We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for German Pretzels...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Naegelin's Bakery

Naegelin's Bakery
129 S Seguin Ave, New Braunfels, TX 78130-5130
830-625-5722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Looking for German Pretzels...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Well, so much for European style bakery. The pastries were pretty much tasteless and not what we were expecting from a "German Bakery." The pasteries were also pricey. We found better pastries at the New City Bakery down San Antonio. These were crusty and contained ample filling and required a napkin to eat them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    40
    23
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Drive thru sugar rush!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is also one of my "must visit" places in New Braunfels, especially if you have a sweet tooth! I prefer the donuts and sweet rolls, but the choices are almost endless. Stop by and peruse the case of baked goods and go home a happy camper! Or if you are in a hurry - there is a drive thru!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very tasty piece of history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The fare was outstanding, and the mural on the building next door told the story of New Braunfels. A great place to get pastries for breakfast or just to satisfy a sweet tooth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummie!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

on the last day of our vacation, we made a point to stop by Naegelin's Bakery. The line was long I was impressed at how many people were their.. We bought several items for our trip home and yummie yummie..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historic Bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Worth a stop to eat some German bake goods. Lots of strudels and pasty filled with fruit. They have fresh coffee and tables outside to sit and people watch while you eat the goodies!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naegelin's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Naegelin's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naegelin's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.