We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family"small children to grannies...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Schlitterbahn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Schlitterbahn to your Saves list
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   305 West Austin Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130 (Formerly Schlitterbahn Resort at New Braunfels)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our family"small children to grannies...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010 via mobile

Our family"small children to grannies" has spent numerous vacations at this resort. As always the waterpark did not disapoint, however the resort was very much so. Broken window, no water pressure in shower , bugs on the walls were among the little annoying things that added up to a vacation downer. The resort is in dire need of repair. Management was very gracious and appologetic. They are planning major repairs and remodeling in the future. We were given a small refund for our inconvenience. We will return , but probably not until major repairs are made. We love this area so much. We love the waterpark , the resort being right at the park is so nice . I hope they will really work on upgrades for the resort , so we may return to make many more happy family memories.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    37
    29
    35
See reviews for
148
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My family just got back from our annual last-of-summer trip to Schlitterbahn. We stayed at the Resort at the Bahn, which is the oldest part of the park on the west side. This year we were lucky enough (a year in advance) to get one of the popular 3-bedroom apartments right by the Comal. It was very clean and comfortable and up-dated with new light fixtures, new appliances, among other things. We didn't think that a dining table with 4 chairs was a great idea for a 3-bedroom apartment, but there were 2 tables and 8 chairs on the large porch. That's usually where we ate anyway. The beds were comfortable and the train was far enough away to not bother our sleep. Sometimes there are loud people in the pool at night, but otherwise it was pleasant. Besides getting 20% off of the park tickets, staying here is all about convenience. It is so nice to be able to just walk into the park, especially when you have little ones that need to take naps after lunch. You can bring your ice chest and lunches into the park, but staying at the resort, it's so easy to just walk back to the room to eat. When you are ready to go over to the East side, you can either drive (parking is free) or you can ride the shuttle. Some days they have early entry for Resort guests. This time we were able to enter Blastenhoff, where the Master Blaster is, at 9:00 (opens at 10:00). My oldest grandson was able to ride it and the other wild rides over there first thing without any long lines. But last Thursday it was not crowded at all, but Friday was more so. We think the locals must have started school already. Anyway, the main thing about Schlitterbahn is to expect it to be crowded and plan accordingly. Hit the most popular rides early before the park gets packed and at the end of the day when the crowds start dwindling.
The only bad thing about the resort (and it could have been a very, very bad thing)......our 20-month old grandson, within a blink of an eye, opened the front door of the apartment (there was a handle instead of a knob) and took out across the parking lot. Thank goodness, his Mother quickly caught him. Besides having the key to get in and out of the front door, there was no way to lock the door from the inside. We had to tie up the door handle, so he couldn't open it and just go in and out the back door on the river side (which had a knob). But the back door had no key.
Anyway, yes, it is expensive to stay there, but it is convenient. I do wish that resort guests could have more privileges, like to be able to get into the park an hour early everyday, but that would require the life guards to get there earlier. Or, another wish is to be able to show your resort wrist band and get on the rides faster, but I guess that would be DisneyWorld. Anyway, our family loves the Schlitterbahn Resort and stays there every year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have been going to this place since I was a little girl and I love every minute of it. You pay for location, location, location. You wake up in the morning and walk right into the park. You get hungry, then go to your room and make lunch. This is perfect for families with kids of all ages. We go to Disney World every year, but Schlitterbahn is my favorite. Our room at Disney cost more and is sooo much smaller, plus park tickets are much cheaper at Schlitterbahn. The room we stayed in seemed like it had been recently updated. Don't listen to the negative reviews, vacation is what you make of it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nights, at $225 a night plus tax. Cleanliness left much to be desired. There was a spider web on the lamp in the living room. The beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom tiny.
The kitchen is a plus for a family staying there, but then there was no trash can in the kitchen, except for one in the bathroom.
Be prepared to listen to a train to pass by all night long.
Staff at the Front Desk was ok, but no extremely helpful. My problem was not solved to my satisfaction, even when I spoke to a Front Desk Supervisor. They can not process Credit Cards at night, so you have to go back during business hours.
You get a wristband for staying at the resort, but it does not give you any special privileges. Sometimes they open the park an hour earlier for hotel guests, but ONLY on certain dates.
I had called and asked if the special promotions would apply to hotel guests when buying park tickets, i.E. the souvenir cup and towel. I was told yes by the reservation staff, but then once on property, I was told no.
We would have done better by just staying at a normal hotel and purchased the tickets online for the water park itself.
I will go back to the water park, but I won’t be staying at the hotel again. Too expensive and not worth it….

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Have been to this park for years. Has its good and bad points which others have described.

Family-friendly is different here though. Everywhere in the park is a full smoking area except in line for a ride and in the pool. Interestingly the only Schlitterbahn area that is no smoking is not in the park at all - the hotel rooms are nonsmoking.

Immediately adjacent to the kiddie pool - smoking area.
Picnic table where you eat - smoking area.
Private cabana that you pay extra for - smoking area.
Walkways around park - smoking area

There are no non-smoking tables, lounge areas, or sitting areas within the park. Some days you get lucky and there is not that much secondhand smoke. Other days be ready to move around to escape the plume.

Unlike any other family park I have been to you and your children can expect that smokers will exercise their rights to smoke throughout the park. It does not matter if you are outdoors when people are smoking a couple feet from your table.

Either be ready for the smoke, hone your smoker negotiating skills, or choose to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn H, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Texan222,

Schlitterbahn does now have designated smoking areas – and they are not near children’s areas or cabanas. Smoking is allowed in open areas, but generally we ask smokers to head to those designated areas to avoid those who would rather not be in a smoking area. We hope to see you again at the park!

Kathryn H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

my complaints are, since they advertise heavily as a family waterpark, they should keep children in mind, the music on the speakers they play has cursing, and there are no non-smoking areas, which smokers take full advantage of. Schlitterbahn will hopefully move into this century and rethink that policy. Some of the kiddie pools are easy to lose your kids in, there are many blind spots, I didn't even take my kid til he was older and I still lost track of him at one point which I don't like. This park seems more aimed for teens and adults rather than "family". but if you live closeby and get the flow of which parts aren't overcrowded at what times, it is a better waterpark than Six Flags and Seaworld for older kids (the waterpark that is, if you want to be relatively dry and see shows, then those parks are fun, their waterparks are much smaller than Schlitterbahn).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonTX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We were advised to stay on the Schlitterbahn property for easy and early asscess to the park. NOT TRUE!! No early admission just because you stay at the resort which leads me to the next topic. This is in no way, shape or form a RESORT. They shouldn't even be able to advertise using that word. The motel like rooms were not really unclean...but you wouldn't sit on the couch without a towel on it. A true disappointment for $231.65 a night. There are new hotels right on the river, Marriott, Comfort Inn, etc at I'm sure a more reasonable price.

The Schlitterbahn was packed out...on a Thursday. We got there at opening time and waited 1 hour and 50 minutes to get on the Master Blaster--Wolf Pack 30 minutes...and that was at the beginning of the day. We took a shuttle over to the old portion of the park and all the rides were 1 1/2 to 2 hour waits. If you want to go the Schlitterbahn....go in May or Monday or Tuesday of the week. I'm never going back!!!! The lazy river reminded me more of bumper cars than a lazy river.

Hope this helps someone out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Schlitterbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Schlitterbahn

Address: 305 West Austin Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130 (Formerly Schlitterbahn Resort at New Braunfels)
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Braunfels
#3 Spa Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Schlitterbahn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into family fun at the Resort at Schlitterbahn in New Braunfels, Texas. The Resort at Schlitterbahn intermingles the world's greatest waterpark with 211 onsite accommodations. Many rooms are so close to the action you can actually step out your door and into one of our rides. For a real family-style getaway, try one of our fully equipped vacation homes located near the waterpark. You'll find everything you need for family reunions, corporate retreats, weddings or other special gatherings - from comfy sitting areas and multiple beds to full kitchens and laundry rooms. Accommodations range from standard hotel rooms with two beds to cottages, suites and townhomes. Many units have full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Resort at Schlitterbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlitterbahn Resort At New Braunfels Hotel New Braunfels
Schlitterbahn Waterpark Hotel
Hotel Schlitterbahn Waterpark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Schlitterbahn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.