We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creat venue, good service, average food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clear Springs Cafe

Clear Springs Cafe
1692 Hwy 46 S, New Braunfels, TX 78132
(830) 629-3775
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Creat venue, good service, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Located in a historic old dance hall just east of downtown. Friendly, efficient service. We had fried fish, shrimp & oysters. Food was ok, nothing special but a little dry and overcooked. Served with fries, coleslaw & hush puppies.. Second visit but wouldn't go out of the way to go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    70
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Live Oak, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“SUPERB CATFISH, etc. World's best ONION RINGS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A MAGNIFICENT experience where the atmosphere will blow your socks off, the service is exceptional, and the food is the best you can ever expect. We LOVED this place. From the time you enter you are looking around at all the mementos and antiques around you. The catfish was the best I have ever eaten, fresh, well spiced, tasty, and not at all "muddy" in taste. It was EXCEPTIONAL. The shrimp was equally delicious. DO NOT FORGET ONION RINGS! I truly believe they are the best anywhere. Be careful not to order the Texas Size unless you have over 4 people at your table. It is ENORMOUS! OVERALL, A WONDERFUL RESTAURANT and EXPERIENCE!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great catfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went as a large group 20+ people and they sat us on a Saturday night no problem. Ordered the onion rings as an appetizer and they were great! Catfish meal was very good as well. Service was a bit slow but with a large group it is expected. Overall a great place to eat

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hot, crowded, but great onion rings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I will say up front that I went in July with a big group of family (~12 people). We were hot, sweaty, and tired after floating the Comal River that afternoon. We waited outside in the heat for a table, but there are picnic benches, live music, and cold beer for sale while you wait. When we were finally let in, we were relieved to be in the air conditioning, but they led us through the huge main part of the restaurant into a smaller side room where long tables were crammed in very close together, and it was very warm. Eventually we took it upon ourselves to turn on the ceiling fans in the room. Our table was right next to the wall, just off the main road (like < 10 feet away), so it was also very loud and a bit worrisome when big trucks went by. Being a busy Saturday night, and a big group, we understood service was likely to be slow, and it was. We had plenty of time to look around and notice the decor, which featured dusty pipes and dusty animal heads better left ignored. We ordered a heaping plate of the famous onion rings (of course) which were very good. Most of the menu is fried, but I did find cornmeal crusted trout on the menu, which came with vegetables, rice, and hush puppies, and was very good. This place is good for groups, because it's huge, but I think a visit here with a smaller number of people would have been more enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“oh my terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

i was told by many , great place for catfish , well let me tell you , i love catfish , i was very disapointed , 6 pices , 2 inches by 5 inches , for an out landished price , and it was not any better than fast food . and when the waitress ask how i liked my meal , and i said it was terrible , she did not even seem to care , do not go here to eat ,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Springs Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clear Springs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear Springs Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.