We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bakery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naegelin's Bakery

Naegelin's Bakery
129 S Seguin Ave, New Braunfels, TX 78130-5130
830-625-5722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Oldest bakery inTexas and one of the best too. My favorite things are the mini sausage bites and the sandtart cookies. They also make fresh tortillas. You will want one of everything! We went for breakfast and then returned after floating the Comal to get some desserts.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    40
    23
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Historic bakery still a hit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I remember being taken to this bakery when I was a little girl and it's a tradition that has been in our family for generations. Was thrilled to see it still there with the old menu favorites still available and with some delightful new additions. Definitely worth a quick trip by. They do have a drive thru as well for convenience. Get there early - it can get packed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Busy, but worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stopped in on out way to Schlitterbahn and the line was literally out the door! We patiently waited our turn to make it to the counter. With so many choices it was hard to decide. So I went with some fruit filled kolaches and molasses cookies. Kolaches were great there but the ones I took home didn't taste as good. Warming them up in a microwave made them a little doughy and soggy. Next time we'll just eat them there! Great experience and not too pricey!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
“Best kolaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I have been getting kolaches and other yummy baked goods from Naegelin's since I was a kid and it is worth a stop! Get the apricot- so yummy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Delicious Pasteries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were staying at Canyon Lake and friends said we had to try this bakery. It is the oldest bakery in Texas. We arrived at the bakery about 3:30 PM and the counter was still filled with delicious baked goods - which was a good thing as people kept coming through the door the entire time we were there. We bought 3 strudels (Apple, peach and cherry), a cheese pocket and a bear claw. We did not eat them until one and two days later. They were still fresh and the pastry was flakey. Hubby loved the cream cheese pocket and my favorite was the apple strudel.
To heat them up, I folded a piece of parchment paper in half on a cookie sheet; then placed the pastries inside the parchment paper and in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes. Crisped the pastry right up!
We'll be back whenever we're in the area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naegelin's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Naegelin's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naegelin's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.