We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT BAD FOR THE PRICE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gruene River Outpost Lodge

Save Saved
You added Gruene River Outpost Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gruene River Outpost Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1273 River Terrace, New Braunfels, TX 78130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in New Braunfels
tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“NOT BAD FOR THE PRICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here Oct 26-28th. It was not bad. The worst part was the beds were so loud when you moved on the mattress.They were not that uncomfortable but they made alot of noise. The bathtub could use some clean grout. The gounds were fun, We started a fire in the fire pit one night. The girl at the front desk when we checked in was not all that friendly. But our stay was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    6
    8
    25
See reviews for
29
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were put in a room where all the rooms were being re-done - so all the others were boarded up. Ours was dirty and off by ourselves - not safe feeling at all - the check in 5/15/12 the lady was rude and not helpful at all - the check out the young lady was very nice and very helpful. We moved to a nicer motel up the road (even though our bike was being repaired across the street at the Harley Shop)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Overpriced and nasty! We just stayed during the Labor Day weekend and it was horrible. Dirty, dingy, buggy, saggy bed, tipsy toilet , employees loitering and smoking outside of our room while on their breaks, etc. Good thing I drank alot of beer while floating the river that enabled me to sleep through this nightmare. Do not fall for their flashy website and emphasis on location. It's not worth it!

Room Tip: Room 115 sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you don't plan on getting into the water...I'd give this place a 3.5. The rooms were clean. Not fancy. (But don't expect any coffee pots or other amenities). The pool was "okay". BUT....the water in the river was awful. You know the Green "hairy" stuff (algae? Plant?) It was out of control. The water came up to my ribs...the green "sweater" came up to my hips. I can't explan how bad it was. To top it off, we had come to the river just one week before and stayed at a place about a mile down the road. That place did not have the same problems. I think we were a bit spoiled being that we had just stayed down the road...and had access to canoes, paddle boats, a bigger pool, etc. for the same price. I hate giving a bad review. The staff was so nice. But I can honestly say I will never go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Management was nice, helpful and courteous. Location on the river provides great relaxation. Beds and housing wasn't great but okay for a place to flop after tubing and touring Gruene. A good time can definitely be had. Rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The folks there are nice enough, but the room we had really sucked for sleeping. They have only cheap blinds on the windows, and a bright light just outside the door that keeps the room lit all night. In addition, the beds and sheets are super cheap and uncomfortable - not even up to Motel 6 standards. The room was clean, though. The kitchen has absolutely nothing, so bring whatever you may need.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here for a family reunion, and we probably had about half of the rooms occupied along with reserving and using the club house the entire weekend. The location is PERFECT - I've been coming to New Braunfels and Gruene for more than 20 years, and have never stayed in a more perfect location. The grounds were beautifully maintained and very clean. The cabin layout and the room set-ups are perfect for large gatherings with family and friends. I stayed in a room that slept 8 people, and there was plenty of space. My two boys (5 and 3 years old) absolutely loved the pool; it has a fun, little water slide that's safe for little ones and still fun for the older kids. The service was excellent. I had several questions and requests leading up to my stay, and the staff was always helpful and accommodating. During our stay, the staff made every effort to help me and my boys have a great time, along with the rest of our family.

There is lots of feedback on the rooms, so here's mine -- some of the rooms are outdated; and some have been remodeled. The remodeled rooms were very nice. I got to see quite a few because so many of my relatives were staying there. My room was very outdated, albeit very clean, and I felt a little anxious about it when I first got there. However, I quickly realized they were perfect for a stay on the river! In New Braunfels, you're outside the entire time (or you should be!), and you'll usually come back wet and in need of a change from being on the river/Schlitterbahn/pool/etc. So, it was actually perfect for what we needed, and for anyone who doesn't plan on spending a lot of time in their room. If you're thinking of staying here, but not sure because of the feedback on the rooms, then I would just request to be in one of the remodeled rooms.

Overall -- beautiful place, perfect location, wonderful service, and lots of fun. I would definitely recommend this place for a family/friends trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gruene River Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Outpost Lodge

Address: 1273 River Terrace, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gruene River Outpost Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Gruene River Outpost Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Outpost Hotel New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruene River Outpost Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.