We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal....don't listen to the complainers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Schlitterbahn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Schlitterbahn to your Saves list
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   305 West Austin Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130 (Formerly Schlitterbahn Resort at New Braunfels)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great deal....don't listen to the complainers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I'm not sure why anyone would complain about the pricing of the rooms/condos here. For $25 per person, in addition to the room rate, you have early and late access to the park. So, the condo and ticket package cost was roughly $85 per person for my family. We only stayed for one night but had access to the park early and late for two days. A general admission ticket for an adult with the early access add on is $80 for ONE day.Do the math people! So what if it doesn't look like a 2,3, or 4 star room. It's a water park!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    37
    29
    35
See reviews for
148
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This water park is average on the fun rating. The Schlitterbaun in Galveston has better slides and attractions than the one in New Braunfels. I was shocked at how expensive the tickets are to this park. Make sure you buy them on line or from Kroger or HEB for a better price. Bring your own food and drinks too. The concessions are very pricey but if you go to the food are at the Warneke (sp) pavillion, you can buy affordable food because it is mainly for the employees but they let patrons buy concessions there too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascocita, Texas
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family & I have been visitors at the resort inside Schlitterbahn for 7 years, every summer. The waterpark is excellent & we always have such a great time. We have always stayed at the old side (Bahn side) of park in the "Cottages". The bahn side of park is much more scenic & our cottage has always been adequate, comfortable, & roomey. Althought it does have older appliances and features, everything does work in them just fine.. The train is the only downfall, but at night you are so tired from the full day that you sleep hard!
This year we thought we would do something different, and stay in the HIGHLY advertized TreeHaus suites. We, like many, checked the website. Very pricey, for large amounts of people...but we have a family of 4. The price for a family of 4 type of "Tree Haus" cabin is not too much more than the cottages we stayed in previously, so we thought "Hey, this looks great" We expected our cabin, of course not to be a large as what is advertized on the website, but we were VERY mislead on the location of our cabin. Website shows nice, plush, scenic area for the TreeHauses on the outside. And all side by side. NOPE. I pull up to cabin 512, and immediately was disappointed. 1st of all, it is on the very end of park on the Rapids side. 2ndly, it was located in a parking lot... yes a parking lot...not a scenic resort. 3rdly,the cabin was soooooooooo small. Only couch bed for kids that was so uncomfortable, a small bar like thing for a table,no chairs, just flemsy little bar stools. The walls were so thin, you could hear every footstep of neighbors & muffeled voices (not that we blame them at all... they were actually nice people).. BUT.... The cabin was basically a trailer-home divided in 2, to make 2 cabins. It looked as if it sat on concrete blocks, hidden by a white wall underneath cabin. At night...since we were in a PARKING LOT...lights shown into the windows from the parking lot lights. It was like sleeping in the day time. Walls looked cheap and looked just patched real quick ( like trailer homes). Had about 2sq ft of counter spacce in kitchen, TINY. The appliances were new & nice,but who cares?? Nice tv, yes, and there was a grill outside. Master bed was actually comfy. (Just Trying to give a few positives, to all my negatives)The cabin was just so small...about as big 2 laundry rooms put together.
ONLY THING TREEHAUS ABOUT OUR ''TREEHAUS SUITE'' WAS THE FREAKING RAILING BY THE STEPS OUTSIDE (STEPS WE HAD TO CLIMB TO GET IN THE TINY FRONT DOOR, BECAUSE OBVIOUSLY THE CABIN WAS BUILD UP ON CEMENT BLOCKS, SUCH AS TRAILER-HOMES). THE RAILING HAD WOODEN LOGS INSTEAD OF STEEL RAIL. That was the ONLY thing that mimiked a "TreeHaus."
While riding a rapid river, we floated by the REAL treehauses that are on the web. I thought that woudl be our original location, NOT a TRAILER HOME at the tail end of the resort, or in a parking lot, at that!
The waterpark itself is fantasic! Excellent. But beware of false advertisement. Personally, we will return either to the Cottages where we orignially stayed, or just stay somewhere outside the resort.
Hope this helps you in future vacation planning!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located by (or in) the park. With the daily rate, the park entrance is "included" (with a $ 25.00 fee per person, which is still cheaper than the regular park entrance).

We stayed at the 2 bedroom villas, more precisely room 165. Walking distance from the Original Park, and still close to the newer one. Kind of noisy when the trains pass by, sometimes late at night. You could hear the other room's conversation, which is annoying. Cleaniness good, pretty well equipped (pans, pots, etc.).

In town, I couldn't think of any other option. If you stay at the "inn's", you will pay cheaper, but pay more expensive park entrance as well as have to drive over there.

And you can enjoy the park earlier and drible the crowds while staying in there.

Room Tip: If you try the Tree houses if might be a good fit, they are newer and inside the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

First, the water park is fantastic. Probably the best anywhere. Second, there are perks to staying in the park: foremost, access to the most popular rides a full hour before the general public, and second, being able to walk into the activities from your room. The big caveat here is that not all the lodging areas are created equal. The older, less astronomically priced accommodations are about the equivalent of an old cabin at a state park, or like an old but clean Motel 6. "Resort" is not the word. The newer lodging appears to be several steps ahead of this. Choose carefully.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our first time to Schlitterbahn so we werent sure what to expect. We reserved a room at the resort (rm 309). Upon arrival i thought i was going to die, the room looked like a blast from the past. Stains all over the carpet, scratches and paint missing all over the place, coffe spilled alll down the counters The WIFI didnt work and was told by maintenance guy i would just have to walk up toward hte office and try to pick up someone elses WIFI. The 6 of us couldnt watch at the same time if you wanted to. The couch bed had a horrible mattress that had springs poking out all over.
I was scared to lie down on the bed.
We called to complain at the front desk, the manager attempted to be accomodating by offering us a refund , we had pain 260 for this room plus the additional 25 pp for the park, making this a very expensive room for the accomodations that were given. We decided to stay and the manager gave us a partial refund. Not near enough in my opinion.

Room Tip: Treehaus is the way to go if you are staying there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Family trip with 4 adults and 2 kids spent 3 days and 2 nights here. The 2 bed 2 bath suite was super for us. Beds for the adults and queen fold-out couch for the kids. It rained every day we were there but we think we got out money's worth since we did the stay 'n play vacation. Kids and their dad went on EVERY ride and pool, even the old people did some of the slides. We take our own food and spend very little at the park. It would have been nice if we had been told you can put money on a card to carry with you. We didn't know so we never had any cash (who carries a purse?) to buy a drink. Found out the last day (by chance). Room was very clean though not luxurious but then, why get luxurious when you are wet all day?!

Room Tip: Can't compare but 419 was very close to rides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Schlitterbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Schlitterbahn

Address: 305 West Austin Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130 (Formerly Schlitterbahn Resort at New Braunfels)
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Braunfels
#3 Spa Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Schlitterbahn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into family fun at the Resort at Schlitterbahn in New Braunfels, Texas. The Resort at Schlitterbahn intermingles the world's greatest waterpark with 211 onsite accommodations. Many rooms are so close to the action you can actually step out your door and into one of our rides. For a real family-style getaway, try one of our fully equipped vacation homes located near the waterpark. You'll find everything you need for family reunions, corporate retreats, weddings or other special gatherings - from comfy sitting areas and multiple beds to full kitchens and laundry rooms. Accommodations range from standard hotel rooms with two beds to cottages, suites and townhomes. Many units have full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Resort at Schlitterbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlitterbahn Resort At New Braunfels Hotel New Braunfels
Schlitterbahn Waterpark Hotel
Hotel Schlitterbahn Waterpark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Schlitterbahn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.