We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gruene River Outpost Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gruene River Outpost Lodge to your Saves list
Gruene River Outpost Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1273 River Terrace, New Braunfels, TX 78130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We were going to stay July 2nd through July 5th. We checked out after 1 night due to all the following: the room was a sauna when we arrived (don't enter bathroom you would've had a heat stroke), there are old style box tv's with mostly Spanish channels, the photos online are NOT what it really looks like. We decided to try to make the best of it and then we found the real problems. The toilet is not level, so it makes a thump when you get up because it falls, the mattress is probably 20yrs old and creaks, groans, and is broken in the middle, and is extremely uncomfortable(we didn't get any sleep), the wifi doesn't work(it continuously disconnects), there is only 1 grill for 16 rooms, the a/c was so clogged it took 3hrs for the room to cool down(we had to peel the ac cover off in order to even feel cold air and we had to cover the windows), trains run at 4am, 5:45am, and 6:30am. If you stay in either of the 2 cabins by the office there is an extremely steep hill all the way down to the river, so 8 months pregnant, it took me 15 minutes to climb the hill to get back to my room. I would've swam in the pool but it was green and closed. The BUSIEST time for swimming it was slimy and closed. We will NEVER come back. The checkin girl was polite.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    6
    8
    28
See reviews for
32
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory Creek, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved the location, but the place needs lots of work. Management makes no effort to maintain the place. Over grown weeds everywhere. Rooms that don't match the photos. Poor access to the river only because they don't even try keeps the weeds down No kitchen supplies in the room. For the prices, there are much better options around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriends all stayed at the Gruene River Outpost for my bachelorette party weekend in May 2011. I wanted to float the river, cook out, and swim with my favorite gals getting our tan on. Relaxing and a good time is what I wanted and that's what we got!! This is not a fancy place, but it is not a dump either. We stayed in the duplexes that faced the river and it was perfect for us. Each duplex had a set of bunk beds and a fold out futon in the living room with a full kitchen. There is a separate bedroom that has a queen size bed I believe and one bathroom with an extra vanity outside the bathroom. We had picnic tables right outside our lodge which was great when we cooked hot dogs and played washers. There is a sand volleyball court that we did not participate in, because we were busy hanging out in the pool. The pool was a great size and it had a slide which was a lot of fun with our group. The coolest part about our river trip is that they have a tube rental on site and they take you to your starting point on a bus and then you get out at the Gruene River Outpost!!! We never had to drive anywhere. Like I said, this isn't the fanciest place, but it's clean, fun, and perfect for a river floating getaway!!
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask.
Enjoy your stay!! :)

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here Oct 26-28th. It was not bad. The worst part was the beds were so loud when you moved on the mattress.They were not that uncomfortable but they made alot of noise. The bathtub could use some clean grout. The gounds were fun, We started a fire in the fire pit one night. The girl at the front desk when we checked in was not all that friendly. But our stay was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were put in a room where all the rooms were being re-done - so all the others were boarded up. Ours was dirty and off by ourselves - not safe feeling at all - the check in 5/15/12 the lady was rude and not helpful at all - the check out the young lady was very nice and very helpful. We moved to a nicer motel up the road (even though our bike was being repaired across the street at the Harley Shop)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Overpriced and nasty! We just stayed during the Labor Day weekend and it was horrible. Dirty, dingy, buggy, saggy bed, tipsy toilet , employees loitering and smoking outside of our room while on their breaks, etc. Good thing I drank alot of beer while floating the river that enabled me to sleep through this nightmare. Do not fall for their flashy website and emphasis on location. It's not worth it!

Room Tip: Room 115 sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you don't plan on getting into the water...I'd give this place a 3.5. The rooms were clean. Not fancy. (But don't expect any coffee pots or other amenities). The pool was "okay". BUT....the water in the river was awful. You know the Green "hairy" stuff (algae? Plant?) It was out of control. The water came up to my ribs...the green "sweater" came up to my hips. I can't explan how bad it was. To top it off, we had come to the river just one week before and stayed at a place about a mile down the road. That place did not have the same problems. I think we were a bit spoiled being that we had just stayed down the road...and had access to canoes, paddle boats, a bigger pool, etc. for the same price. I hate giving a bad review. The staff was so nice. But I can honestly say I will never go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gruene River Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Outpost Lodge

Address: 1273 River Terrace, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Hotel Class:2 star — Gruene River Outpost Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Gruene River Outpost Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Outpost Hotel New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruene River Outpost Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.