm. It had a strong smell of mildew, and I soon discovered that the carpeting next to the bed was soaked. Upon investigation, the ice machine in the adjacent room had leaked. The desk manager (Joel) feigned sympathy but said the hotel was booked. His only suggestion was that we stay in the room after housekeeping staff vaccums the mess. But the mildew smell was nauseating and that was an impossibility. Although many other guests had not yet arrived, we were turned away. No offer to pick up the phone to call a booking service, or even to suggest lodging elsewhere. Fortunately I live only 45 miles away so was able to return home. The next huge hassle was getting a refund (I had prepaid using an online agent). Many calls, including to a rude manager named John, who tried to cast doubt on our story. The owner, Robert Abbey, was equally unresponsive. Nobody ever returned a call; the onus was always on me to pursue this. It was not until I enlisted the help of the booking agent that they finally issued a refund.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

We had our wedding here in March and the experience was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and well-run ceremony and dinner. The staff was very nice and helpful - Doug, the wedding coordinator, was especially great. The banquet room and lobby are beautiful and have an old fashioned, vintage atmosphere.

We stayed one night at the hotel. I didn't think that the room or bathroom was unusually small as some of the other reviewers have noted. The hotel is old fashioned and very charming. People should come to the hotel knowing that they will be staying in a unique atmosphere that replicates earlier times. It's design is not modern and that's one of the reasons why I loved it. The hotel also has a bar with it's own brewery. I didn't try the beer but my husband loved it.

The downtown plaza and gazebo are just a block away. In the morning we walked down the street to the Red Rooster Cafe for a really delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Faust Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Faust Hotel

Address: 240 South Seguin Avenue, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since coming under new ownership in July 2009, there has been a great deal of effort put towards restoring The Faust Hotel & Brewing Company to its original luxury and grandeur. The project has been extensive and is still in progress, but many changes and upgrades can be found throughout the entire property. Our newly redesigned guest suites feature 1920's Art Deco design while incorporating modern amenities including:Wireless Internet, Flat Screen Televisions, Refrigerators, Microwaves, Keurig Coffee Makers, Brita Pitchers. In addition to our guest suites, we have a variety of accommodations to suit your needs including rooms with 1 or 2 double beds, queen and king size beds. The brew pub has something to please everyone in your party: Flat screen TVs, darts, live music, trivia and the comforting surroundings of a classic brauhaus. The Faust Brewing Company now features an array of house brews, including Faust Golden Ale, Altered States German Altbier and Mike Crowe IPA, as well as a variety of seasonal favorites. Leading the production is Ray Mitteldorf, a professional brew master with 17 years experience. For a complete experience, the pub has recently launched its new tapas-style menu, created by Chef Chris Kilisz. His exclusive menu features items specifically designed for sharing and pairing with the pub’s own microbrews: their signature dish, the Faust Wellington, Mini Dogs topped with sauerkraut, sautéed bell peppers and onions and spicy mustard, and German Nachos, to name a few. Just as the pub isn’t limited to beer (there’s liquor and wine, too), the menu isn’t limited to German-inspired options: it boasts a broad spectrum of international cuisine with dishes such as the Croque Monsieur, Souvlaki Skewers, Proscuitto Caprese Bruschetta, and Cochanitas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faust Hotel New Braunfels
Faust New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Faust Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Faust Hotel to your Saves list