We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and Danville Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and Danville Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and Danville Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast
1620 Hueco Springs Loop Rd., New Braunfels, TX 78132   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friend and I arrived as part of a ladies weekend getaway. It feels as if you are way out in the country- quiet and peaceful, but actually are only a few minutes away from town. We were greeted by the hosts, walked around and shown various interesting tidbits, plus the location of all the choices of Blue Bell ice cream! We stayed in the School house which was so fun- nostalgic w/ the chalkboard still on the wall! The breakfast was so delicious and many yummy items to choose from! We couldn't have asked for a better time at this b&b. Also, enjoyed rocking on the porch in the mornings! I would definitely choose this b&b again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Gruene and thank you trip advisor users for helping us find this gem! The location is quietly tucked in the middle of nowhere (perfect for fresh air, quiet, and star gazing!) and there is so much history to the schoolhouse and home, it was like sleeping in a museum! Upon arrival Darell gave us a walk through the property and escorted us to our West room. There was more than enough space for two and the room had all the amenities one would need. The common area in the main house was comfy with a nice big fireplace (perfect for our rainy weekend!), great amenities (games, drinks, movies, ice cream!), and their cats were so friendly! Breakfast the next day was very enjoyable. Typical American breakfast foods were served with some if the best salsa I have ever tasted! The best part of breakfast was being able to speak to Mrs. Waldrip about various topics from house pieces to her trips to Mexico. Darell, Mrs. Waldrip, and their cats really made this a weekend to remember and I highly recommend Kuebler-Waldrip to anyone looking for real Texas hospitality and atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Margy Waldrip and her son Darrell personify the warm hearted, gracious hospitality that Texas would like to claim as its trademark. Others have written of the delicious and generous breakfasts, the open ice cream and golden toffee bar (Margy will freely share her prize-winning recipe with any one who wishes it), and the incredibly friendly cats -- even for those of us who are 'dog people.' I'd like to emphasize what a stress-free, welcoming atmosphere Margy, Darrell, Tony, and their staff create. My extended family of nine stayed in the Schoolhouse for six days to celebrate my mother's 91st birthday. It felt like being at "home." If we'd wished, there were facilities for cooking. We preferred exploring the many restaurants in the area, returning to lounge and talk on the large porch surrounding the Schoolhouse. For a relaxing, quiet, welcoming place to stay, the Kuebler Waldrip Haus cannot be surpassed.

Room Tip: The Schoolhouse, separate from the main house, is an excellent choice for family or friends, supplyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this historic B & B while visiting friends in San Antonio. Margy and her son were perfect hosts....the breakfasts, served family style, were delicious and plentiful...eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, muffins, cinnamon buns, fruit, etc. Every morning was something different with lots of choices for picky eaters like us. We stayed in the downstairs room in the main house...it was large and very comfortable. Every night there was conversation in the great room with Margy and other guests in front of the large TV, while eating ice cream, cookies, and taffey. We loved the cats, especially Socks and Buddy, who spent some time in our room. Maybe cat-haters should stay in the schoolhouse, or upstairs rooms, but we enjoyed their company. Would recommend this B & B to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went on a girls trip to New Braunfels from 6/29-7/1 and had an amazing time! By chance we ended up at the Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and I am SO glad we did! There were 3 of us staying at the Haus and they put us up in the Gilbeau room. It was perfect for us with a queen sized bed and a twin. The room was so spaceous! The bathroom had two sinks and the toilet/shower/bath were in a separate room. Darrell was kind enough to wait up for our arrival at 10p on Friday night, and they did not charge us for coming in late (I was shocked and grateful!). He kindly helped us with our luggage and got us all settled in. We went down to the common room to make a few cocktails (we brought our own) and to our surprise there was a mini wine bar set up as well as all of the Blue Bell icecream anyone could want to eat. Even though the main house was full, we really felt like we were the only ones there (until breakfast, that is). I cannot say enough good things about our stay. The breakfast...don't even get me started! It was all homemade goodness. We didn't eat lunch because of how full we were. Table service, and all. I was also VERY impressed with the cleanliness of our room and the house itself. Spick and span! Mrs. Waldrip chatted us up and breakfast and was so warm and inviting. You can really tell that people are her passion and this little place is her slice of heaven.

LOCATION: We wanted to go into Gruene and not have to drive far to get back to the Haus and it was just the best, you're right in the middle of everything, without being right SMACK dab in the middle of it. 7 minutes to Gruene, 15 minutes into downtown New Braunfels. It was perfect.

Again, I cannot stress how much we enjoyed our stay! Can't wait to take my husband!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our family of six (kids ages 9-15) enjoyed our two night stay at this friendly & welcoming B&B, in Katherine's Attic. Our room was a spacious rustic loft with two king beds and a twin, plus a private modern bathroom and small kitchenette and large balcony that we shared with another room. We were in the main house, with easy access to the common area which had a well-stocked kitchen with all sorts of drinks, blue bell ice cream, homemade cookies, delicious homemade almond toffee, and other snacks. There was a TV with a DVD & VHS player and a modest family-friendly library to choose a movie from (which we did the 1st night). Breakfast is family style, starting at 9am on weekends. Both days were awesome. One of my daughters said it was the best hotel breakfast she'd ever eaten (I would definitely place it in our top 5). First day we had pork tamales, with optional homemade salsa, cream cheese mini-muffins that melted in your mouth, sopapillas with local jam and/or honey, sliced ham, egg & cheese quiche, and fresh berries. Second day was baked cheesy sliced potatoes, scrambled eggs, amazing toasted bread from a local bakery (Naeglins?), bacon, pancakes, and baked cinnamon apples with blueberries. A selection of cold cereals is also offered, plus OJ, coffee, and teas. Darryl & his mom are very friendly & helpful. Our room was nicely decorated with old-fashioned quilts that complemented the wooden beams, but our bathroom was modern. It was nice to have two sinks in our unit. Our unit was very quiet and comfortable for sleeping at night. We will stay here again the next time we visit the New Braunfels area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We came for our honeymoon and again 7 years later for our anniversary. Mrs. Waldrip and her son Darryl who live there and run the property are so sweet, so gracious. Breakfast is a heapin' helpin' of Texas down-home. We stayed in the main house when we went first and then in the schoolhouse the second time. The Schoolhouse experience was surreal. You are sleeping literally in a classroom/bedroom. Kind of like a dream you might have had in high school.

Not a ton to do in the area, but if you are looking for a several day get-away from Austin or Houston to be alone with your special one (or by yourself), You'll really enjoy this place. Good tubing on the river there, rodeo, and big TX style live music saloon that seems to be hopping every night in the middle of nowhere down a dirt road from the Waldrip House.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and Danville Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and Danville Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1620 Hueco Springs Loop Rd., New Braunfels, TX 78132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn into the property and passing the white fence entrance, guests are greeted by open spaces and Texas forest, some wildlife and resident pets, and then enter the Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast. Established in 1987, guests can relax on 43 acres just 4-6 minutes to Historic Gruene & New Braunfels and only 30-45 minutes to San Antonio and Austin, Texas. Enjoy staying in our popular bed and breakfast established in 1987. Total number of rooms are 10 separate rooms (8 rooms, 1 2-room suite, and 1 cottage) in three luxuriously restored buildings. Total number of guests range from 22-33 and we do welcome families. Children welcome from 0-100. In 1974, Margy and Larry Waldrip and their three sons, Dibrell, Darrell and David bought and moved to the property once owned by a french wine merchant, Francois Guilbeau. The main house was built in 1847 and was owned by Andreas and Katherine Pape of Hanover, Germany until 1900. The second family was Willie and Olga Kraft and children, and they owned the property from 1900 until 1974 when the Waldrip family purchased the property. The main house has been lovingly restored and added to. Our buildings include: The Waldrip Haus, an original 1847 German rock house; The Danville Schoolhouse, an original 1863 one-room schoolhouse; or Deer Haven, a new cottage/cabin fully furnished with 3 bedrooms. Some rooms can sleep 2 while others can sleep 2-5 guests. HISTORIC KUEBLER WALDRIP HAUS BUILDING was built in 1847 and has approx. 5,000 Sq. Ft. It is a German pioneer limestone and hand-hewn timber log home that was built by Andreas and Katherine Pape of Hanover, Germany. It now has 5 separate bedrooms each with a private bath. HISTORIC DANVILLE SCHOOLHOUSE BUILDING was built in 1863 and has approx. 2,500 Sq. Ft. It is an original Texas schoolhouse, named for Texas Ranger Daniel Murchison, was moved to our ranch from Solms in Comal County in 1990. It has now been restored with the original hardwood floors, chalk board with stage, and now the covered porches have been converted into 2 additional bedrooms. It now has 5 separate bedrooms and 5 private baths. DEER HAVEN COTTAGE BUILDING is approx. 1,000 Sq. Ft. And is a cozy 3 bedroom cottage with tile floors, a jacuzzi bath, living room, and kitchen, and sleeps 2-6 guests. PRESS referrals include be featured in the Houston Chronicle, Texas Monthly book Texas Bed and Breakfast by Ann Ruff, The Great Stays of Texas (HHAT), 52 Texas Weekends, and now recently, the Texas Hill Country Magazine, "House of history" (summer 2010). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and Danville Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and Danville Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.