We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Faust Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Faust Hotel
Save
You added The Faust Hotel to your Saves list
240 South Seguin Avenue, New Braunfels, TX 78130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Belton, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very quaint !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night for Wurstfest. I loved this hotel. Yes, it is old, 1929, but found the lobby, rest and bar very nice. Our room was nice. Small with period furnishings, bed was very comfortable. Bathroom very clean. Front desk gals were so nice. Can sit outside in front of hotel and have a beer. Very close to everything. We walked to Landa Park. Best bakery across the street !! Would love to stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    15
    14
    8
See reviews for
14
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sivakasi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of the best places I stayed in the US. Old, heritage hotel. If you are a travel freak, and would like to know how a hotel would have looked like in the 1950s, you should stay in this place. Right from the entrance gate, as you open, the bell rings to alert the person in the reception. Old lift, old stairs, and old rooms. But all maintained well. It's located right in the middle of the downtown. As u get out of the hotel, on the pavement are tables and chairs, for the guests to spend some time sipping a coffee, or to chill out watching the street, just like how it used to be in those days. The breakfast was good. I loved the freshly baked biscuits with boiled eggs. The hotel also has a bar where they serve beer brewed in-house. Overall, a memorable stay. Will sure recommend. Will sure come back if I get a chance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice hotel in downtown New Braunfels. Close to many good restaurants and bakeries. Good location to walk around town. There is a weekend market held a block away from the hotel that provides a nice distraction from the many sport bars and antique shops. The hotel is in a historic building that has kpt its character. The roms ar ample and very well kept. Staff was very helpful durin our week stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

OK so the hotel is old we all know that, but geeze it's time to spend some money on the place! There are no amenities, no pool, and from walking in the front door you sense the age of this place. We were told it had recently been "renovated" but where? Maybe a FEW rooms? I spent a little time in the bar and it was dowdy looking to say the least, and the reception staff looked bored and like they did not want to be there.
I can think of better places for the same price in New Braunfels where we would have been more comfortable. I guess this place makes it's $'s from the bar because that seemed to stay busy.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here some months back and felt this hotel had a very old air about it. I was first drawn to it because it has its own micro-brewery in the bar/ restaurant. It is a 1920's hotel, so some amenities are excusable. But it still looked and felt like the 1920's. I'm one of those people that when staying in an old hotel I want the feeling of the time period. Like it just opened in that time not been worn down since that time. The Faust does a great job at doing this. The food was spectacular. I had the feta and watermelon salad. Don't let the name fool ya. It came in half a hollowed out watermelon, great presentation. My girlfriend had the pulled pork tacos with candied jalapenos. This was worth the trip alone. We could not stop talking about it the whole 200 mile car trip home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Although a much older hotel, the pictures on the websites lead one to believe the rooms are vibrant and newly furnished. We walked into the double bed suite: a drab and dreary room that felt about the size of a broom closet. The halls lacked air conditioning and a fresh scent. I felt as though I walked straight into The Shining as we walked the dim corridors. The website also says the hotel is within walking distance of Schliterbahn- yeah, if you want to walk at least 5 miles. Some people may find this hotel to be elegantly old fashion, but I found it a huge disappointment. We refused to stay and left to find a better, more modern hotel that actually IS within walking distance of Schliterbahn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

on a whim we went to Schlitterbahn for a few days, needed lodging for one night and these folks accommodated us. things you need to know...there is not a brewery, they have great beer though so not to worry. rooms are tiny but that's not a complaint. I really liked it, thought it was rather cozy. beds were incredible, I slept so good. huge deep bathtub that my son enjoyed.
the lobby is gorgeous, you just sort of feel swept back in time. on the down side the breakfast in the morning was prettypathetic. I hate to say anything negative especially since the rate was.not insane but being as cool as it is it would be wise to invest in a waffle maker. otherwise love love love it, will come back soon just plan to go next door for breakfast:-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Faust Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Faust Hotel

Address: 240 South Seguin Avenue, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since coming under new ownership in July 2009, there has been a great deal of effort put towards restoring The Faust Hotel & Brewing Company to its original luxury and grandeur. The project has been extensive and is still in progress, but many changes and upgrades can be found throughout the entire property. Our newly redesigned guest suites feature 1920's Art Deco design while incorporating modern amenities including:Wireless Internet, Flat Screen Televisions, Refrigerators, Microwaves, Keurig Coffee Makers, Brita Pitchers. In addition to our guest suites, we have a variety of accommodations to suit your needs including rooms with 1 or 2 double beds, queen and king size beds. The brew pub has something to please everyone in your party: Flat screen TVs, darts, live music, trivia and the comforting surroundings of a classic brauhaus. The Faust Brewing Company now features an array of house brews, including Faust Golden Ale, Altered States German Altbier and Mike Crowe IPA, as well as a variety of seasonal favorites. Leading the production is Ray Mitteldorf, a professional brew master with 17 years experience. For a complete experience, the pub has recently launched its new tapas-style menu, created by Chef Chris Kilisz. His exclusive menu features items specifically designed for sharing and pairing with the pub’s own microbrews: their signature dish, the Faust Wellington, Mini Dogs topped with sauerkraut, sautéed bell peppers and onions and spicy mustard, and German Nachos, to name a few. Just as the pub isn’t limited to beer (there’s liquor and wine, too), the menu isn’t limited to German-inspired options: it boasts a broad spectrum of international cuisine with dishes such as the Croque Monsieur, Souvlaki Skewers, Proscuitto Caprese Bruschetta, and Cochanitas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faust Hotel New Braunfels
Faust New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Faust Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.