We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gristmill in Gruene was superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gristmill Restaurant

Gristmill Restaurant
1287 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130
+1 830-629-5077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 200 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, this spectacular restaurant nestled under the shade of towering oak trees has been the perfect getaway for a unique casual dining experience for thirty years. Located in the historic district of Gruene just beneath the famous Gruene water tower, we opened in 1977, serving steaks and hamburgers from a tiny kitchen in the corner of the building. Our menu still features thick steaks and large hamburgers, but the restaurant also serves up popular South Texas fare like chicken fried steak, fried catfish, grilled chicken, enormous sandwiches, fresh fish and special dishes like tomatillo chicken and bronzed catfish. Fudge pie, the enormous strawberry shortcake and our signature Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie are famous desserts. A full bar with a good wine list and fresh squeezed lime margaritas are also big hits.
Santa Fe, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gristmill in Gruene was superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My friends and I visited the Gristmill in June, 2014. I ordered the 'best wurst' with pinto beans, and it was delicious. They gave me four medium links of the sausage with a spicy mustard dip as well as a type of bbq sauce, both of which were great, even though I do not normally like mustard.
One friend ordered the trout with steamed vegetables. The trout was beautiful, and although I did not sample any, she said the fish was wonderful, and she loved the steamed broccoli. My other friend had a burger with round fries, which she said was good. We also had the garlic bread appetizer, it was so good! I love the atmosphere of the restaurant as well as the food. We each paid around $20.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    374
    111
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman
1 review
“Wonderful food, loved the ambience ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My family of 6 visited very late. The staff was very nice. The location is so beautiful!! We were able to get a seat overlooking the river. The food was delicious. The ribs were great. It was somewhat pricey. Overall great service, great food and beautiful location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such a fun restaurant with amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This restaurant is a must do! It is so unique and so delicious! You will either feel like you are in a tree house or a lodge depending on your seating!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very cool restaurant with really good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have been here several times and the food has always been very good. My last visit was with a group of 35. This was no problem for this large restaurant. The wait staff was great even with our multiple checks and kids spread out over two tables. Everyone in our group enjoyed their food. The building itself it really neat. There are several levels, balconies, river views, etc... You don't want to miss this if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Two of our oldest and dearest friends introduced us to the Gristmill on a perfect June night. Even though it was a Saturday, our wait was only about 15 minutes -- just about long enough to order a round of drinks at the outdoor bar and find a picnic table near the little stage where we were treated to some fine picking and singing while watching the chalkboard for our name. Once we were seated, at a table overlooking the Guadalupe, our server was there with menus, recommendations and a big Texas smile. The food took awhile to arrive, but when it did we were definitely glad we came hungry. Everyone got something different, and everything was beautifully prepared and delicious. Our only regret is that the Gristmill is too far from Houston for regular visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gristmill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gristmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gristmill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.