We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German Bakery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naegelin's Bakery

Naegelin's Bakery
129 S Seguin Ave, New Braunfels, TX 78130-5130
830-625-5722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Pflugerville, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good German Bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We bought Cinimon Rolls and cookies. They were just as we expected..EXCELLENT! In the past we have also purchased bread which was very close to what we ate in Germany when I was working there

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    40
    23
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Generic and nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the worst bakery ever! If you've ever worked in the food industry it's obvious that some of the things sold here are not made here, but ordered frozen from somewhere else then heated up and served. The pies look terrible! Sooooooooooooo bad! I got a piece of strudel. filling was from a bucket probably the dough too, also got a cinn bun. Food coloring much?!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Looking for German Pretzels...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Well, so much for European style bakery. The pastries were pretty much tasteless and not what we were expecting from a "German Bakery." The pasteries were also pricey. We found better pastries at the New City Bakery down San Antonio. These were crusty and contained ample filling and required a napkin to eat them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Drive thru sugar rush!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is also one of my "must visit" places in New Braunfels, especially if you have a sweet tooth! I prefer the donuts and sweet rolls, but the choices are almost endless. Stop by and peruse the case of baked goods and go home a happy camper! Or if you are in a hurry - there is a drive thru!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very tasty piece of history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The fare was outstanding, and the mural on the building next door told the story of New Braunfels. A great place to get pastries for breakfast or just to satisfy a sweet tooth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naegelin's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Naegelin's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naegelin's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.