We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Other Place -- A Great Venue for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Other Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Other Place
385 Other Place Dr., New Braunfels, TX 78130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in New Braunfels
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Other Place -- A Great Venue for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My family has been coming to The Other Place for a mini-family reunion for 19 years. We love the fact that we can each stay in one of the separate units, but gather together as desired. The grounds are perfect for kids, particularly younger ones, with a small playground and lots of room to run around. With the kids are teenagers (or beyond) now, they still love to bring skate boards to ride around on the quite safe road on the property or even still play hide-and-seek at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
21
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alvin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My friends and I have been staying at The Other Place for 30 about years during the annual Wurstfest Festival..The location is perfect and cozy with no through traffic. It is always clean, the cabins are well stocked with linens and kitchen needs. Just bring your food and beverages. It is quiet and peaceful! Plus, we had cavorting deer by the river this weekend! The same family has owned this resort for decades and they are seen always working on their property. You get a lot of "bang" for your dollar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

With the can and bottle ban in place on the Comal River tubing is a family friendly thing to do in New Braunfels. The Other Place Resort was a perfect place to stay on the river. The resort is on a part of the Comal which is shaped like a horseshoe which means you can tube for 30 minutes and still be next to the resort. The cottage we stayed in had AC and a kitchen and a great porch to view the river. The resort is in the middle of town and within easy walking distance to the town square. I had one issue with the fridge when we checked in and the management responded immediately even though it meant having a repair man come in after hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

First, don't let the word
Resort fool you. This is very upscale Cabins in the woods! Love the atmosphere -very laid back. You honestly feel like you are in the woods, except you are in the middle of town. Perfect for easy access to all river activities and to Schlitterbahn. Secluded family place. We have stayed multiple times and WILL do a again. Do not expect the Hilton. It is cabins. Your are at the River!!! Enjoy the peace and nature. We had an own ten feet from our deck the first morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location is second-to-none: the property is on a peninsula surrounded by the Comal River and Schlitterbahn is a very short distance away. The accommodations could be updated--hence the title of the post. Overall, a great place to take the family. There is a playground inside the grounds that kept our children very entertained when we weren't floating down the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed at The Other Place for many years and always recommend a stay to anyone that's looking for a nice place in the heart of New Braunfels. The owner and staff are always friendly, they keep the property up and looking nice, and the rooms are just close enough to the Comal River. I especially like the quietness of the area at night time, not a bunch of young people partying up late.

Room Tip: Reserve early, this place tends to fill up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I went there with my parents and brothers and sisters to celebrate my parents 65th wedding anniversary and dad's 89th birthday. The cabin we stayed in was clean, attractive and more like an apartment than a hotel room. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The resort is on the Comal River where you can rent inner tubes to float down the river. They drive you and the tubes to the starting place and you get out at the resort (about an hour and a half). The town nearby was very small and quaint with lots of nice stores. All in all, The Other Place Resort was wonderful. Free Wi-Fi with the rooms so you can check emails etc. I would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Other Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Other Place

Address: 385 Other Place Dr., New Braunfels, TX 78130
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Other Place New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Other Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Other Place to your Saves list