We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hideout on the Horseshoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hideout on the Horseshoe to your Saves list
Hideout on the Horseshoe
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   515 FM2673, New Braunfels, TX 78133   |  
Hotel amenities
blueoctober22
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We just returned from a three-night stay at the Hideout on the Horseshoe (July 5th-7th). We found out about the Hideout from some friends who were going to see Blue October at the Whitewater Amphitheater that same weekend and we said we were there. It was us and two other couples and we stayed in a three-bedroom cabin, I believe it was number 5 (I cannot remember the name of it). The cabin was great, there were three beds, two were rooms and one was in a den area. My wife and I picked the den area (to me this is the best one because you have a bathroom right next to you).

We all decided to go to the Saturday show of Blue October. Before the show, the hideout had a bbq meal for us on the pavilion. The food was EXCELLENT and there was enough for everyone.

After we ate, the Hideout had a shuttle to take us to the show. The show was great, and there was a shuttle there to pick us up afterwards.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there, we could not float the river because it was too high.

The staff was great and very helpful. I would like to thank Jessica and Amanda for helping us with everything.

*****If you go and see a show at the amphitheater get a table, they are the best seats in the house****

  • Liked — I liked the staff, the room, the dinner on Saturday night, the music venue,
  • Disliked — Not many places to go out to eat that are close by, if you bring your own food to grill or microwave you will be fine
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    13
    14
    11
See reviews for
44
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hils, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

We just got back from a two night stay at Hideout on the Horseshoe. We decided on a loft at Horshshoe because we were told it would be very private since there were only 2 other cabins occupied at that time: yet they put us in the loft next to the youth group with 8 teenaged boys! Why? The boys were not rowdy or loud, but there was no privacy because everyone shares the same deck. Each cabin has a grill and a table but everyone's stuff is 10 feet away from the neighbors. If your neighbors are smokers (ours were) their smoke is only a few feet away!

The kitchen is totally inadequate. We grilled the first night. We brought our own plates, silverware, and detergent, but the clean up was difficult because the sink in the kitchen is a bathroom sink--ie no disposal. Yet there is a full sized refrigerator...?

Our biggest complaint was our toilet stopped up the first night after hours and they would not respond to our phone calls. We had to use a 16 oz solo cup the rest of the night! (Mind you we paid almost $600 for these two nights!) In the morning, we went to the office to tell them what happened. They gave my husband a plunger, and never apologized for the inconvenience or showed any concern that our phone call was not returned. I wrote a letter of complaint when I got home and their response was we should have continued to use the toilet even though it was stopped up! That problem did not warrant an after hours phone call. Again, no apology.

They need to work on their customer service skills if they want any repeat business. They view is beautiful as are the grounds, but this is touted as a "luxury resort" where the guests are pampered....I did not feel pampered when I was using my solo cup at 11PM!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff did not address problems
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

Nice place, but expensive.
We loved our stay at the hideout , the view, the room and all- except the price. It was fairly new when we stayed there. There was a BBQ one night for all the guest. We stayed there with our kids during a bachelor and bachlorette party.... it was loud. There is a shared patio that requires you to fight for the BBQ pit. Our neighbors were quite pleasant. There is not a stove here either. So bring a portable electric pan or a waffle maker as we did and enjoyed some home cookin. The bayou view is really nice and it was quite scenic to say the least. Keep a close eye on the kids to see what the attraction is. Overall, we were please. The stairs in our room were VERY steep! So be careful. Close to the outlet shopping- at least drivable.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

The Hideout on the Horseshoe is a beautiful facility but if you want to stay there, spend the money for one of the stand alone cabins since the one bedroom or loft units are less than luxurious!

My husband and I just returned from a 4 day/3 night getaway at the Hideout on the Horseshoe, a brand new resort on the Guadalupe River just below Canyon Lake. We took advantage of an online special and booked what is called a "luxury" one bedroom unit because it seemed to have the amenities we wanted - two places to sleep, a kitchenette, a nice deck overlooking the river, and a fireplace since this was a winter trip. Money wasn't really an object but the other units with multiple bedrooms seemed like more than we needed.

The one bedroom unit has lots of beautiful, upgraded amenities - slate tile in the bathroom, hammered copper sinks, mesquite doors and countertops, a rustic seating area, a stainless steel full size refrigerator, flat-screen HD satellite TV, a gas log fireplace, a riverfront location with a generous deck complete with outdoor grill, and high quality linens and towels. Unfortunately, all of the amenities couldn't overcome an awkward layout and a less than adequate information package. For example, what looks like a kitchenette is actually a full size refrigerator, microwave, and coffeepot. No stove. Why one would need a full size refrigerator with a microwave is beyond me.

There were no utensils, plates, knives, or forks. There was an ample supply of styrofoam cups for the coffee, as well as coffee, sugar, and stir sticks. The website is great but it doesn't give enough information as to what is provided and what is not.

The bedroom had two nightstand with "Bible" drawers but no closet and no chest of drawers - no where to unpack and no place to put the suitcases that we were expected to live out of except on the floor. There were two clothes hooks on the wall with no hangers. Okay for overnight, but 3 days of living out of a suitcase didn't sound like "luxury" to me.

The sitting area had an overhead ceiling fan with a light but no other lighting. It was impossible to sit on the sofa and read after dark. The wall mounted tv was small and across the room and difficult to see. The beautiful slate tiled shower has a glass door flush to the ground, making a shower a team effort - someone has to put the bath mat on the floor AFTER the shower door is opened or else the door pushes it out of the way.

I admit that all of these details are minor, but add them all up and they equal disappointment... after an uncomfortable night I was ready to find another place to stay but first I expressed my disappointment to the management. They were very responsive and they immediately moved us into a 3 bedroom cabin. Now THAT was luxury! It had the same beautiful appointments as the smaller unit but they worked - there were drawers, closets, and a big screen tv over the gas fireplace. The deck had lots of seating and a spectacular view of the river and the hills beyond.

This is a great place for a family with lots of river access from a beautiful river front terrace with seating and cabanas. It would be worth every penny in the summer... But it's not the best place for a quiet winter getaway because there's a lot of road noise from two major roads - you wouldn't even notice it in a full resort in the summer but in the winter, with the leaves off the trees, it's quite loud and distracting.

So if you've coming to New Braunfels for some toobing but want a nicer than average place to stay, I recommend the Hideout on the Horseshoe but don't waste your money on the one bedroom or loft motel style units - and bring everything you need to serve a meal.


  • Liked — The river views.
  • Disliked — The road noise.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideout on the Horseshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideout on the Horseshoe

Address: 515 FM2673, New Braunfels, TX 78133
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Specialty Lodging in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideout on the Horseshoe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 18 room rustic luxury style accommodations are located between Canyon Lake and New Braunfels. All rooms are on a bluff with views overlooking the Guadalupe River and rolling hill country! So kick back and enjoy the quiet hill country rustic style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hideout on the Horseshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideout On The Horseshoe Hotel New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideout on the Horseshoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.