We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have never been, You gotta go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gristmill Restaurant

Gristmill Restaurant
1287 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130
+1 830-629-5077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Situated on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, this spectacular restaurant nestled under the shade of towering oak trees has been the perfect getaway for a unique casual dining experience for thirty years. Located in the historic district of Gruene just beneath the famous Gruene water tower, we opened in 1977, serving steaks and hamburgers from a tiny kitchen in the corner of the building. Our menu still features thick steaks and large hamburgers, but the restaurant also serves up popular South Texas fare like chicken fried steak, fried catfish, grilled chicken, enormous sandwiches, fresh fish and special dishes like tomatillo chicken and bronzed catfish. Fudge pie, the enormous strawberry shortcake and our signature Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie are famous desserts. A full bar with a good wine list and fresh squeezed lime margaritas are also big hits.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you have never been, You gotta go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I love the Gristmill. My husband and I love this place. You can't go wrong with the house margarita on a summer night. From their entrees, I recommend the Pepper Filet,Tomatillo chicken for my chicken lovers, and the Bronze Catfish. Dont forget the Texas Torpedoes for an appetizer!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    328
    103
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great seetting, food and service. A Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We drove here from San Antonio to see the town but also to eat here as the reviews were too good to pass up!
My husband has the rib special and it was a 1/2 rack (8 ribs) that just fell off the bone! Yummy!
I had the Grist burger which had a green chile sauce, I should have ordered without the bun and it was too big to pickup to eat and I missed a lot of the sauce as it soaked into the bun Also yummy. DON"T miss the onion rings they are to die for.
Maybe a bit pricey at $40, ( I had a mojito, hubs had a coke) but a real destination place. And lots to look at after in the town to walk off the meal!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dependable comfort food, listen to wind and water, even music while you eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Peaceful, rowdy, however you like it. Best music, best ambiance. If you love to dance, this is the place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Food and Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Can't visit Gruene without eating at The Gristmill. The old building and grounds are full of character and the food is pretty good. Highly recommend if you are in the New Braunfels/Gruene area.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Historic venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Gristmill is located in an old cotton gin which burned down and they've restored it and built on and on and on to accommodate huge crowds. They've got the waiting area fixed up really nice. Their is ample outside seating and the restaurant overlooks the Guadalupe River and is in the
heart of Historic Gruene. The food is always good and we especially like their green beans and
potatoes. We eat here fairly frequently and have never had a bad meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gristmill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gristmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gristmill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.